We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Playa de la Luz
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Rota
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
110 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

A really nice and charming hotel at the southcoast of spain. Truly nice and friendly staff. Great breakfast and in line with the hotel stars: free cava :)
Its a safe hotel with free parking, very nice garden and pool. Nxt to the sea, but that is not all that.
Funny thing, if you have room 12bis they will say room 13. So i had to search :)
Staying here untill wednesday oct 3!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reza G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sophiedcvdk, Director General at Hotel Playa de la Luz, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Client,

Thank you for writting even if you are still in our Hotel.
I hope I can see you this afternoon, to say hello.

Thank you for your comments.
Best regards,
Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    205
    56
    16
    11
See reviews for
165
223
15
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Great location! Ancient ruins from over a 1000 yrs ago in the water called the "fish pens" just near the hotel. I wish the hotel had some information about this history that guests could read about. Food at the hotel was OK. The small town of Rota is wonderful.... the only drawback is there is a military base nearby. The hotel has very bad internet service. I was there on business and needed good internet service.... did not get it. My room was very nice and clean.

Room Tip: Spend the extra and get a seaside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laudan525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sophiedcvdk, Director General at Hotel Playa de la Luz, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Client,
Thank you very much for your answer and the nice words about our Hotel.

I thank you also for your comments about our fishing extructure (corrales), we have some information, but I will prepare it specialy for our clients, it's a good tip and I will do it.

We have internet, but wifi just in the commum areas, we are now installing a new system and at your next visit you will have perfect wifi-conexion.

Thank you again for your comments, that help us a lot,
Waiting to welcome you back,
Best regards,

Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawlish, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed as a family of 5 for 5 nights. Took slightly more expensive rooms which had more space and lovely bathrooms. Service in restaurants was marvellous and waiters and cleaners alike were really friendly and helpful[.Only slightly unfriendly service was from the 2 meeters and greeters in the breakfast restaurant.]

Beach club and bar area were great and fortunately no extra charge for facilities of the beach club by middle of September. Wonderful to sit out on the April terraza at sunset with a cocktail!!
Loved the pool area and Sherry restaurant and La Gaviota restaurant where we had a fab waiter.

Waiter at the poolside Sherry restaurant, Dani Ruiz Herrero, got our vote for employee of the week. What a lovely man!Yoga guy was fun too.

Unfortunately shortage of maintenance staff meant that the bed with the creak and wobbly leg did not get fixed for a couple of days and soundproofing between floors could be improved

.Otherwise it was an idyllic break in a beautiful hotel,with mostly super Staff.

Room Tip: probably avoid poolside at busy times if you need your sleep. Maybe choose a top floor if you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dawlishdreamer899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sophiedcvdk, Director General at Hotel Playa de la Luz, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Client,

Thank you very much for your comments, it help us to improve our selves day by day.
I have take notice of your comments of our staf and I'll take care about them, the good ones and the not so good ones.

And of course I will have a look at our extra beds, to see how we can do it better.

Thank you very much and we hope to welcome you and your familie back at our Hotel,

Best regards,

Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burntwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

What can I say, this hotel is not cheap to stay to eat or to drink in but it is without doubt one of the best I have stayed in. Perfect for families. It is difficult to get to from the UK (Very few direct flights to Jerez de la frontera) but worth the effort. They speak very little English but enough for you to get by. But best of all is so few UK people make the effort that there are no lager louts and no rowdy, drunken revellers to make you embarrassed to be from the UK like most of Spain. Simply put it is a safe relaxing family holiday with frequent local entertainment, and even the German version of the 'T' Club for kids. There are beach front family rooms and lots of pool side loungers etc. Check it out on google earth and the hotel webside it really is a good as it looks.

Room Tip: If you want a beach front or family room you need to book early and to specify it because they cost...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sophiedcvdk, Director General at Hotel Playa de la Luz, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear Client,

Thank you very much for your comments and for making the effort to come to Rota from the UK.
With the other Hotels of Cádiz, we are trying to bring more direct flights to Jerez.

We hope to see you back soon at our Hotel Playa de la Luz,

Best regards,
Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Best feature of this place is the location right on the beach. Ask for a sea view room - there is a daily supplement, but it's worth the expense as you have a small balcony overlooking the superb beach. Rooms are generously-proportioned and well-featured, with internet access available. Staff are efficient and helpful. There is secure parking. The main criticism is that the hotel can be a little overwhelmed by the number of diners at meal times and while the food quality is not bad, we've had much better in other Spanish 4-star establishments.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank digitaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sophiedcvdk, Director General at Hotel Playa de la Luz, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear Client,

Thank you very much for your comments. It help us to keep working every day.
Hoping to see you back soon,
Best regards,

Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful holiday which was actually our honeymoon and have to say from the moment we arrived to the moment we returned to Germany yesterday we were pleased with the friendliness of the staff and the cleanliness of the complex. There was no division at all of nation as we were English but with a German company and were treated exactly the same as any other guest , The food was very nice and plentyfull , nothing was too much trouble or the staff and always carried out with a smile and a kind word . I would recomend this hotel to anyone couples or families alike .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jillian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sophiedcvdk, Director General at Hotel Playa de la Luz, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear client,

Thank you for your comments at Tripadvisor.
We are glad that you choose our Hotel to have your honeymoon holidays.
Congratulation with your wedding and we hope to see you back soon,

Best regards,
Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We spent a week at the Playa de la Luz with our 11 year-old daughter in mid- July and really enjoyed our stay. We were delighted by the friendly and efficient staff, the relaxed family-friendly atmosphere and great facilities. The staff always did their best to make us feel welcome and on many occasions children were given special attention.

We had a superior double room facing the pool. If you can’t have a room with an ocean view this might be the next best thing, because the garden is beautiful with flowers and palm trees. Sometimes loud music was played by the poolside as someone mentioned earlier, but that didn’t bother us at all. After 10.30 pm, all was quiet and we had no trouble sleeping. The room itself may have been a bit tired, but that was compensated by the housekeeping staff who did a very good job and kept the room really clean every day. We found the room spacious and suitable for three persons. The breakfast buffet was included in our deal and we had a couple of light lunches at the poolside bar and at Bar Gaviota. No complaints there either. The Chill- out terrace bar on the roof was really nice especially in the evenings when the sun was setting on the horizon.

We found the beach-side location superb, the ocean right there at the doorstep. To the south, the beach goes all the way to Rota; and to the north, it stretches as long as you can walk and way beyond that. On most days the beach was full of life, but we were never bothered by over-eager salesmen and such. There are also beautiful pine tree forests on both sides of the hotel where you can enjoy quiet walks. It’s about 2 kilometers from the center of Rota, which is a bit far, but we found the taxis and busses fairly cheap (taxi 3-4 euros and bus about 1 euro), so it was not a problem. Of course, you can also walk to Rota along the beach and if the blazing sun bothers you, stop at the bars along the way.

Guests at the Playa de la Luz are mostly Spaniards with a few Germans here and there and in general English isn’t widely spoken in Rota. However, the hotel staff spoke very good English and occasionally we also had a chance to try out our not-so- good Spanish. The staff at the reception was always very friendly and helpful with whatever we needed. A big thanks to them.

I would definitely recommend Playa de la Luz for families thinking of staying in Rota. Whether you want to explore the area further or just want to have a nice relaxing time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ari K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sophiedcvdk, Director General at Hotel Playa de la Luz, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear Family,

Thank you very much for your nice words about our Hotel.

Your comments help us everyday to improve our selves.

We hope to see you back soon at Rota,

Best regards,

Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rota
3.4 mi away
Elba Costa Ballena Beach Hotel
4.5 mi away
Playaballena Spa Hotel
1.7 mi away
Hotel Duque de Najera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Caribe Rota
Hotel Caribe Rota
#8 of 9 in Rota
67 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Espadana Apartotel
9.5 mi away
Hotel Puertobahia & Spa
Hotel Puertobahia & Spa
#1 of 18 in El Puerto de Santa Maria
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Playa de la Luz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playa de la Luz

Property: Hotel Playa de la Luz
Address: Avenida Diputacion s/n, 11520 Rota, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cadiz > Rota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rota
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Rota
#2 Business Hotel in Rota
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rota
#5 Family Hotel in Rota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Playa de la Luz 4*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right on the beach, surrounded by dunes and pine forests, the hotel faces the Atlantic Ocean. With traditional Andalusian architecture of only two floor, the 210 guest rooms are placed around two large garden patio areas, with all the whitewashed charm of an Andalusian Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Playa de la Luz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa De La Luz Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing