We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning !!!!”
Review of Sunshine Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunshine Villas
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Stunning !!!!”
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a week of total luxury at these brilliant villas in Puerto Rico Gran Canaria.
The villa had everything from wine openers to books to wi fi!
They are immaculate and sleep 6 people with your own private swimming pool! !!!
The villa may sound expensive at around £1000 per week but if you divide it between 6 then its reasonable! These villas are fantastic !!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John_taxi65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AparthotelRiosol, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sunshine Villas, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Again, such a pleasure to read comments such as these. I hope you will have the opportunity to return in the near future.

Kind Regards

Lorenzo Sentís
Riversun-Touristic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oulu, Finland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We just came back for a week fantastic holiday in villa Lantanna (one of the Sunshine villas). Villa was great with all aspects. You have got your own privacy and own schedule compared to hotel accomodation. Villa was spacious for our group of five adults. We cooked our meals in well equipped kitchen and enjoyed our meals outside looking stunning views for mountains.
In the sunny garden of the villa is a small heated pool which was a top notch in hot midday.
We really can recommendate this accomodation for all !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Ninni021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AparthotelRiosol, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sunshine Villas, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
It really is highly satisfying to read such a glowing review that encapsulates everything that we are trying to achieve. I am glad that your experience was so successful, please join us again.

Kind Regards

Lorenzo Sentís
Riversun-Touristic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We came back to the Sunshine Villas for a week with 4 adults and one 3 year old. Again the villa was great: well furnished, comfortable, quiet location and with own swimming pool (small but perfect). Near restaurants and beach. We booked a minibus with the travel agents, Lowcostholidays, to take us to and from the airport in Gran Canaria. Now one of the things you have to be mindful of is that you have to collect the keys from the Hotel Riosol which is a good distance away. We were assured by the travel agents that this was made known to the minibus hirers and there would be no problem. Of course there was a problem with a very rude minibus agent purporting to know nothing of the arrangement but finally agreeing to call for the keys. If we hadn't been aware of the need to call for the keys first we would have been stranded at the villa with no way of getting in. On the way home the minibus was half an hour late for a 4 am pickup. Luckily the night was warm! Still really only a minor problem with a most enjoyable holiday. But remember you have to collect the keys.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajmullIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AparthotelRiosol, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sunshine Villas, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
It's always pleasing, and a sign that we have the right approach, when our guests return frequently. I hope this will continue.
Sunshine Villas is a small, friendly complex of five modern single Villas belonging to the Riversun-Touristic group.
All administrative services of the Sunshine Villas are located a 5 minute drive away in the Riosol Hotel , also belonging to the RIVERSUN group.
Guests of Sunshine Villas must collect the keys from the reception of the Riosol Hotel, which serves the Villas´ guests 24 hours a day.

Thank you for your review.

Kind Regards

Lorenzo Sentís
Riversun-Touristic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

The villa was modern, spacious and well decorated with a fully equipped kitchen. Pool was clean and yard was well gardened and had a great view. We enjoyed our two weeks at villa Lantanna and hope we'll be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Maija J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We really liked our Sunshine Villa. It's spacious, well-thought-out and well equipped. This is not glorified camping - you have everything you could possibly want in a holiday home, including washing machine and dishwasher. Providing bread, milk, orange juice, tea and coffee on arrival is a nice touch, as is providing dishwashing liquid and tablets. The grounds are beautifully kept and the pool is great. The villas are very well located, only 2 minutes from a supermarket and row of bars/restaurants (some very good ones too - try El Cenador or El Gaitero), and only 10 minutes from Puerto Rico beach. There's also a taxi rank outside. All in all, just what we wanted - peace and quiet and enough comfort so that we could happily stay around the villa if we couldn't be bothered with exploring.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank bb1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wicklow
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

I spent a fantastic fortnight in one of these 5 aptly named sunshine villas with my wife and 3 kids, 8,7 and 3. Quiet and private we loved this. Spacious, clean and comfortable. Plenty of space to sneak away and take time out and close to some nice restaurants and decent bar, but far enough away to chill out if you choose an evening in. Well stocked supermarket 5 min walk. No neighbours scuffling around upstairs at 4 in morning or lumpy beds, it's pure rest time. Closest beach is a downhill walk approx 10 mins, its a taxi ride back though with young kids and taxis won't take 5 (some will, very few). Cost about 3.50. You need to write down the address, "sunshine villas, agua la Perra." If you don't its very difficult as many drivers don't speak English or let on they don't.
Swimming pool is nice and clean and clever locking system on access door for added safety. Well maintained complex with attentive maintenance and cleaning crew. To improve the villa I would throw out the existing tv/DVD and upgrade as the current one is rubbish. Free wifi is appreciated. Highly recommended, enjoy.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank africanirish1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We stayed in one of the five villas next to each other that make up sunshine villas at the end of May 2012. We had a fantastic time; there is plenty of room for everyone. We went with my family and my mum has recently had a knee operation and finds it hard to walk far, so she had the ground floor double room, this meant she didn’t need to negotiate any stairs. The kitchen and one of the bathrooms are on the ground floor.
There are some very nice bars and restraints about 5 minutes walk away (down some stairs on a path through a nice park). The sea front is about 15 minute walk down hill.
Overall a very nice and well equipped villa with washer dryer/ dishwasher.
The only let down was having to pick up the keys from a hotel about 3km away. The directions from James villas were good, but some other people who came to stay said there travel agent didn’t give them key pick up details and they had to get a taxi there.. So make sure you have the key pick up details before you go.
Lots of taxi ranks and taxis around and you could get round Puerto Rico for about 5 Euros.
Lots of hotels around but I don’t think you will get a villa closer to the sea front.
I would definitely recommend this villa.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deano890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Rico hotels
0.5 mi away
El Greco Apartments
El Greco Apartments
#15 of 68 in Puerto Rico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Miami Sun
Apartamentos Miami Sun
#23 of 48 in Puerto Rico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Mayaguez
Apartamentos Mayaguez
#14 of 48 in Puerto Rico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Penamar Tour
Penamar Tour
#28 of 48 in Puerto Rico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yaizasol Premium Apartments
Yaizasol Premium Apartments
#13 of 48 in Puerto Rico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.0 mi away
Porlamar Apartments
Porlamar Apartments
#36 of 48 in Puerto Rico
3.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Villas

Property: Sunshine Villas
Address: Calle Gavilan s/n, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sunshine Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sunshine Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Villas Hotel Puerto Rico
Sunshine Villas Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing