We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best kept secret in Spain”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Playa de la Luz
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Rota
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2012

What can I say, this hotel is not cheap to stay to eat or to drink in but it is without doubt one of the best I have stayed in. Perfect for families. It is difficult to get to from the UK (Very few direct flights to Jerez de la frontera) but worth the effort. They speak very little English but enough for you to get by. But best of all is so few UK people make the effort that there are no lager louts and no rowdy, drunken revellers to make you embarrassed to be from the UK like most of Spain. Simply put it is a safe relaxing family holiday with frequent local entertainment, and even the German version of the 'T' Club for kids. There are beach front family rooms and lots of pool side loungers etc. Check it out on google earth and the hotel webside it really is a good as it looks.

Room Tip: If you want a beach front or family room you need to book early and to specify it because they cost...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sophiedcvdk, Director General at Hotel Playa de la Luz, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Dear Client,

Thank you very much for your comments and for making the effort to come to Rota from the UK.
With the other Hotels of Cádiz, we are trying to bring more direct flights to Jerez.

We hope to see you back soon at our Hotel Playa de la Luz,

Best regards,
Sophie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (567)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Playa de la Luz
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 567 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2012

Best feature of this place is the location right on the beach. Ask for a sea view room - there is a daily supplement, but it's worth the expense as you have a small balcony overlooking the superb beach. Rooms are generously-proportioned and well-featured, with internet access available. Staff are efficient and helpful. There is secure parking. The main criticism is that the hotel can be a little overwhelmed by the number of diners at meal times and while the food quality is not bad, we've had much better in other Spanish 4-star establishments.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a sea view room.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank digitaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sophiedcvdk, Director General at Hotel Playa de la Luz, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Dear Client,

Thank you very much for your comments. It help us to keep working every day.
Hoping to see you back soon,
Best regards,

Sophie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful holiday which was actually our honeymoon and have to say from the moment we arrived to the moment we returned to Germany yesterday we were pleased with the friendliness of the staff and the cleanliness of the complex. There was no division at all of nation as we were English but with a German company and were treated exactly the same as any other guest , The food was very nice and plentyfull , nothing was too much trouble or the staff and always carried out with a smile and a kind word . I would recomend this hotel to anyone couples or families alike .

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jillian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sophiedcvdk, Director General at Hotel Playa de la Luz, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Dear client,

Thank you for your comments at Tripadvisor.
We are glad that you choose our Hotel to have your honeymoon holidays.
Congratulation with your wedding and we hope to see you back soon,

Best regards,
Sophie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We spent a week at the Playa de la Luz with our 11 year-old daughter in mid- July and really enjoyed our stay. We were delighted by the friendly and efficient staff, the relaxed family-friendly atmosphere and great facilities. The staff always did their best to make us feel welcome and on many occasions children were given special attention.

We had a superior double room facing the pool. If you can’t have a room with an ocean view this might be the next best thing, because the garden is beautiful with flowers and palm trees. Sometimes loud music was played by the poolside as someone mentioned earlier, but that didn’t bother us at all. After 10.30 pm, all was quiet and we had no trouble sleeping. The room itself may have been a bit tired, but that was compensated by the housekeeping staff who did a very good job and kept the room really clean every day. We found the room spacious and suitable for three persons. The breakfast buffet was included in our deal and we had a couple of light lunches at the poolside bar and at Bar Gaviota. No complaints there either. The Chill- out terrace bar on the roof was really nice especially in the evenings when the sun was setting on the horizon.

We found the beach-side location superb, the ocean right there at the doorstep. To the south, the beach goes all the way to Rota; and to the north, it stretches as long as you can walk and way beyond that. On most days the beach was full of life, but we were never bothered by over-eager salesmen and such. There are also beautiful pine tree forests on both sides of the hotel where you can enjoy quiet walks. It’s about 2 kilometers from the center of Rota, which is a bit far, but we found the taxis and busses fairly cheap (taxi 3-4 euros and bus about 1 euro), so it was not a problem. Of course, you can also walk to Rota along the beach and if the blazing sun bothers you, stop at the bars along the way.

Guests at the Playa de la Luz are mostly Spaniards with a few Germans here and there and in general English isn’t widely spoken in Rota. However, the hotel staff spoke very good English and occasionally we also had a chance to try out our not-so- good Spanish. The staff at the reception was always very friendly and helpful with whatever we needed. A big thanks to them.

I would definitely recommend Playa de la Luz for families thinking of staying in Rota. Whether you want to explore the area further or just want to have a nice relaxing time.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ari K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sophiedcvdk, Director General at Hotel Playa de la Luz, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

Dear Family,

Thank you very much for your nice words about our Hotel.

Your comments help us everyday to improve our selves.

We hope to see you back soon at Rota,

Best regards,

Sophie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

All Staff were very friendly, helpful and efficient which is a nice surprise. The location is second to none, with the beautiful clean beaches right infront of you. The building of the hotel is typical of the Cadiz area with lots of Andalusian charm and character. Everything was clean and almost freshly painted with lovely nautical colours in blues and whites. The hotel has some beautiful flowers,trees, plants and flora with a tiny aviary next to the beach. The Chill out terrace bar is superb, very Miami, but actually better. The views are incredible. I would recommend this hotel for sure.

Room Tip: The junior suites are great in the sense that you can't go wrong with a view of the gardens from...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexandra11-3-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sophiedcvdk, Director General at Hotel Playa de la Luz, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice words about our Hotel Playa de la Luz.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back soon.

Best regards,
Sophie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Great staff. Very good food. Beautiful flowers and well maintained grounds. Quiet and very clean. Room over looked the ocean. Would definitely stay here again. Tennis courts and instructors were very good, but, availability of courts was poor. Free parking with gated access was a plus. WIFI available only in the lobby or pool area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Globi86305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

This 4-star resort is extremely comfortable and provides outstanding vacation and holiday time.
The rooms are beautifully arranged and with lots of space as well as the bathroom with bathtub and all amenities. Our room had two terraces facing East and West, each equipped with outdoor furniture.
Staff is wonderfully friendly and efficient. The excellent art of Spanish hotelry is here again to be enjoyed.
Food is first class. With our half-board our calorie intake was fully covered! The buffet breakfast and dinner provided everything you would like on holiday including some very fine andalucian especialities. The winelist was proposing excellent wines from local producers and from other parts of Spain. The meals could be taken indoors or in a semi-outdoor space were smoking is permitted.
The hotel is directly on the beach at the West end of the city. It is therefore a good place for walking or running activities on the beach or in the park paths well prepared with wooden planks. Pedestrian access to the catamaran ferry towards Cadiz is 4 km away through said paths and the beachfront corso in Rota proper.
Be aware that the hotel is used by military personnel for short stays at the nearby US naval base.
The only downside was the difficult and sometimes inexistant internet access and as we complained day after day, we realised that this technical part was outside of the hotels hands and was taken care of by an outsourced ICT company. We recommend the hotel to seek this service from another firm with definitely faster reaction time: on the last day of our stay we were given a fixed IP address for our cabled internet connection in the room and this seemed to solve it... but we were going away! Around the pool and in other dedicated places internet wifi access was reliable albeit very slow at peak times.

Room Tip: rooms on second floor are quiet and offer marginal sea-view. Rooms around the pool are noisy until 2...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 13, 2012

Dear Mr. Guest,

Thank you very much for your e-mail and nice words about our Hotel Playa de la Luz.

We take care about all your comments and we will solve them as soon as possible.
We know our wifi system is not the best and we are looking to change it.

Best regards and hoping to see you soon back,
Sophie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rota
3.4 mi away
Elba Costa Ballena Beach Hotel
4.5 mi away
Playaballena Spa Hotel
1.7 mi away
Hotel Duque de Najera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
ALEGRIA Costa Ballena
1.1 mi away
Hotel Caribe Rota
Hotel Caribe Rota
#9 of 10 in Rota
72 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hotel Monterrey Costa
Hotel Monterrey Costa
#1 of 9 in Chipiona
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Playa de la Luz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playa de la Luz

Address: Avenida Diputacion s/n, 11520 Rota, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cadiz > Rota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rota
#2 Business Hotel in Rota
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Rota
#5 Family Hotel in Rota
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rota
Price Range: $62 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Playa de la Luz 4*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right on the beach, surrounded by dunes and pine forests, the hotel faces the Atlantic Ocean. With traditional Andalusian architecture of only two floor, the 210 guest rooms are placed around two large garden patio areas, with all the whitewashed charm of an Andalusian Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Playa de la Luz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa De La Luz Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing