We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Castillo de Sol Apartments
Nearby Hotels
$59
$47
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Marina Suites(Puerto Rico)
$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$42
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$65
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Eden Apartments(Puerto Rico)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (567)
Filter reviews
568 results
Traveler rating
222
219
85
19
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
222
219
85
19
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool barentertainment ladyair conshopping centrehappy hourmini golfsafety deposit boxesrooms are basicthomas cook repself cateringgreat holidaycheap weekwater poloaqua gymnoisy at nightreception staff arestayed here for a week
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
389 - 394 of 568 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Just returned from a 10 day holiday. Rooms are very basic and could do with updating but for what we paid they were fine! My only complaint was no air conditioning, the rooms got HOT! Couldn't sleep with the window open due to noise from Puerto Rico but we hired a fan from reception and all was good so no probs! Lorraine the entertainment lady, well I think everyone has said it! She is fab, she makes the holiday, she gets to know everyone, she is on the go non stop but never hassles you to join in but I can guarantee by the end of your holiday you will join in! Would I go again, yes definitely!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lyanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

have spent a couple of hoildays at the castillo del sol, for the price that you pay you cannot argue. the pool area is nice and tidy. table tennis available and pool!! perfect for those lazy days by the pool. rooms are basic, but it does what it says on the tin.
all in all a very good hotel, hence my numerous visits in the past and hopefully the future

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

My wife and I have spent many holidays in Puerto Rico and many of those times have been spent at Castillo de Sol, due to availability. For self catering accommodation this is fine. We tend to have breakfast in the room or at the pool bar and eat out in the evenings. The cooking facilities in the room are more than adequate. There is an oven and grill, two hot plates and plenty of utensils and saucepans etc. The rooms are clean and tidy, with regular cleaning and clean bedding and towels. The apartments didn't seem to be busy during our stay, but the pool and bar areas were mopped every morning by the dedicated staff. The reception staff are very courteous and make you feel very welcome. Lorraine is the entertainment guru! She seems to know all the guests and tries to get everyone involved in the games and bingo etc, without being pushy. She has a very pleasant manner and is excellent at what she does. I have read many reports about these apartments, such as no kettle, no microwave, no air-con etc etc. We boil water in a saucepan, what's wrong with that? There's an oven and grill as I have said and we leave the patio door open if it gets too hot. What's wrong with that? People also mention the many steps down to the shopping centre. Well, they're the same steps that lead to many of the other neighbouring apartments. So what? We have met many people during our stays here and they keep returning. We will definitely be returning to Castillo de Sol sooner than later, possibly in the summer.

Room Tip: Try to ask for an apartment on the left side of the building, as the views of the sea etc are much better. The right side has restricted viewing.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Colin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

My partner myself and our 7yr old son arrived at the hotel around 11.15am.
We were told our room wasn't ready but the lady on reception said she would sort it ASAP.
We went to the pool bar and had a drink and within 30mins our room was ready.
When we went into our room we were a little on the wary side as the bed for our son was the SOFA not a pull out bed and there were no extra sheets to put over the sofa, also there was no kettle or toaster ( which we found out we could hire for quite a sum of money)... Anyhow once we went to reception regarding the sheets within an hour they were brought up to our room.
We arrived on a Monday and Lorraine ( the entertainer for the complex was off.) and we originally thought our 7yr old would be extremely bored during our stay as when we booked it stated there was a kids club and things he could do other be in the pool!
However, Monday we were all shattered had a nice meal out and had a good sleep.
Tuesday began,,, we went and got our sunbeds by the pool which you cant get until 10am, and at 11am Lorraine arrived and straight away knew she would make the holiday!
She is the friendliest person you would want to meet and kept everyone entertained.
She couldn't do enough for you, everyday she came around to talk to EVERYONE around the complex and im sure 8 out of 10 people have been there on more than 1 occasion.
The rooms are extremely dated, and quite a few bits need doing around the hotel but I am one for saying you get what you pay for.
We WILL be returning and this is definitely due to Lorraine.
If you read this Lorraine Ali says Hello and he is missing Bowling and Water Polo loads but we will be back!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Abby T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Set above the town with over 100 steps to the level where you will eat, relax or strole approx 15 mins to the beach.
The accommodation was clean friendly and provided a lovely pool with nice snacks whenever you wanted same. Most nights the bar closes early so don't expect to return late and have a drink. You can relax on your balcony and enjoy cooking your own meal. Bedroom basic.... hairdryer, kettle, iron, toaster & fan all have to be hired..... this was an inconvenience and an extra cost.
Besides this there is a good supermarket next door and a 5 star wonderful Restaurant next door where you will enjoy the wonderful slow roast shoulder of lamb with prune and the flaming hot brandy prepared by the Chef who give wonderful attention to detail while the waiter entertains you.
Do visit Peurto de Morgan, use local buses and the taxi service is cheap and good.
I would stay at this Castillio del Sol again as its very friendly and you make friends around the pool as its small. Enjoy!!

Room Tip: A room on the ground floor gives you your outdoor dining together with instant access to the pool bar etc. There are lifts but some rooms are more up to date than others. All have pool views.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KittytheHare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews