We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unobtrusive class”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Playa de la Luz
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Rota
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Unobtrusive class”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

How close to the sea do you want to be? This laidback hotel amidst the dunes and next to the pine forest on the outskirts of town was perfect for a get-away-from-it-all break. We did not regret the upgrade to a Junior Suite, two separate rooms with a balcony directly overlooking the beach and the ancient stone fish pens or corrals. In fact, I was ready to move in permanently. Luxuriant gardens in the inner courtyards and a decent swimming pool were a bonus. Cannot comment on the food, as we were too busy investigating the seafood in town, but the glass of manzanilla sherry on checking in was a lovely welcoming touch.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pomaussie186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sophiedcvdk, Director General at Hotel Playa de la Luz, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Client,

Thank you for choosing our Hotel for your stay at Rota, we are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and the Hotel.
We hope to welcome you back soon so that we can demostrate you our good "Cousine" that we also have.

Waiting to welcome you back, best regards,

Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    205
    56
    16
    11
See reviews for
164
223
15
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nerja
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I live on the Costa del Sol but it was so different travelling just for a weekend to the Costa de la Luz. I loved the place , so tranquil , the beach is amazing , so long and golden and soft sand , and nearly everyone in Rota has a dog !!! One morning we walked from the hotel to the port/marina in town that took 35mins and was so lovely , then the previous day we went the other way , right , out of the hotel and its a nudist beach but we didnt know !!!
The hotel has so much to offer , I just didnt have enough time to relax and enjoy it.
The staff are so friendly and courteous , make you feel so welcome. The rooms were decorated in lovely colours of blue , gold and red. There were bicycles to rent , an atm outside , taxi service called for by the reception and very reasonable price (7euros into town). For the evening meal the hotel do a buffet at a cost of 22euros per person , however , we just wondered 3mins or so down the main road and found an excellent Meson de Almdraba , the food was so nicely cooked , we all had different fish dishes ( grouper , prawns , swordfish and sea bass) , salads , olives , alcoholic drinks and for the 3 of us the cost was 55euros. When we came back we went to the hotels Bar Sherry and enjoyed a lively evening of flamenco.
Theres wifi free available and free parking , I booked via Expedia and it was all super. What great value for money .
I really loved Rota , the area , the Costa de la Luz area also , ( cotton fields in Spain ,! lots of them ! , wind turbines , everything was so different from the Costa del Sol ) , I would most certainly return.

Room Tip: We overlooked the tennis courts , oops , I forgot to mention they have 4 lovely courts and gardens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flamencolass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sophiedcvdk, Director General at Hotel Playa de la Luz, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Client,

Thank you very much for your nice words about our Hotel and Rota.

Your comments and details help us a lot.

Hooping that you choose Costa de la Luz in your next visit, we hope to welcome you back soon,

Best regards,

Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I had a wonderful holiday. the Hotel is superbly placed on the beach and is friendly and relaxing. The staff are helpful. I had a problem with the room I was given and this was sorted out by the manager of the reception in a friendly curteous and efficent manner. I cannot praise the hotel and the majority of its staff enough.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juanirosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sophiedcvdk, Director General at Hotel Playa de la Luz, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Client,

Thank you for your comments. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and Holidays.
We always try to we helpfull, there can always be a misunderstanding, but at the moment that you let it know to the reception or to the management of the Hotel, we are ready to help and look for the best solutions.

So thank you to let us know in time, and we hope to welcome you back soon,

Best regards,

Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coin, Spain
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Although a little difficult to find with the directions we had pulled off the internet (no sat nav sadly), the hotel is worth the effort as it is welcoming and bright, modern in style, with great facilities and good accommodation. Two truly wonderful assets were the helpful, friendly staff and a location bang on for unspoilt beach with dunes and woodlands. You need a car to reach the old town, we did do the woodland walk in once - which was along boardwalks for quite a stretch, and then finding our way through the streets taking about 30-40 minutes to reach the centre. Facilities at the hotel, with its large central swimming pool, tennis, and beach club with chill terrace were on the whole excellent, and the buffet breakfast in the restaurant was extensive and included freshly made pancakes and omelettes, but cocktails during happy hour were a disappointment being poorly made and presented (I suspect they were bought in ready made) and therefore not even worth the half price ticket. The offer price we had for twin bedded room with breakfast was terrific value for money, we were offered an upgrade to a sea view toom but were quite happy with our chalet style room in a quiet area of the pretty gardens. It was a busy time for the hotel, as it was a Spanish national holiday, but you never felt that the staff did not have time for you and several were extremely helpful to us. Beds were a little uncomfortable but OK for a short stay, but the room was very clean and had most of what we require; although like a lot of Spanish hotels, no tea and coffee making equipment. We confess, we like our tea 'British style' i.e. strong, and while given extra tea bags on 2 occasions in the bar/cafe for no extra charge, on the 3rd occasion we were charged double making our cuppas €3.50 each. Minor gripes, as we would definitely stay again here or in the very elegant sister hotel in town.

Room Tip: It is a big hotel, so you can be as we were in a small row of chalet type rooms in an area of garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JudiCopycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sophiedcvdk, Director General at Hotel Playa de la Luz, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Client,

Thank you for your comments about our Hotel and about Rota.
We are very glad that you enjoyed your holidays.

We take good care about all your comments.
For next year you will have the option to have tea or coffee at the room.
We try to improve ourselves everyday.

Thank you and hoping to see you back soon,
Best regards,

Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
110 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

A really nice and charming hotel at the southcoast of spain. Truly nice and friendly staff. Great breakfast and in line with the hotel stars: free cava :)
Its a safe hotel with free parking, very nice garden and pool. Nxt to the sea, but that is not all that.
Funny thing, if you have room 12bis they will say room 13. So i had to search :)
Staying here untill wednesday oct 3!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reza G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sophiedcvdk, Director General at Hotel Playa de la Luz, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Client,

Thank you for writting even if you are still in our Hotel.
I hope I can see you this afternoon, to say hello.

Thank you for your comments.
Best regards,
Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Great location! Ancient ruins from over a 1000 yrs ago in the water called the "fish pens" just near the hotel. I wish the hotel had some information about this history that guests could read about. Food at the hotel was OK. The small town of Rota is wonderful.... the only drawback is there is a military base nearby. The hotel has very bad internet service. I was there on business and needed good internet service.... did not get it. My room was very nice and clean.

Room Tip: Spend the extra and get a seaside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laudan525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sophiedcvdk, Director General at Hotel Playa de la Luz, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Client,
Thank you very much for your answer and the nice words about our Hotel.

I thank you also for your comments about our fishing extructure (corrales), we have some information, but I will prepare it specialy for our clients, it's a good tip and I will do it.

We have internet, but wifi just in the commum areas, we are now installing a new system and at your next visit you will have perfect wifi-conexion.

Thank you again for your comments, that help us a lot,
Waiting to welcome you back,
Best regards,

Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rota
3.4 mi away
Elba Costa Ballena Beach Hotel
4.5 mi away
Playaballena Spa Hotel
1.7 mi away
Hotel Duque de Najera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Caribe Rota
Hotel Caribe Rota
#8 of 9 in Rota
67 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Espadana Apartotel
7.8 mi away
Hotel Monterrey Costa
Hotel Monterrey Costa
#1 of 9 in Chipiona
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Playa de la Luz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playa de la Luz

Property: Hotel Playa de la Luz
Address: Avenida Diputacion s/n, 11520 Rota, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cadiz > Rota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rota
#2 Business Hotel in Rota
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Rota
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rota
#5 Family Hotel in Rota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Playa de la Luz 4*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right on the beach, surrounded by dunes and pine forests, the hotel faces the Atlantic Ocean. With traditional Andalusian architecture of only two floor, the 210 guest rooms are placed around two large garden patio areas, with all the whitewashed charm of an Andalusian Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Playa de la Luz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa De La Luz Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing