We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Duque de Najera

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Duque de Najera
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Rota
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
364 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“Good stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Having stayed at the Playa for many years I finally decided to make a change to the Duque. I only wish I had changed years ago. It was definitely a step up in almost every category - the location is right in the middle of Rota close to all the shops and restaurants, it is far more upscale with an excellent pool, it was quiet, breakfast was very good, the rooms were spacey and relatively inexpensive, there was a definite lack of kids which was a huge bonus, the AC worked great, and best of all - the free WiFi in the rooms worked beautifully! I don't know how many hotels I go to where the WiFi doesn't work in the rooms, but I didn't have one problem the entire time at the Duque.

The only downside to the hotel is that there is no public parking, but the staff were more than happy to help us park in the garage, so that issue was negated.

The main restaurant at the hotel was a big letdown, but that is an entirely different issue, and there are many other nice, inexpensive places nearby.

I definitely will be staying here in the future.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank callmeishmael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sophiedcvdk, Director General at Hotel Duque de Najera, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Client,

Thank you very much for your nice comments.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you had a nice time at Duque de Najera.
About our restaurant, maybe you didn't had time to know our tapas terrace or our A la Carte restaurant with nice vieuws to the see.
We hope to see you back soon,
Best regards,
Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    109
    19
    8
    2
See reviews for
51
156
15
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Troon, Scotland
Level Contributor
153 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

As I was working in the area, the family came out and we stayed for 5 nights B&B.

The hotel is excellent, and the swimming pool area was the main attraction for the kids.
And just opposite from the hotel is a Irish bar which sells draught cider. My holiday was complete.

I concur with the recent reports as to its site and location. Recommended to those who enjoy a four star hotel.

Room Tip: Decide if you want a sea view?
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 98JHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sophiedcvdk, Director General at Hotel Duque de Najera, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Client,

Thank you very much for your nice words about our Hotel.
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with your family at our Hotel.
It is a very good combination, work and leisure, with or without kids.
At Rota there is always nice weather, so it is perfect even at winter to have a swim, a nice walk on the beach or a tour by boat.

Thank you and we hope to wellcome you back soon,
Best regards,
Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Living near the Atlantic Coast we are naturally attracted to the Spain’s Costa de la Luz for vacations. In 2011 we discovered the unspoilt town of Rota and in particular the hotel Duque de Najera. The hotel is ideally located adjacent to the attractive promenade, safe beach and the old town. Check it out on Google maps. The hotel lives up to its 4 star rating .We prefer the superior deluxe room with sea view. It is a large room with sitting area and balcony .The balcony has a table with 2 chairs Equipment includes adjustable twin beds, tea making tray, fridge with ample free space, safe(optional extra-why?) TV and pool/beach towels. The large bathroom has the added bonus of a big walk-in shower complete with soap and shampoo dispensers. The room has also individually controlled and efficient air conditioning. The main bar/public lounge areas are airy and have comfortable seating. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel. Housekeeping is of a very high standard and carried out in an unobtrusive manner. Staff are helpful and courteous. Receptionists are fluent in English as are some of the bar staff. Restaurant menus are also in English. Breakfast and evening meals are buffet style. The evening buffet restaurant opens at 7pm. There is also an a la carte restaurant. As well as loungers and umbrellas at the poolside there is an upper sun deck with a sea view. Underground car parking is available (9€ per day) and has a lift with access to all floors. Bicycles and cars are available for hire. It is a short walk to the ferry terminal for Cadiz. The crossing takes about 30 minutes. (5€). Bus stops are nearby for the town bus circuit. Rota tourist information office is just across the square from the hotel. Of possible interest are the sea exercises carried out off shore from time to time from the nearby naval base. We are senior citizens and independent travellers who first stayed here in September 2011, returned in May 2012 and again in mid-September this year. We prefer these times as the socially challenged travellers are few. Rota is an unspoilt place where you can relax and chill out in a superbly located and very comfortable hotel. No car needed. Is there anything we would change? Yes the €20 evening buffet. This should be increased to its original price in 2011 and 2012 of €25. The management is aware of this suggestion should they care to read the survey reports. If you are a train buff why not take the train from Malaga to Cadiz (change at Don Hermanas) which is very scenic. You can then catch the ferry to the hotel. Alternatively stop off at Puerto de Santa Maria and take a taxi (€35) to the hotel. The nearest airport is Jerez which is about 30 miles away.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erneside77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sophiedcvdk, Director General at Hotel Duque de Najera, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Client,

Thank you very much for your very nice comments.
Thank you also for comming back for the third time.
With your comments we see that you really enjoyed every part of the Hotel and also of Rota and surounding.

Thank you very much and we hope to see you back soon, and of course it will be a pleasure to welcome you directly.

Best regards,

Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brugge, West-Vlaanderen, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Hotel Duque de Nájera is a very nice, classy hotel with all the facilities one can dream of.
The hotel is located in the centre of the charmfull village of Rota, with view on the old church, the central square (plenty of bars and restaurants nearby), the Atlantic Ocean or on the charming fishing harbour. It is quiet and peacefull, you can relax by the pool or on the private beach with view on the Atlantic.
The food is fresh and delightfull, staff is always kind and friendly, rooms are clean and spacious. This is just a wonderfull hotel to stay in!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emanuel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sophiedcvdk, Director General at Hotel Duque de Najera, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Client,

Thank you very much for your nice comments about our Hotel Duque de Najera.
We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you had a nice holiday.

We hope to welcome you back soon at our Hotel,

Best regards,

Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mebane, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

The Hotel Duque is an incredible experience. Located on the beautiful Atlantic beach of Rota, it will well worth a little extra to get the full luxury experience. Having stayed here on several occasions I can attest to the consistent quality of the hotel and the in house resturants.

Room Tip: The junior suite with the ocean view is the best option. Plenty of space and a great view of the bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robertcall3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sophiedcvdk, Director General at Hotel Duque de Najera, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Client,

Thank you very much for your nice words about our Hotel and thank you for coming back each time that you are in the area.

We hope to welcome you back soon,

Best regards,
Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairena del Aljarafe (Sevilla)
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

This hotel is right by the beach. It is not very big and the clients were mainly mature German couples. It was quiet with no children running around, so it is a good place for mature couples. Breakfast was great. Our room was very nice and it had a good sea view. It had a large bathroom, but two single beds instead of a double bed. The walls are a little bit thin, but we didn't have noise problems with our neighbours.The gym is really only a small room with two or three machines to exercise your legs, but nothing to do sit-ups. On the whole, we had a great stay and the staff was very attentive with us.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vonNeumann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sophiedcvdk, Director General at Hotel Duque de Najera, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Client,

Thank you very much for your nice comments.
we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you soon again.
Best regards,

Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cadiz
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

i stayed there on May , first week .
I can t beleive how noisy they are inside the hotel, first of all maids seems to be in your room when talking , so loud .
At night busy road next to the hotel also .
Recepcion didn t help at all.
I exepted more from that hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sophiedcvdk, Director General at Hotel Duque de Najera, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Client,

We are very sorry that you didn't had a confortable stay at our Hotel.
It is not normal that we receive such opinions and we will look after them.

Our Hotel is a quiet and confortable place and we always try to be helpfull.
We are really sorry and hope to see you soon back at our Hotel to demostrate that you can have a confortable stay.

Best regards,
Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rota
1.7 mi away
Hotel Playa de la Luz
4.9 mi away
Elba Costa Ballena Beach Hotel
6.1 mi away
Playaballena Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Parador de Cadiz
Parador de Cadiz
#2 of 29 in Cadiz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hotel Puertobahia & Spa
Hotel Puertobahia & Spa
#1 of 18 in El Puerto de Santa Maria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Caribe Rota
Hotel Caribe Rota
#8 of 9 in Rota
3.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Duque de Najera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Duque de Najera

Property: Hotel Duque de Najera
Address: Calle Gravina 2, 11520 Rota, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cadiz > Rota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Rota
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rota
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Rota
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Duque de Najera 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Duque de Najera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duque De Najera Rota
Duque De Najera Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing