We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Caribe Rota Numero Dos”
Review of Hotel Caribe Rota

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Caribe Rota
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Rota
N. Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hotel Caribe Rota Numero Dos”
Reviewed October 28, 2010

This was my second stay at the Caribe. I was there two years ago and decided to visit again. Made the reservation on the internet from NS Rota, 46 Euros/day, which included breakfast. My room this time was pool-side, which was much quieter than street-side. Things I like about the Caribe......good rate for a basic room, no frills...WiFi in the rooms was weak and therefore sporadic but excellent in the lobby adjacent to the internet room...the staff is very nice and understanding, speak good English...several ATMs nearby, got all my Euros there...little grocery next door for snaks and sodas, etc...fun neighborhood bar/restaurant across the street...bus stop about 100 yards away, .60 Euro fare...easy to get a room here in the off-season, safe 20-30 minute bag-drag from base gate...breakfast was the basic European cold-cut and bread type of thing, plenty of good coffee and juice, too convenient to pass up, nice staff...room has TV, never turned it on, beautiful pool...showers need to be replaced with something human-sized, they are just too small but plenty of hot water...no wash cloth, had to buy one for a Euro...they now have dual outlets which accept both US and Spanish plugs, carry a Spanish plug converter anyway...no voltage converter needed...with a little room/shower renovating and better variety at the breakfast buffet, I would give the Caribe maybe 3 1/2 stars.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cougarfan45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    20
    31
    5
    1
See reviews for
17
22
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
213 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2010

My husband and I flew into Rota, Spain via military flight. We happened to arrive on
the day the strike was taking place throughout Spain and other countries. Someone
had recommended the Hotel Caribe to us and we decided to check it out. It was just
wonderful. The staff was helpful with directions, suggestions and exceptionally concerned with our comfort . I believe they truly wanted us to love their hotel and their town. It's a block from the beach and very centrally located to restaurants and shopping. What a GEM! It was even less expensive and MUCH nicer than staying on the base.
We had no where to stay because of the strike and they really could have taken us for a ride with the price, but to our surprise, since they only had 3 large rooms available, they gave it to us for the price of a smaller room. It was VERY clean as well. It really made our trip!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patsjag28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2008

I stayed at the Caribe for 4 days in April 2008...booked the room over the internet from NS Rota for 35 euro/night, about 1/2 of the walk-up rate...it is about a 30-40 minute walk from the main gate at NS Rota, through the center of town and a few blocks from the main beach...taxis are numerous but expensive...this is not a fancy hotel but I didn't think it could be beaten for the price I paid...the single room was spartan but clean...it was next to an elevator and bordering on the street, so it's not the quietest place I've ever stayed but I was gone most of the time anyway and had some good earplugs, which I would certainly advise having no matter where you stay...my room had a small balcony with a chair...the staff is super-nice, understanding, and speaks good English...there is a nice bar and an excellent restaurant in the hotel...the 6 euro breakfast was great, all you can eat, everything available, including cooked to order eggs and bacon...again, the dining room staff was very nice...there is a cash machine, a Mom-and-Pop grocery store, a newspaper/smoke shop, and an excellent Spanish restaurant/bar within throwing distance, a really fun place with a great atmosphere, nice waiters, Hi-Def bullfights, excellent food and drink, reasonable...there was a charge for internet but I never used it and there is a lobby phone that can be used for direct phone-card calls to the USA (or anywhere else, I guess)...I'm not sure if this is a no smoking hotel but my room didn't smell funny...the area is safe, as is the whole city, and there are some interesting high-dollar neighborhoods nearby...Rota Beach is just a few minute's walk but it was pretty deserted when I was there...I rated the Caribe 3 stars but I think 3 1/2 is a little more fair...I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again or recommend it to someone.

  • Liked — The staff is super-nice and helpful and speak good English...good location, cheap
  • Disliked — Pretty noisy...the shower was about 24 inches square, w/ a real danger of getting scalded
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cougarfan45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2008

Arrived in Rota, and needed somewhere to stay last-minute before finding an apartment. We walked up to the counter and asked for a room
- so it was a bit expensive. But the staff was wonderful, very friendly.

They did not have a room open with a large bed, so they pushed two singles together. I wouldn't recommend it - it was pretty uncomfortable.

But other than that the room was nice, and had a nice view with a balcony. The free wi-fi was very convenient - you will be hard pressed
to find it anywhere else in Rota!

  • Liked — Free wi-fi.
  • Disliked — Price.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ssibayan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2007

basic hotel ,this is a 99 % spanish hotel ,and spanish resort .so do not expect british pubs ,and english breakfast .which gives it its charm as a resort .the hotel is clean ,basic rooms are rather sparce .but what you would expect in this price range .we stayed bed and breakfast ,eating out is very reasonable average meal including wine and beers 60 euros for three.the town is very quaint ,comes to life at about 8 30 pm they do like thier siesta .thier is a large us naval base in the town ,so the restaurants are of mainly a very hire standard .thier are plenty of tapas bars and cafe's , ideal for an inexpensive lunch .if you want to escape the rest of the british type costas ,this is an ideal resort take your spanish phrase book .adios

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank dutchman12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2007

This hotel is quite basic and simple and the architecture is not particularly interesting. The breakfast is OK and it has a OK swimming pool. We stayed there one week in 2001, since then when we stayed for a week in Rota we opted for the a bit more expensive but way better and with much more style hotel Playa de la Luz.

  • Stayed June 2003, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank flying_dutchmanBCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marseille, France
Level Contributor
196 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2006

A nice, simple hotel located in central Rota, Spain with lots of shopping and restaurants in the neighborhood. Very clean, pet friendly, good breakfast. Price in Apr 2006 was 90 euros for a double room.

  • Liked — Clean, location, friendly staff
  • Disliked — Nothing negative.
  • Stayed April 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Al M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rota hotels
4.2 mi away
Elba Costa Ballena Beach Hotel
1.1 mi away
Hotel Playa de la Luz
5.2 mi away
Playaballena Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Duque de Najera
0.3 mi away
Hostal La Giralda
Hostal La Giralda
#7 of 9 in Rota
16 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Espadana Apartotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Caribe Rota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caribe Rota

Property: Hotel Caribe Rota
Address: Calle Marina 60, 11520 Rota, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cadiz > Rota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Rota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Caribe Rota 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Caribe is a roomy yet tranquil establishment located in a quiet residential area only 100 meters from the beach. The Hotel has at its disposal 68 totally equipped rooms for enjoying your relaxing vacation as well as an exterior swimming pool, buffet and 'a la carte' restaurant, terrace bar, underground parking, satellite TV, internet access area , WiFi, conference and banquet rooms, an extensive cocktail menu and services for lunch meetings and dinner parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Caribe Rota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing