We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely holiday!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Servatur Terrazamar Suite & Sun Suite
Ranked #8 of 68 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Certificate of Excellence
Tenby
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely holiday!”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Arrived about 4.30pm, reception was very helpful and quickly done. Took a while to find our room [even tho we had directions!] but this was because we were in the very top section of the Terrazamar! Apartment was spotless and had everything we needed. Big [but smaller than most] balcony with loungers, table, chairs and parasol. Reception area had small shop, bar, hot snack food section, computors and TV. Happy Hour is 6 to 8pm here. Other bars in the complex have different Happy Hours! Rooms are cleaned most days and sheets were changed 3 times during our fortnight there, towels changed when needed. The rooms are divided into 3 levels.... the Suites are on the road level going down the hill, the SunSuites are the middle level [floors 1 to 6] and the Royale Suites are top level.....if I were to go again I would ask for the middle level simply to cut out the last lift which is separate and across the way! 2 pools have bars, top pool hasnt but is quieter with loungers and shade. Mostly the staff were efficient, friendly and helpful but there were 2 exceptions to this and both worked together on level 10 bar of a night [maybe they had had a row.....]. All public areas were very clean and tidy. There is a ''secret door'' which you get to by going thru the reception, cross the road, thru the other reception area, down the lift and follow the path, brings you out by the shopping centre, walk to the right for the shops or follow the path to the left then towards the back of the centre to the Horseshoe Bar if you like a flutter, as this is where the bookies is. Most of the bars are friendly with quick service and the restaurants are the same. Now....Riders Bar is great, with waiter service, music, livley but Motercycles Bar [right opposite] is only half the price on drinks but sit at the end and you can see the entertainment in Riders! Peking Wok does the most amazing all-you-can-eat-buffet but catch you on the drink to make the money. Sambida restaurant was fantastic and not too pricey.....steaks were amazing and cooked in front of you! Also a Spanish cafe, halfway along the shopping centre, was very good too. The Lookie guys were a bit of a bother but we just said no thank you and they moved on. DownUnder bar for sport, Shamrock for lively music and jokes, Hoops bar for same. Happy Valley for a great Indian meal, again, good prices. I'd be quite happy to go back to these Apartments but in a few years. Mogon was a lovely place to visit on the ferry but go early on a Friday to get the market. Never made it to the Drag Show as it was fully booked so book it the day you arrive! Tiffanys was good too, big helpings on the food! Overall, very happy with our fortnight in Puerto Rico and the hotel.If you have any special requests, email the hotel before you go and they will do their best to help.

Room Tip: Take a j-cloth to wipe down tops, buy decent loo roll, check the bread [its bit wierd] and buy your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gavsgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    664
    431
    115
    40
    19
See reviews for
473
585
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Firstly the receptionist tried to put us in the suites at the bottom rather than the Royal Sunsuites at the top as had been paid for. Ok , bad start ..... Didn't get better!

The missing lightbulbs, chipped walls , tired and broken furniture and just the overall tardiness made it less than welcoming. Reported faults but woo hoo we had FRE safe and television. When it worked!

TV kept sticking so only Spanish channels available. None of the things reported were fixed although we did return one day to find one of our pillows had been taken ?? May have been the maids but why? Nightlife was particularly interesting - watching drunks jump balconies and hearing the familiar tune of smashing glass- nah just not for me thanks.

Overall we were very disappointed with this and although the location is good , I certainly would not recommend it to anyone. It would be nicer sleeping on the beach and the sea is probably cleaner than the pools were.

If you want a holiday with no cares - do not come here - spend a bit more and go somewhere that will give you value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandy19672013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Ive just returned from week staying in the sunsuites apartment. The apartments where spacious and well fitted out. Rooms where cleaned 3 times during are stay.The balcony was huge with great views of the down town area which was just five mins walk. Lots to do in the hotel complex with two pools which where well maintained and clean The cafe and restaurant are reasonable priced and serve snakes daily, There where also events going on throughout the week bingo, killer pool, music by the pool ect. The hotel reception was really big with lots of local information on sights and tours. which staff where helpful to book. The real down fall for me was all the extra charges €3.00 per day for an iron approx €10-15 for Wifi and pay for standard english speaking TV chanels!! you also have to PAY for Airconditioning!!!!!! which is an essential and not a luxury in Puerto Rico approx €35.00 which should be standard in all rooms..

Room Tip: Top rooms have less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SamSamDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We have just got back from a week in the Terrazamar Suites in Sunny Puerto Rico GC. We stayed in the Terrazamar Suites not in the Sunsuites, they are higher up, our complex was at the bottom of the three blocks, the Royal being the highest.
I believe they have just been closed for refurbishment and they did look like they had recently been painted but that was the only sign that anything had been done to them.
Our one bedroom apartment had everything we needed for the week self catering including all the utensils, pots and pans,kettle, toaster,fridge freezer, two electric rings and microwave.
A nice size living area had a small table and chair set, sofa, coffee table and flat screen TV, this however was just a dust gatherer as you had to pay for watching the TV with a prepaid card available from reception. We didn't bother. One thing to mention I feel was that although the rooms had been refurbished ours had lots of broken and cracked tiles on the floor so clearly their idea of a refurb was just a flick around with a paint brush and not replacing tiles.
The bathroom was dated with grubby mosaic tiles on the walls and floor, a walk in shower with badly stained silicone seals and broken missing tiles, the wall mounted hairdryer worked well enough however it was out of the dark ages. The towels provided were changed regularly enough but were very well used too.
The bedroom had two large single beds, lots of cupboard space and dressing table, good enough for the amount of time we stayed in there. I think I'm being fair when I say they are firmly budget category accommodation and no better than that.
We stayed in 603 on the top floor of the block, we were happy with that as we had emailed the hotel before we went and asked for a high floor so 10/10 for the hotel on that score in fact all the reception team were friendly and efficient when we dealt with them for taxi's and the like.
Everyone who reviews this hotel comment on the size of the balconies and with good reason, they are very generous with room for 2 sun loungers a table with 4 chairs and a sun parasol plus lots more space, perfect for us as we tend not to go around the pool area preferring the peace and quiet to relax and read on the balcony so another 10/10 for the outdoor area. A couple of bug bears I have to mention. The door leading from the back of the complex out towards the shopping center is operated with the room key card for security, very good, but after 10.45 pm this door is locked which means a long walk uphill and around to reception and then to the rooms. As no one can get in without a keycard I cannot see the point of locking this door also when you go out at night if you have a gap under the front door as we had then make sure you put a towel down as Cockroaches can get in. We had a few in the room one running over the bed which freaked my wife somewhat. On your last day make sure you shower before check out as the hotel doesn't have a room with shower that you can use we had to use the WC to change into our traveling clothes, a small point but worth mentioning I think.
We do not ask for much when we holiday on a budget, we get what we pay for and we did this time too. Please do not go here if you like a bit of luxury you will not like it but if you are looking for cheap and cheerful in the sun with good outdoor space then the Terrazamar will fit the bill

Room Tip: High floors give better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LeedsStriker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We are returning for the 4rth time in November and love this hotel balconies are huge and place is spotless. 5 mins from shops and bars/ restaurants . Has anyone else been recently as I understand that the furniture on the balconies have been updated ?? Anyone advise
Thanks
Mick

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mickr48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Just arrived home from our fourth stay at the Terrazamar sunsuites...another great time was had by myself and two children. The apartments are generous in size....and the balconies are HUGE! A great place to sunbathe if you tire of the pool...or just to sit and have a coffee. I agree with other reviews though...the apartments are looking quite tired now and some upgrading wouldn't go amiss...mainly in the bathroom which needed a complete overhaul. But saying that, the place is spotless..the maids come in each day..stayed for a week and both the beds and towels were changed in that time.
There was air conditioning which we paid 25 euros for the week..which was definately needed as it was unbearably hot at times..although this was in the bedroom there was a fan in the lounge area and we kept the balcony door shut and the bedroom door open for a while which really helped to cool the lounge.
The staff at the Terrazamar are very friendly...especially at the pool bar...always smiling and happy to talk.
Poolside...great if you don't mind Spanish kids screaming down your ear and bombarding you with lilos. Not sure if that was an end of our season...beginning of theirs..thing though. But Thomas Cook reps kept us entertained...especially Ryan spacehopping round the pool...hilarious!
Puerto Rico as a resort is very typical of Spanish holiday resorts...same bars, same restaurants, same shops. But if you want more Spanish culture..less holiday tourism..then inland Spain off the tourism beat would be more suited to you. There are some fab restaurants with exceptionally friendly staff....Mr Bean at Mama Pino's remembers us from our first holiday...over 7 years ago! Now that's customer service you wouldn't get over here!
I would say though that this is not an ideal destination for anybody in wheelchairs or who have problems walking...from the Terrazamar there are a lot of steps down into the town....which DON'T get any easier coming back up even after a week...on the plus side...you do get to walk off all that fab food..and get a pert bum into the bargain (who needs a stepper lol).
Yep...a few minor things but all in all a FAB holiday and would we return...you betcha!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

These appartments are a great place to stay. The complex is split into 3 different hotels, and depending where you stay the air conditioning is different for each hotel but still adequate.
We stayed in the bottom hotel and if we wanted to go and use the pool with all the entertainment we had to take 3 lifts to get there.
Plenty of sun beds available and only had to be up at around 9 to get a bed we wanted.
Happy hour was available twice a day at the bar and various entertainment lasting all day.
This hotel is set on a hill side but has lifts right down to street level so no hill walking which was a god send.
Its very close to all the pubs and restaurants in the resort and is very easy on the pocket.
About 15 min walk to the beach.
Over all it is very clean and staff are pleasant. Balcony is huge and rooms are big and well equipped.

Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theo19732000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Rico hotels
1.0 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#1 of 68 in Puerto Rico
3,058 reviews
0.3 mi away
Servatur Casablanca Hotel
Servatur Casablanca Hotel
#4 of 68 in Puerto Rico
463 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Marina Bayview
Marina Bayview
#3 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,221 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Riosol
Hotel Riosol
#16 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,347 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Altamar
Hotel Altamar
#13 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Servatur Terrazamar Suite & Sun Suite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Servatur Terrazamar Suite & Sun Suite

Property: Hotel Servatur Terrazamar Suite & Sun Suite
Address: Avenida Palmeras 5/8, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Rico
#3 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Rico
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Rico
#9 Family Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Servatur Terrazamar Suite & Sun Suite 3*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Servatur Terrazamar Suite & Sun Suite has 306 double apartments (9 of them equipped for handicapped), each of approx. 80 M2, whereof 40 m2 are terraces to enable you to fully enjoy our enviable climate. They are equipped in a way that you will feel at home immediately: telephone, independent bedroom (twin beds with latex mattresses), sitting room with TV (parabolic antenna), convertible sofa-bed and ventilator. Independent kitchen equipped with nice and practical cupboards, fridge, microwave oven, two ceramic cooking rings, a dinner service, glassware, pots and pans, etc. The bathroom with shower, electrical water heater and hair dryer. Sun beds and parasols on the terrace. Within the Servatur Terrazamar Suite & Sun Suite we offer 48 upgraded apartments, especially equipped for your comfort - the Servatur Sun Suite Royal Apartments, which are intended for those guests who like a little extra comfort on their holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Servatur Terrazamar Suite & Sun Suite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Servatur Aparthotel Terrazamar Sunsuite Hotel Puerto Rico
Hotel Servatur Terrazamar Suite & Sun Suite Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing