We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room 106 - Destined to be Room 101”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Terraza Amadores
Ranked #16 of 68 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Certificate of Excellence
East KIlbride
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Room 106 - Destined to be Room 101”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Just returned from 10 days at Terraza Amadores, although we had a good holiday it would have been much better if we hadn't been allocated Room 106. Rooms 101 - 106 are on the ground floor and directly across from the Pool Bar, which is open from 9am until around midnight, but holiday makers aren't encouraged to leave when the bar closes and can stay there talking until they feel like returning to their rooms - so it was rather noisy.

The family who run the Pool Bar are very welcoming and friendly and the food and drink is reasonably priced, but if you don't want to be the life and soul of the party, and engage in the weekly BBQ (Thursday) and daily happy hour (between 4pm and 5pm) then ask not to be given Room 106.


Also, Rooms 101 - 106 don't have any windows that can be left open to let the air circulate, so they can be rather warm and stuffy. As they are on the ground floor you don't get any privacy on your balcony or within your apartment - unless you keep the curtains drawn at all times. You can leave the bedroom patio door open a little, and it can be secured with a blot, but then you are subjected to the noise from the Pool Bar.

On the plus side the apartments are spacious and well equipped, they are cleaned 5 times per week, and towels changed regularly. The sheets were only changed once during our 10 days, but you come to expect that. The complex as a whole is nice and clean and if travelling with young children would be ideal, as there are only around 42 apartments so everyone gets to know or recognise one another.

The bathrooms were excellent, as they had a separate walk-in shower, so no bath to climb in and out of and no flooded bathroom.

The Spar shop on the complex is well stocked with day to day essentials and is reasonably priced.

The complex is within walking distance to both Amadores (5 mins) and Puerto Rico (20 mins), both of which have plenty of places to eat and drink. If out in Puerto Rice you must try Miami in the CC, the food is delicious and the staff really friendly. If staying closer to the complex then Grill Amadores is amazing, Santi the owner/waiter is really friendly and passionate about his food and pleasing his customers - and it's very reasonably prices.

We would definitely go back to Terraza Amadores on the condition that we were allocated another apartment - definitely not Room 101 to 106.

Room Tip: If you are looking for some privacy and peace and quiet don't let yourself be allocated Room 101...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CAN24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    97
    24
    7
    3
See reviews for
111
174
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I booked these apartments after looking at trip advisor reviews and i was not disappointed. These small and friendly apartments have all you need for a lovely relaxed holiday in the sun. Very helpful reception staff who waited until midnight to book us in. The bar staff Mel, Tracey, and their daughter Toni were all very friendly and couldn't do enough to please. Happy hour between 4-5pm was popular. These apartments are only a short walk to the beach and a taxi ride uphill to the commercial centre. The quiet relaxing pool area always had plenty of sunbeds. We had a spacious apartment beside the pool area with a terrace which was very nice. Would recommend these apartments for a relaxing quiet holiday, but if you want lively puerto rico is only a short taxi ride away.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elizabethkillin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwest, England
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Me and my boyfriend have just arrived home after a two week stay at the terraza amadores.
We arrived at around 9:45pm and had a very warm welcome from the receptionist Nieves. Nieves was extremely helpful all the way through our two week stay.
We had an apartment on the 3rd floor so we had a lovely view of the amadores beach.
The apartment was very clean an quite modern. It has everything you need. The only complaint was there is no air conditioning so we hired a fan from reception.

The pool bar was lovely. Viv looked after us most mornings and her cooking is to die for :)!
We went to the pool bar every evening to be greater by Tracey & Mel such a lovely friendly english couple who own the bar, we had a good laugh with them every day :) We met loads of friends there can't wait to go back again next year amazing place

Thanks Tracey / Mel / Viv
Love Clare & Mike

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor so you can see the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kingy82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed at Terraza amadores apartments in August for 2 weeks. It was one of the best holidays we have had for relaxing. We arrived at 10.45pm and were greeted by Nieves on reception with a very warm welcome with a glass of wine and water in our room's. Thank you Nieves for your hospitality. We had requested a room on the 4th floor, which we were given, these were really good size. there is plenty of places to eat out within a 5 min walk which takes you straight on to the beach, you can also get a taxi from their or walk the sea view up to Puerto Rico, where the night life goes on later. we also used the local bus a few times and hired a car which Nieves sorted out another thank you.
Bar was lovely and friendly, thank you Eric for the meal you got ready for us before we left. and looking forward to our trip back in October 2013 this is all booked cannot wait for a nice cold Beer so get those glass on ice Mel.
The fact we booked to go back two days after returning say how good this place is as we have never gone to the same place twice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed at Terraza amadores apartments in August for 2 weeks. It was one of the best holidays we have had. We arrived at 9.30pm and were greeted by nieves on reception with a very warm welcome. Thank you Nieves for your hospitality.
We had requested a room on the 3rd or 4th floor, but with a lot of apologies were given room 106 on ground floor near the pool bar and pool. This ended up being a fantastic room, as with an 8year old, we were close enough for her to be back and forth to the pool all day. Also with no air con in the rooms(only downside) 106 was shaded all day so wasn't as hot as some of the 3rd & 4th floor rooms.
The rooms were very spacious and clean, with a lovely bathroom and well equipped kitchen and a great terrace to chill out.
The pool was ideal for both adults and children, our daughter spent many enjoyable hours playing with friends of many nationalities.
Mel & Tracey's pool bar - what can I say, we were warmly greeted on our first night and spent many enjoyable hours there over the 2 weeks chatting, making friends and enjoying great food and drink. Barbecue nights particularly good fun.
Loved our holiday that much that we have already booked to go back July 2014 !!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank KatieAnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed at these apartmets last year and having had a very relaxing break returned this year.

The only comment that I would make is that the area around the pool bar would benefit from a deep clean. There are areas that are "sticky" and stained were drinks/food have been spilt.

Some mornings tables had rings from glasses on them. The soap in the toilets at the bar did not get refilled whilst we were there. Just meant that we did not use the bar as much as we may have.

The apartments are still vey clean and, yes, in the height of a heatwave in August, would benefit fom AC being installed.

We like these apartments and will return again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lorraine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Stayed at the Terraza in Sept 2012 and had such a great time that we are going back this Sept.
The check in was quick and efficient thanks to Nieves on reception, When we got to our apartment we couldn't believe the size of the balcony, everywhere was spotless and we had everything that we needed. If you want a holiday with lots of night life, Amadores is probalbly not the place for you,but for people just wanting a relaxing holiday it's perfect!!!!
Plenty of choice with bars and restaurants at the beach which is only a 5 min walk from the apartments. Back at the hotel the pool, though quite small, was big enough and there was always plenty of loungers for everyone on the huge sun terrace. The rooms were cleaned to a high standard daily by the friendly staff. The highlight of the holiday for us was the pool bar run by Tracey and Mel, helped by Viv and Tracey's daughter Toni, who were all brilliant, you had a wide variety of snacks and meals which were available all day, and don't forget Mel's bbq on a thursday, which was great fun. All in all a great holiday and looking forward to going back in a few weeks time.!!!!
John & Biddy

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Byrnes123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Rico hotels
0.2 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 68 in Puerto Rico
3,160 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Marina Bayview
Marina Bayview
#3 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,261 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Altamar
Hotel Altamar
#13 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,870 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riosol
Hotel Riosol
#17 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Terraza Amadores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Terraza Amadores

Property: Hotel Terraza Amadores
Address: Calle Islas Afortunadas 1 | Playa de Amadores, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Puerto Rico
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Rico
#10 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terraza de Amadores is 350 metres from Amadores Beach, in southern Gran Canaria. It offers an outdoor pool, and all apartments have a private balcony with superb Atlantic Ocean views.Each Amadores apartment has a living room with a TV and sofa bed. There is a safe, and a private bathroom with a shower. The well-equipped kitchenette comes with a fridge, microwave and coffee maker.The complex has a poolside bar and a snack bar. There is a supermarket on-site, and room service is available.Terraza de Amadores has a garden and a terrace. There is a billiard table and massage can be requested.You can hire a car at the complex, and free parking is available nearby. Anfi Tauro Golf Club is a 5-minute drive away. Internet connection, via modem, is offered in public areas for a supplement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Otel, Hotwire, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Terraza Amadores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Terraza Amadores Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing