We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great - but a bit cramped”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Playaballena Spa Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Rota
Certificate of Excellence
Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great - but a bit cramped”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

As a family with small kids, Playa Senator hotels are always a good idea.

The facilities were good the only real issue was that the swimming pools were too small for the amount of people that were there. Great for throwing around small children but not enough room to have a swim yourself!

We had a suite which was excellent and the normal rooms were inoffensive enough. Everything was very clean.

The staff were really helpful and friendly, but don't expect any english speakers,
this hotel really is for the Spanish market.
Food was good and varied and a positive army of chefs were on hand to cook up fresh food. The all inclusive deal was OK but a bit limited for snacks for the kids, but they survived!

The beach is only two minutes away but is very small at high tide, so gets very crowded.

So if you have small children, go for it but be warned it can get a little claustrophobic.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatieB_74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,842 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    685
    837
    195
    70
    55
See reviews for
1,357
310
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rota, Andalucia, Spain
1 review
Reviewed March 14, 2012

I enjoyed the spa and friendly service. The service was so accommodating it made me feel right at home. My girlfriend and I were able to take quick trips within nearby towns. Had a great time during carnival.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dillion W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Playaballena Spa Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Dear Guests,

First of all thank you for your comments, because it is the best way to learn about the experiences of our guests during your holiday.

We once again thank you and are looking forward welcoming you to any of our establishments.

Luis Rossell
Gerente Playaballena Spa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rota, Spain
1 review
Reviewed March 13, 2012

hotel was freindly, clean and afforadable for the area. beautiful veiw wide rooms. excellent food. staff will help with as much as the can with information and siteseeing in the area.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Playaballena Spa Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Dear Guests,

I would like to thank you for your comments, as it is through them the best way we can improve the quality of our service, understanding the perception of our product and most important the quality and friendly service we provide.

We once again thank you and are looking forward welcoming you to any of our establishments.

Luis Rossell
Gerente Playaballena Spa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Just late december i and wife did stay over for weekend with some friends for our anual party. Everything was fine and had great time.
Looking forward to come over on quieta weekends.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevryan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edwin0505
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2009

It is without a doubt one of the most beautiful hotels I have ever stayed in. It is 5 stars in my book. The service was great, the staff members were very courteous, and the food was very exquisite. I would recommend it to all my family and friends.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank edwin0505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rumst
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2009

Nice hotel, friendly staff, very good food, spacious rooms and large swimming pool.The hotel is a family hotel with a lot of kids and Spanish tourists.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zotteke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2009

I was at this hotel like 7 years ago and I loved the experience. This time I was a litlle bit frustrated. When a hotel belong to a chain, it's better just open when all the things and staff are complete. The rooms weren't bad, but the courtains and the bed blanket are a little "demode". When we arrived at 16h pm they don't have towels for us. The location it's very nice, it's beach front. The social areas are ok. The breakfast was ok, they have cava, but they just have watermelon for fresh fruit, I find the breakfast for a 4 stars hotel a litlle poor. This hotel is very nice for familys. The Aquaplaya it's very nice too.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissTravelAgent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rota
1.0 mi away
Elba Costa Ballena Beach Hotel
4.5 mi away
Hotel Playa de la Luz
5.9 mi away
Hotel Duque de Najera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hotel Caribe Rota
Hotel Caribe Rota
#9 of 9 in Rota
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
12.3 mi away
Parador de Cadiz
Parador de Cadiz
#2 of 29 in Cadiz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
12.7 mi away
Senator Cadiz Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playaballena Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playaballena Spa Hotel

Property: Playaballena Spa Hotel
Address: Avenida Juan Carlos I s/n | Costa Ballena, 11520 Rota, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cadiz > Rota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Rota
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Rota
#3 Business Hotel in Rota
#4 Luxury Hotel in Rota
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Playaballena Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Playaballena SPA Hotel enjoys a beachfront location, next to Costaballena Golf Club and set amongst charismatic spots such as Rota, Chipiona and Sanlucar de Barrameda in the heart of the Bay of Cadiz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Playaballena Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playaballena Hotel Rota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing