We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Class”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Duque de Najera
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Rota
Certificate of Excellence
Brugge, West-Vlaanderen, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Class”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Hotel Duque de Nájera is a very nice, classy hotel with all the facilities one can dream of.
The hotel is located in the centre of the charmfull village of Rota, with view on the old church, the central square (plenty of bars and restaurants nearby), the Atlantic Ocean or on the charming fishing harbour. It is quiet and peacefull, you can relax by the pool or on the private beach with view on the Atlantic.
The food is fresh and delightfull, staff is always kind and friendly, rooms are clean and spacious. This is just a wonderfull hotel to stay in!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emanuel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sophiedcvdk, Director General at Hotel Duque de Najera, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Client,

Thank you very much for your nice comments about our Hotel Duque de Najera.
We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you had a nice holiday.

We hope to welcome you back soon at our Hotel,

Best regards,

Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    127
    20
    10
    4
See reviews for
62
170
15
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mebane, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The Hotel Duque is an incredible experience. Located on the beautiful Atlantic beach of Rota, it will well worth a little extra to get the full luxury experience. Having stayed here on several occasions I can attest to the consistent quality of the hotel and the in house resturants.

Room Tip: The junior suite with the ocean view is the best option. Plenty of space and a great view of the bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robertcall3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sophiedcvdk, Director General at Hotel Duque de Najera, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Client,

Thank you very much for your nice words about our Hotel and thank you for coming back each time that you are in the area.

We hope to welcome you back soon,

Best regards,
Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairena del Aljarafe (Sevilla)
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This hotel is right by the beach. It is not very big and the clients were mainly mature German couples. It was quiet with no children running around, so it is a good place for mature couples. Breakfast was great. Our room was very nice and it had a good sea view. It had a large bathroom, but two single beds instead of a double bed. The walls are a little bit thin, but we didn't have noise problems with our neighbours.The gym is really only a small room with two or three machines to exercise your legs, but nothing to do sit-ups. On the whole, we had a great stay and the staff was very attentive with us.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vonNeumann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sophiedcvdk, Director General at Hotel Duque de Najera, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Client,

Thank you very much for your nice comments.
we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you soon again.
Best regards,

Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cadiz
2 reviews
Reviewed June 5, 2013

i stayed there on May , first week .
I can t beleive how noisy they are inside the hotel, first of all maids seems to be in your room when talking , so loud .
At night busy road next to the hotel also .
Recepcion didn t help at all.
I exepted more from that hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sophiedcvdk, Director General at Hotel Duque de Najera, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Client,

We are very sorry that you didn't had a confortable stay at our Hotel.
It is not normal that we receive such opinions and we will look after them.

Our Hotel is a quiet and confortable place and we always try to be helpfull.
We are really sorry and hope to see you soon back at our Hotel to demostrate that you can have a confortable stay.

Best regards,
Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Hotel Duque is a really great hotel, the restaurant was exceptional which was just as well because there was a fiesta on Friday to Sunday and many of the places in the town were closed.
The staff throughout the hotel were extremely helpful and the room was spotless.
It's location is perfect for the beach and the harbour for the ferry across to Cadiz
I will certainly be coming to this hotel again

Room Tip: Book a sea view room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sophiedcvdk, Director General at Hotel Duque de Najera, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Client,

Thank you very much for your comments.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you back soon.

Waiting to welcome you back soon,
best regards,

Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

This hotel is not only beautiful, comfortable, and so neat and clean and tidy, it is reasonable as well. We had room 306, with a terrace overlooking the pool and the ocean and we loved it. The staff were kind and informative and helped however and whenever we needed. My oldest daughter and I were there to spend the holidays with my other daughter stationed at the base there and we were extremely pleased with our hotel choice. I would advise this hotel for anyone visiting the area, I'd love to come back in the summer months to use some of the awesome pool and facilities.

Room Tip: go for the upgrade for the oceanview room, at the time we were there, it was only 11 euros more
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesliemomof6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sophiedcvdk, Director General at Hotel Duque de Najera, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Client,
Thank you for your comments and we are happy that you had such a nice time at our Hotel, visiting your familie at Rota. If you need information for next stays or if you need any other information about our region, let us know, we will help you.

Hoping to welcome you back soon,
Best regards,
Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

I came to Hotel Duque after spending several months in land-locked Madrid, so you can imagine my delight at seeing the ocean. I initially reserved a standard room, but was convinced by the very nice receptionist to upgrade to an ocean view. I am glad I did! I slept with the sliding doors open and was lulled to sleep by the waves. The hotel rooms are very big with a sitting area and a large bathroom. It might not be impressive coming from the States, but since I've been in Europe, I was thrilled by all the space. Every room has a balcony, so I made hot tea and sat on mine each morning reading the newspaper on my iPad. Free wifi throughout, btw!

The amenities are perfect for a boutique hotel. They have several "solarium" areas where you can take in the sun. The pool looked adorable, though too cold to swim during my visit. If you're a gym-rat, you will be disappointed by the three machines they have on the top floor. I was told they are upgrading their equipment. When it is upgraded, it'll be very nice because the space was peaceful with ocean views and there was a sauna. I only wished I had brought my running shoes for a jog on the beach. I also used the garage, which was a nice perk even at 9 Euros a night. Your room key gets you in/out and an elevator takes you straight to your floor; no need to scratch your head wondering how to get back into the hotel.

As others have commented, you cannot beat the location. The foot of the hotel is where the promenade begins so you can stroll on the sidewalk or walk on the sand. It's also near the castle and the famous O'Grady's bar, which has good burgers and great tunes. I'd also highly recommend the hotel restaurant -- delicious! Rota itself is a little run-down, but I thought it was charming enough. I was there to relax not sight-see.

The whole experience felt very private to me -- I came and went as I pleased. I did ask if it's always quiet. The receptionist said the hotel is booked solid starting in March. I think my experience would have been less relaxing had there been children screaming in the centrally-located pool. The only suggestions I'd have is better shower heads and a jacuzzi for adults. Otherwise, it was the perfect little hotel experience.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank SambaDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sophiedcvdk, Director General at Hotel Duque de Najera, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Client,

Thank you very much for your nice words about our Hotel. We are very glad that you had a nice time and that you enjoyed your stay.
We hope to welcome you back soon,

If we can help you with more information about Rota or for your next visit, let us know.

Best regards,

Sophie De Clerck
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rota
4.9 mi away
Elba Costa Ballena Beach Hotel
1.7 mi away
Hotel Playa de la Luz
5.9 mi away
Playaballena Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Caribe Rota
Hotel Caribe Rota
#10 of 10 in Rota
70 reviews
6.0 mi away
ALEGRIA Costa Ballena
7.8 mi away
Hotel Puertobahia & Spa
Hotel Puertobahia & Spa
#1 of 18 in El Puerto de Santa Maria
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Duque de Najera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Duque de Najera

Property: Hotel Duque de Najera
Address: Calle Gravina 2, 11520 Rota, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cadiz > Rota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Rota
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rota
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Rota
#6 Luxury Hotel in Rota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Duque de Najera 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Duque de Najera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duque De Najera Rota
Duque De Najera Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing