We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy place”
Review of Sojka resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sojka resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Malatiny
Certificate of Excellence
Kosice
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Cosy place”
Reviewed February 16, 2012

If you plan to spend some time in "Liptov" region, you should consider this hotel. The village may be unknown, but there are many things you can do in close vicinity, both in winter and summer. The hotel is easily accessible from main west-east highway.
What I particulary liked was all the services in the hotel (we had a ski package with transfer to Jasna), the Restaurant is also nice with decent food, and overall the hotel has a very cosy feel about it.

Room Tip: I'd suggest to go for "superior" rooms. They are in a new part of the hotel and are ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Palino007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    50
    9
    2
    3
See reviews for
59
71
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Hotel Sojka is located in a small village Malatiny in the heart of Slovakia which is unlikely very difficult to reach without having a car. Since the village is not well connected with the towns and villages around, you cannot reach all places of interests you would like to visit. But if you like long-distance hiking, then there is no problem! Unlikely they don't offer any shuttle bus services but you can rent a bike. The hotel is built in old wooden style and I must tell it is very beautiful. Unlikely our room "Dumbier" didn't fit into the wooden style at all and it was also cold and humid. We could hear perfectly what our neighbours were speaking about in the room next to. Since our room was a corner room (2 windows) at the ground floor facing the main restaurant and reception, sometimes we were feeling like in Big Brother reality show - always watched. Our bed and mattress weren't straight so we were rolling on one site and generally it was very uncomfortable to sleep there. But don't worry, you can book massage there! The wellness spa is amazing, you can choose from many different saunas and tropical showers where to relax but unlikely it opens in the late afternoon only. The pool is open all day long and it is pleasantly warm. We have booked a 3-course dinner (you can choose is from 3 options 1 day in advance) but at the end we had a 4-course dinner for the same price plus a welcome drink. We loved their starters, soups as well as desserts, but the second plates were nothing special. The bottled Belgian beer costs there less than in Belgium! They also brew they own Sojka beer (blond and brune - both very good) and if you stay during weekdays, you will get 2 bottles as a present. They have also built cool wooden swing, slide and climbing frames for your children.

Room Tip: Not 1st and 2nd room on the right site of ground-floor corridor in the first building as everyone is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsLynna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 11, 2009

Just got back from two nights in Hotel Sojka and couldn't recommend it enough. We found the hotel via a review on here and had no real expectations other than it was near where we wanted to be in the Tatra mountains and would be a good base for a couple of days. We arrived after quite a long drive from Bratislava and despite our car fatigue were immediately impressed with the place. The staff were very friendly, the room was small but very cute and the hotel was lovely - picture perfect wooden buildings covered in snow. The best bit though was when we discovered that we were 'all inclusive'. We had thought the 49 euros per person was quite a lot for a small attic room but it all made sense when we found out that this price included a lovely buffet breakfast, lunch (or packed if you were out for the day), all drinks and a three course meal in the evening! Amazing and totally took the hassle out of staying up near the mountains. They also had a large selection of DVDs which you could watch in your room in the evenings which was a nice way to relax after a day sightseeing and a sauna which was all free. The owners, a Belgian guy and Slovakian woman, were very approachable and came and introduced themselves to us at dinner on our first night which we thought was a lovely personal touch. The hotel is indeed well placed for a lot of the main attractions in this region including the mountains and the thermal spas.
I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to others for a very personal stay in this beautiful region in Slovakia.

  • Liked — The personal touch
  • Disliked — That the wellness centre doesn't open until July 2009!
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Robabob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2006

We were looking forward to stay in Sojka as we are also married couple managing 4* hotel in Bratislava, so except from relaxing in neighboring valleys and attractions our second interest was to compare and see the way how Gerdi and Gabriela do it in their property.
We enjoyed our weekend stay very much! Hotel is very well reachable from the highway exit and also easy to find onwards.
Double-room that we stayed in was small but comfortable and clean. Room amenities include all that you need from a tree star hotel, from safe, TV, radio, shampoos to hairdryer, although we would recommend for a minibar upgrade as there was no fridge in the room and if you are thirsty or up to something small to eat, you have to go down to the restaurant.
Restaurant is very nicely decorated in traditional Slovak style, menu is neither large nor small and you can pretty much find all that you like together with local specialties. We recommend to try some wines from their wine list as they offer one of the best Slovak wines /will not name the brand/.
Breakfast is wide buffet and will suit everyone. Eggs are served upon order. We met the owners every morning in the restaurant and were kindly greeted before seated to the table.
Staff working in Sojka is very polite and helpful.
We loved our stay and will definitely come back again!
Gerdi, Gabriela - thank you for very pleasant weekend!

  • Liked — Home feeling
  • Tips/Secrets — Discounts for hotel guests to local water-park
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TNMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koszyce Male
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2006

First this is a nice, clean, family oriented hotel run by a friendly and helpful couple. The food is decent, but nothing special. The hotel website takes liberties with description of its amenities however. It states it is hidden in the village of Malatiny. Historically, there may have been a village there at one time, now there are at most two or three houses.
What it there is a pig or chicken farm that lets of a terrible foul oder in the evening as the air cools. The upstairs rooms are hot and you need to open the windows, but the smell is so bad you want to close them. The childrens playground is a sandbox and swing set, The pool is tiny and maybe three feet deep, and heated is an overstatement. They do have books, videos, etc available.
What really torqued me though was the way we treated our reservation. We booked the family room (two bedrooms and a sitting room.) Check in time was 2:00. We called to let them know we were on the road but running late and that we would definately be there by 7. (Our room was reserved with a credit card.) When we arrived they tried to give us two doubles saying that our family room was not availale. It took some intensive complaining - but suddenly, lo and behold, our family suite suddenly became available. No explanation or anything - we were just shown to the suite we had reserved.

  • Liked — clean rooms, nice owners
  • Disliked — pig farm neighbors
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mssheilaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malatiny
10.1 mi away
Hotel Liptovsky Dvor
Hotel Liptovsky Dvor
#1 of 5 in Liptovsky Jan
192 reviews
4.7 mi away
Chalupkovo
Chalupkovo
#1 of 4 in Ruzomberok
116 reviews
6.5 mi away
Holiday Village Tatralandia
Holiday Village Tatralandia
#2 of 5 in Liptovsky Mikulas
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Luka
Hotel Luka
#2 of 3 in Besenova
16 reviews
6.2 mi away
Wellness Hotel Chopok
Wellness Hotel Chopok
#2 of 14 in Demanovska Dolina
132 reviews
8.4 mi away
Fatrapark 2 Apartment House
Fatrapark 2 Apartment House
#2 of 4 in Ruzomberok
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sojka resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sojka resort

Property: Sojka resort
Address: Nizhne Malatiny 104, Malatiny 032 15, Slovakia
Location: Slovakia > Zilina Region > Malatiny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Malatiny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sojka resort 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is located in the middle of the Liptov region, hidden in the silence of the village of Malatiny. Sojka resort is not a kind of hotel, that you would expect. The buildings are built in a typical Slovakian style, surrounded by a pleasant garden. It is a place where you really come to rest, where you feel right away at home. Apart from perfect hotel services we offer you the best of the Slovakian cuisine, swimmingpool and wellness and a lot of tourist information and practical tips. Sojka resort also offers 11 wooden houses with three bedrooms, two bathrooms, fitted kitchen, dining and sitting room, balcony and terrace. In the houses, there is an outdoor pool (summer season) and children's playground. After your stay in Malatiny, you will know what Slovakia has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sojka resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing