We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointing honeymoon holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Castillo de Sol Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Booked a weeks holiday for our honeymoon to castillo del sol in puerto rico gran canaria. we have been to puerto rico several times and never been let down by any of the apartments we have stayed in, this time though we were very disappointed with the standard we found at the castillo del sol, we picked this apartment as it was mid priced so we expected to be extremely happy with it. Until these apartments have been refurbished thomascook should take them out of their brochure, we were very annoyed with it being our honeymoon and also because we had paid £960 for 1 week for 2 adults self catering, self catering.....what a laugh......the cooking facilities were appalling, the cooker would have been condemned if it was in england, absolutely terrible, there were peoples initials scratched in to the door frames, the bathroom was so uninviting, really not a nice place to stay. we got moved on our 3rd day but had to pay another 145euro on top of the £960.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Cher F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (558)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

324 - 330 of 558 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2014

We arrived home yesterday after another great 9 day stay at these apartments. From the check-in with the reception staff, room maids, general cleaners and pool bar staff, they are all very polite and welcoming. The apartments are regularly cleaned with an ample re-fresh of towels and bedding. Cooking facilities are adequate and enough to enjoy your self catering needs. As I have said in previous reviews, we have stayed here many times, I think that says it all! Really looking forward to the next stay at these apartments, very soon I hope!

Room Tip: The nightly noise from the commercial centre can be heard from the higher rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

my partner and I stayed here March 22nd till 29th 2014.apartment 408.great view, big veranda you can sunbathe on.all staff very helpfull and friendly.raquel,Michael,Maria, and Domingo entertainment's manager,so funny.x and all others I can't remember there names.HAPPY hour 4pm till 5pm. then 8.30till9.30pm paella on a Tuesday,barbeque and karaoke Friday night.you have to hire WiFi ,t.v.and safe is downstairs.very clean, maid comes everyday.no kettle so we used pot on cooker for hot water.no hairdryer,I always take a travel one anyway, laundry room down in basement enormous area.pool big enough with a child's pool separate,all in all we thoroughly enjoyed it and would recommend.we also found a gr8t bar called "THE OULAWS BAR".Wendy and Martin the owners just opened 2weeks ago.gr8 karaoke and one of the best ladies toilets I have seen, a lot of care and thought put in to it. I had to take a photo also Jacquie and John behind the bar gr8 fun.we wish them the best of luck and hope they continue to be busy.xx

Room Tip: If you like a gr8 view.get 4th floor up to 8th floor.our room was good but some people had a problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank patricia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Another great stay at the Castillo. Wonderful friendly staff, including all maids. Linen and towels changed regularly and perfect for visits to the centre. Found a great place to go for a nice drink and Country and Western karaoke night. Spent most of our nights in this lovely new bar. Its called Outlaws and you must give it a try, Wendy and Martin are the hosts and make all very welcome. A friendly and fresh place to visit with exceptionally clean toilets.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank holdaybeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

A lovely place with good reviews. Our room was ok for just the 2 of us, but would want somewhere bigger of the adjoining room if more than 2 people.
The rooms were cleaning and basic, we have the cleaner in 5 out of the 7 days, sheets changed twice and towels 4 times in our week stay. We were on the 5th floor. There was a little noise from the comercial centre at night, but it didn't keep us awake, all the hotels in this area would hear it.
We had a kettle in the room but most of the rooms don't, no hair dryer or toaster, but you can hire all of these. The Kitchen has everything you would need other than a toaster and kettle.
The pool was cleaned everyday, nice to see. In february the pool area doesn't get the sun until about 11. The weather was good most days but because it had been raining the night times were a bit cool, I sugest a pair of jeans and big cardy packed away, the locals had thick coats on due to the usual weather.
There are about 10 big steps to get into the hotel grounds. It has lifts. The hotel like all the others in puerto rico are built into the rocks and this one is quite high up. There is the choice of walking up and the paths or steps or taxi. Taxi is very reasonable about 4 euros at night. The steps are a little challenging but not too difficult, there are step on the left and right as you leave the hotel, if you go left ther are 206 and they are more steeper, but if you go left they have a blue hand rail and are less steeper and have flat areas in between and only 165 steps.
We ate at a few places and the hotel food was ok. The Greedy Pigs was good plain food at reasonble prices. They did good breakfasts and main meals, Sausage, mash in a yorkshire pudding with onion gravy, Steak pie and chips, Lasagne, all home cooked not processsed food.
The bars are what ever you want, you can pay as little as 1 euro a pint to 4 euro, you pay more if entertainment is on at the bars, if you want a cheap place to start a place called
M & M s is the cheapest 2.50 Euro for local vodka and mixer and 1 euro a pint. Also a place called the pub, they did a bit of entertainment, acts, bingo, quiz , disco and karoake I think this was the only place with reasonable drinks and entertainment.

Room Tip: If the noise would bother you at night, ask for room on the 3rd floor or below
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CheshireSunWorshiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

This was my first holiday away, and I loved it here! Very very friendly staff! Rooms were nice and clean, cleaned every second day. Great views. And it such a great location the only down sides were that you had to pay to hire out a kettle.. The bathroom had an awful smell and also you weren't allowed to have visitors in to your room unless they were staying in the hotel aswell.. But overall I love it! Will definitely be going back!!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
5  Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

My husband and I wanted a budget break in the sun in January before an important hospital appt. and we chose these apartments knowing the resort and looking at the reviews. On arrival we had a really friendly and helpful greeting at reception, it was a good start. The apartments do need a refurb. and paint job as the furniture was chipped and the towel holders in the shower room was rusty, but having said that it had everything you need for a self catering holiday and everywhere was spotless. We didn't bother with a TV as we weren't in our room much and spent most of our time on the beach or out for meals.
Yes, there are a lot of steps but they aren't too steep and there are hand rails all the way down. If you want to go further afield the hotel will call you a taxi for 50 cents and they arrive in minutes.
There is a pool bar that does meals which is handy.
Would go there again.

Room Tip: All room face the pool, the centre and you can see the sea too. There was some noise from the clubs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gandtsenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Rico hotels
0.1 mi away
Cabau Cala D'Or
Cabau Cala D'Or
#18 of 67 in Puerto Rico
776 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Riosol
Hotel Riosol
#16 of 67 in Puerto Rico
1,566 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 67 in Puerto Rico
3,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cabau Cala Nova
Cabau Cala Nova
#12 of 67 in Puerto Rico
666 reviews
0.7 mi away
Morasol Suites
Morasol Suites
#6 of 67 in Puerto Rico
871 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marina Bayview
Marina Bayview
#3 of 67 in Puerto Rico
1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castillo de Sol Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castillo de Sol Apartments

Address: Calle Gran Canaria 16, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Rico
Price Range: $39 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Castillo de Sol Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Castillo de Sol Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castillo Del Sol Apartments Hotel Puerto Rico
Castillo De Sol Apartments Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing