We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Terraza Amadores
Ranked #16 of 67 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Lovely place to stay. The relaxed attitude of the pool bar staff rubs off on the guests to create a very peaceful and tranquil stay. There is a Spar shop attached to the complex so you will never run out of anything. It is about 200mtrs to the beach and believe me you could be a lot further away both in terms of distance and altitude!
The receptionist was friendly and always helpful.
There is no hairdryer or kettle in the rooms, we bought a hairdryer and boiled the water in a saucepan.
The lack of air conditioning was no heartache although we did hire a fan (18 euros for the week) and a safe (10 euros for the week).

Do:
Get the 10:30 ferry to Mogan, it will take you to see the dolphins en-route to Mogan which itself is a beautiful place to visit.
Walk to Peurto Rico along the path from Amadores. Takes about 20 minutes and is a great walk.
Go to the chinese buffet on the beach.
Go to the BBQ at the complex on Thursday night.

Don't:
Go snorkelling. I did and was quite disappointed.
Buy a camera from any of the shops at Peurto Rico harbour. The one that they demonstrate will work, the one that you buy won't.

We would go back tomorrow.

Room Tip: If I was going again I would ask for a top floor room to escape any potential noise from overhead ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stulor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (351)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

242 - 248 of 351 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed at the Terraza Amadores for a week at the beginning of October. This was our first holiday with our baby (5 months old).

Apartments:
We had an apartment on the first floor, which is the same level as reception and the entrance from the street. There is a lift to access other floors, including the ground floor with the swimming pool and pool bar. The apartments are clean and a decent size with big balconies. The kitchen area is fairly basic, but includes everything needed unless you are thinking of preparing a banquet.
Several previous reviews have mentioned the lack of air conditioning. We did not find this to be a problem. Fans can be hired from reception, although we did not find this necessary.

Pool and Pool Bar:
The pool area was quiet every day that we were there, and there were always plenty of sun loungers and umbrellas available, even later in the day. There is a small children's pool in addition to the main pool, with a large area around both pools for sun loungers.
The pool bar serves food from around 9.30am to 8pm. There is a good selection of food on the menu, and it is all very good quality and well cooked. The food can also be taken back to your room if you want to stay in but don't want to cook. I would recommend the barbecue on Thursday evenings.
Mel, Tracey, Toni and all the other staff at the pool bar are very friendly, and do a great job of running the bar.

We had a great holiday here, and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RWL79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We recently spent a week here, myself, my husband and our 5 month old little boy. it was a great relaxing break, the apartments are basic but perfectly alright for a break in the sun. Kitchen equipment, a large lounge area and a massive balcony which got the evening sun-lovely. The whole place is very clean and quiet, no loud music etc. The pool area is fairly small but again clean and peaceful, and there was always sunbeds available, no rushing down to put towels down, a huge bonus on this type of holiday. The best asset of the place though is the pool bar. It is run by a lovely English family and their friends. Mel, Tracey and Toni really are very friendly and lovely people, as are Viv, Julie and Eric. They are helpful and attentive without being pushy or in your face. The bar offers a good selection of drinks and great food, excellent quality and prices. We ate here several times, having breakfast, lunch and dinner and it was always good, The weekly BBQ is also very good, great food and again value and a good atmosphere. It was nice having that facility in the heart of the complex, and it really does make the place. There is also a good Spar shop within the complex which sells all the essential-very handy and reasonable prices too. Amadores is lovely, a very relaxing place, and the beach and restaurants are a short 5 min walk away down the hill, a bit longer up the hill on the way back! but nothing unmanageable, we did it every night with a push chair. It is a lot quieter that Puerto Rico, which for us was a big plus especially having a small baby, but it is only about a 15 min walk around the nice coastal path, which has stunning views. We would happily go back to these apartments, safe in the knowledge of it being clean, great location and very friendly. Its not a 5 star by any means, but it doesnt pretend to be, however if a quiet, relaxing holiday in a lovely location is what you are after then i do not think you can go wrong.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Well where do I start these apartments are just fantastic, sooo fantastic that we are returning in a weeks time having already had 2 weeks in May!! Loved it so much. Everything about the place is superb the apartments the location the staff the weather! Thursday nights are great with Tracey and Mel they do a lovely BBQ with a bit of music. We did use Mirador for the night time for enterainment for our daughter as she loves discos etc Do not hesitate to book here as you will be very impressed.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kellie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stayed here from 18th September for one week.2 apartments, beside eachother with sea view as requested. Have stayed in Puerto Rico several times and will not stay again but here in Amadores. Booked though travelrepublic. Great staff, big apartments, with great sea view and very large balcony with table and chairs and loungers. . Apartments serviced reguraly, and had great power showers. No air con, but that did not matter as you can hire fans. Anyway as we all know if you leave your curtains closed by day, sunlights will not get in and keeps heat out :) Pool fab, pool bar great value. Cleaniness all round excellent and staff friendly and always helpful. Best i have stayed in and will hightly recommend. Stone throw from beach and spar shop located on lower part of building offering everything you would need. Taxi's cheap and no problem to get from side of road, aprox Eur 3.00 - Eur 4.00 to Puerto Rico Centre,

Room Tip: Sea view apartment not by roadside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BluIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Just returned from another fab holiday at the Terraza in Amadores. Reception staff very friendly and helpful. Hats off to Tracey and Toni who do a great job of running the pool bar :o) Breakfast was very nice but we would have preferred other options rather than egg and bacon every day. We will return............

Room Tip: Ask for a high room in the back block.....not overlooked and fab sunsets
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for a week and had a great holiday. The rooms are very clean and spacious with a huge balcony with great views. They are very equipped so you could easily cook breakfast, lunch etc if you didn't fancy going out. I've read alot of reviews complaining about the lack of air con, which I think is unnecessary as the rooms aren't that hot and you can hire a fan for 10 euros, which we didn't even think was necessary - the hotel clearly states that there is no air con before you book. My favourite aspect of this hotel is the pool area. With it only being a small hotel you didn't have to worry about overcrowding and reserving sun beds as you could walk down at any point of the day and you would be guaranteed to get a sun bed. The pool was lovely too which looked over to the beach. The pool bar was great the staff were so friendly and helpful. The food is lovely but also very cheap considering the standard. They offered a variety of drinks and cocktails and happy hour is everyday from 4-5. We attended the weekly BBQ on Thursday for 10 euros all you can eat which is really worth the money and I would recommend. The staff even kept the bar open later than usual for the occasion and they also did on our last night as a favour so we could all have a drink together. The staff are so attentive and you don't generally find this in big chain hotels which is what makes this hotel special. There is a spar shop on site which is handy. The beach is gorgeous and only a 5 minute walk away. The hotel is very peaceful as it is not directly in puerto rico centre but is only a 20 minute walk away or 5 minutes in a taxi costing around 3 euros. I would definitely return to this hotel again one of the best holidays we've both ever had!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Becky8491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Rico hotels
0.2 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riosol
Hotel Riosol
#17 of 67 in Puerto Rico
1,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 67 in Puerto Rico
3,295 reviews
0.8 mi away
Marina Bayview
Marina Bayview
#3 of 67 in Puerto Rico
1,346 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eden Apartments
Eden Apartments
#15 of 67 in Puerto Rico
1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Terraza Amadores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Terraza Amadores

Address: Calle Islas Afortunadas 1 | Playa de Amadores, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Puerto Rico
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Rico
#10 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range: $58 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terraza de Amadores is 350 metres from Amadores Beach, in southern Gran Canaria. It offers an outdoor pool, and all apartments have a private balcony with superb Atlantic Ocean views.Each Amadores apartment has a living room with a TV and sofa bed. There is a safe, and a private bathroom with a shower. The well-equipped kitchenette comes with a fridge, microwave and coffee maker.The complex has a poolside bar and a snack bar. There is a supermarket on-site, and room service is available.Terraza de Amadores has a garden and a terrace. There is a billiard table and massage can be requested.You can hire a car at the complex, and free parking is available nearby. Anfi Tauro Golf Club is a 5-minute drive away. Internet connection, via modem, is offered in public areas for a supplement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Otel and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Terraza Amadores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Terraza Amadores Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing