We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Pleased”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostal Macavi

Hostal Macavi
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostal Macavi
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Rota
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Pleased”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Although the room was small, it had all that we required. One of the cleanest rooms we've ever stayed in. Everyone was as helpful as can be despite the language barrier. Just steps from the beach, this is the first place we'll consider for future visits.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1979daytripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    12
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
20
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

The Hostal Macavi is an ideal place to stay in Rota, Spain on the Costa de la Luz. The Macavi is located 30 seconds from the Atlantic Ocean just one staircase from a marvelous beach which is well tended, has play equipment for children, and casual tented places to eat as well. The Macavi management is friendly and very helpful. Their rooms are spacious and include private bathrooms, television, air conditioning, and free Wi-Fi. In addition they also provide a lovely bar and a restaurant on their premises. Guests may opt for Media-pension which includes breakfast and dinner daily. The food is delicious. I highly recommend the Hostal Macavi!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PRichards_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

This 'lil hostel is so close the beach! First time visiting Rota and I found it very convienent that a lot of thigns were in walking distance. Never did I take a car. Just a few minutes to restuarant on the beach, and little conience store just a block away. The staff was awesome, we were traveling with a group of students from the US, they had breakfast and dinner for us every night. I can't wait to stay here again!

Room Tip: The double rooms with a balcony are nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scm0105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is sure a nice comfortable hostel, One of the best that I have been to. Was able to get a balcony room as a single person at a good price. This is at a beach side resort community, Bus Stop right around the corner. Spent three nights here, when I return to Rota, this is where I will stay!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elliott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

I found a discount for a double room (that can be used for one person) very cheap on the internet so I was extremely surprised when I came that the hotel was so great value, right at the beach with modern, clean, luminous all in white. It's probably the best in terms of comfort I have stayed in (excellent beds, beautiful and practical bathroom) and really what you hope for at the beach. It is not the type of traditional houses but after you stay for some time in those houses, it is great to have a break, better sleep quality, space and no noise in such a modern hotel.
Internet works well, reception is helpful and there was spaces on the street to park my car.

Room Tip: Book on internet as they have better discounts
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nadia z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocentaina, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2011

I just stayed in this hotel for three days. Very clean rooms, friendly staff. I would stay here again if I was in Rota. Excellent value for money, and you can walk to all the bars, and restaurants.

Room Tip: My room was on the street but it was out of season so very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2011

Great location. 60 ft from the beach. Outside rooms would be able to see the ocean. We had an inside room that overlooked small terrace. Nice and quiet. Beds very comfortable. Rooms and baths recently renovated (they are still working on some in the other half of hostal). Each room with AC/heater with fan. Included breakfast - toasted bread, OJ, coffee. Free on-street parking close by. We had no problems, although we were there in March, and in summer might be difficult in terms of parking. Close to town center.
Staff very helpful, but limited English spoken (not really bad- just a heads up). We were woken one morning to loud banging of the renovation, but that should be done soon.

Room Tip: outside rooms might be noisy in high season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cam5678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rota hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Playa de la Luz
0.6 mi away
Hotel Duque de Najera
4.4 mi away
Elba Costa Ballena Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hostal La Giralda
Hostal La Giralda
#7 of 9 in Rota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Caribe Rota
Hotel Caribe Rota
#8 of 9 in Rota
3.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
5.4 mi away
Playaballena Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Macavi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Macavi

Property: Hostal Macavi
Address: Calle Ecija 11, 11520 Rota, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cadiz > Rota
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Rota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Macavi 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hostal Macavi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing