We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No frills”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Castillo de Sol Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Stayed here end of August/early September for 12 nights. Very basic but we booked last minute and got a very cheap deal. Staff were friendly and apartments were cleaned regularly. It was the end of the school holidays, so there were lots of children by the pool playing games. Great for families, but would visit outside of school holidays if you want peace. One time we did stay by the pool, a spanish family left their toddler crying on several occasions, which was annoying. There is also an onsite entertainer with a microphone running games and competitions. Again, great for families but a little noisy if you want peace. We escaped most of this though with trips out!

As other reviewers have mentioned, the apartments are located high up from the centre, which involves walking up/down a lot of steps. This was ok for us, but no good if you have mobility difficulties. The centre is very commercialised and is full of irish bars, steak houses and all you can eat chinese buffets.

However we did come across a couple of great restaurants. One was underneath the apartments, called Minanas. Excellent value for money, great quality and friendly service. Do book, as it is packed every night. The other was La Taberna de San Miguel in the main commerical centre. This isn't to be confused with San Miguel restaurant, which is likely to be the one you'll see first when walking down the steps and straight across into the commerical centre. Turn left in the commerical centre and you'll see it on the right by some steps, further down. We passed it several times during the day and were put off that there were no customers. We eventually tried it and it was much better than any other restaurant in the centre. We couldn't fault it. Best tapas around!! Service was so good aswell.

There is a beach in Puerto Rico but I'd recommend Amadores beach, which is easily accessible via the walkway from the harbour. The walk was lovely and not too strenuous in the blistering heat!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ai1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (518)
There are newer reviews for Castillo de Sol Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

413 - 419 of 518 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2012

We booked this apt very late, as we couldn't find anything. It was £100 for 2 nights for 2 people. The entrance and pool were very clean and the staff at the desk were very nice, but when we got to the room it was the end of nice.
The place stank of smoke. I'm not a smoker, but this was making my head and throat sore. We were told no other rooms, but the next morning I said I know we are only here for 2 nights, but I can't stand it. The girl ay reception said she would have the curtains and top bedding changed. We lay at the pool just below our apt. She never changed them, she shut the curtains and mopped the floor. We had to do something, so off to the shop to get air freshener. We doused the curtains and bedding with it. Helped a little. That was the downfall of this stay.... unfortunate.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank steviej73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We flew with Thomas Cook 22nd - 29th Dec and arrived at about 6pm having been the last drop off.We were greeted by a very friendly receptionist who checked us in very quickly and we were allocated a room on 7th floor and we had a spectacular view.
The apartment was adequate for what we wanted and was spotless clean.It had fridge,oven and hob,kettle,plates,cutlery etc.The bedroom had 2 single beds which we pushed together and plenty of wardrobe and cupboard space.Bathroom had walk in shower and fresh clean towels.I couldn't fault it one bit!!
It is very high up on the hill and we walked down the steps on a morning and few times walked back up them at night but a taxi was only 3 euros.
On the 2nd morning we spoke to another very friendly receptionist called Lorraine and she was such a lovely,friendly ,warm and helpful person....Thanks for making us feel so welcome Lorraine.
We had a great stay here over the Christmas period and would not hesitate to visit Castillo again and would definitely recommend it. Loved it!!

Room Tip: We staryed on 7th floor but every floor had a fantastic view.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angiebabyleeds1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

went with family and had great time love puerto rico very cheap holiday

Room Tip: lower down you can get as noise late at night from town center
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2011

I stayed here with my son of 13 for five days in December 2011. This small complex of apartments is located 154 steps up (we counted them) from the main shopping area in Puerto Rico, so if you have an mobility issues you'll need to take a taxi up the hill or choose somewhere closer to the town ! However being up so high affords fabulous views of the marina and the Atlantic Ocean though you do get some distant noise from the bars in the shopping centre situated below. Personally this didnt bother me, but for light sleepers it might be a problem so worth a mention, especially if you have a window open at night..

The apartments themselves are quite basic but clean with frequent linen and towel changes. As others have said, there are charges for kettles, toasters and TV remotes, but these are all things I can do without and when you take into account the very low nightly rate, it still represents good value for money. I did find that the wifi/internet (10 euros for 3 days) didnt work terribly well in the room and we were advised to sit on the balcony for a better reception which was good advice ! There is a nice sized pool but it is unheated and at this late point in the year its rather cold - go on be brave and jump in ! There is also a daily entertainment programme which includes simple darts, pool and golf games which you can take or leave and the young lady who organises this is very friendly and not overly persistent which is nice for those of us who prefer to just read a book. Because of the size of the pool area its suitable for children as you can keep any eye on them from almost anywhere in the pool area - quite a plus point I feel.

There is pool bar which is open all day through to the evening and the Happy Hour which was on every day between 4 and 5pm was very popular with many of the guests who were mostly from the UK or Ireland (when we stayed there). We ate lunch there a couple of times and this was typical bar fayre such as burgers and chips, all of which was reasonably priced.

Overall this a good value for money place to stay and as long as you're not expecting 5 star luxury you will not be disappointed with the Castillo del Sol apartments and I would certainly consider staying there again..

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2011

just returned from a week at Castillo del Sol, Staff first class,rooms basic but clean, healthy walk to the town avoiding the steps, taxi back about 3 euro's (worth it). Good value for the money only down side was the constant music from the pool bar (and I mean constant)

Room Tip: avoid the ground floor unless you like a lot of noise.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Apartments very basic could do with a new coat of paint. On the plus side clean and towels etc. are changed every second day. Prices at the bar are on the high side. Pool very busy not a lot of room. 169 steps to climb down to the centre where there are loads of good restaurants and pubs. Overall very good value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lesleypeline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Rico hotels
0.7 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 68 in Puerto Rico
3,218 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cabau Cala D'Or
Cabau Cala D'Or
#19 of 68 in Puerto Rico
737 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Riosol
Hotel Riosol
#17 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Eden Apartments
Eden Apartments
#14 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,217 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carlota Apartments
Carlota Apartments
#28 of 68 in Puerto Rico
277 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aparthotel Puerto Plata
Aparthotel Puerto Plata
#34 of 68 in Puerto Rico
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castillo de Sol Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castillo de Sol Apartments

Address: Calle Gran Canaria 16, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Rico
Price Range: $46 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Castillo de Sol Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Castillo de Sol Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castillo Del Sol Apartments Hotel Puerto Rico
Castillo De Sol Apartments Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing