We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, but underwhelming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Solar de Alqueva
Certificate of Excellence
Tavira, Portugal
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good, but underwhelming”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

We were slightly disappointed with the Solar de Alqueva; maybe the very positive comments by others had led us to have unreasonably high expectations. It was clean, bright, there was plenty of parking space, a swimming pool with seating around and our bedroom was of a decent size. Further, the staff that we met were friendly and welcoming. However, it was all, somehow, a little characterless. We used it for an overnight stop and had a good night’s sleep on comfortable beds. My wife appreciated a relative rarity, a dressing table which had both a decent mirror over it and an electrical socket nearby so that she could attend to her hair in comfort. The breakfast buffet could certainly be improved; it featured orange drink instead of juice, a limited range of bakery products and bland ham and cheese although cereal, yoghurt, a little fresh fruit and the usual hot drinks were also available. The Solar de Alqueva does the job and is fair value. We would certainly be prepared to stay there again but probably not for more than one night at a time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris-Tavira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    44
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
48
39
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lagos, Portugal
Level Contributor
83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Solar de Alqueva is a modern hotel with bright and spacious areas well decorated and comfortable. There is an upstairs lounge with a large colour tv and comfortable chairs and settees
The swimming pool was good with plenty of pool furniture available.
The air con was very efficient even coping with 43c when we were there.
Breakfast was excellent with the same friendly lady who was on reception when we arrived.
The hotel is very central within walking distance of the town centre.
Certainly great value for money.
Good friendly staff at a excellent hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estoril, Portugal
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

A modern hotel with great value for money, because the staff is extremely helpful and friendly, is located in the center of the town center and the rooms are very good and clean.

We arrived at the hotel with our 1 year old son, and on the check in the host asked if we needed anything for him, and offered a bottle warmer and a baby tub. The crib we found in the room was new and with a quality mattress and proper sheets.

All the hotel was already booked when we called, but we were allowed to stay on the room for disabled guests, which is very similar to the other rooms but larger and completely equipped for wheelchair access (check the pictures in the hotel website: http://www.solardealqueva.pt/en/handicap_room/).

The AC on the room is very quiet.

The staff was extremely helpful and kind, from check in to check out. On our last night, we slept in and only got out of the room by 11, but as the breakfast ends at 10, we went straight to the pool, and as we got there one of the staff members invited us to breakfast as she had kept the buffet open just for us.

The hotel has private parking inside and a swimming pool. The pool is small but clean and does not have a lot of space around it.

We definitely recommend this hotel if you are looking for a good deal in this region.

Room Tip: .The noisiest place in the morning is the breakfast room so you may want to ask for a room on the fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anafpborges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

This is an excellent hotel with clean, spacious rooms and very friendly service. Rates are very competitive. The buffet breakfast is much better than you would expect in Southern Europe. The only negative aspect is the CCTV in the breakfast room, as if they are trying to catch customers on preparing an illegal packed lunch.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

We were very impressed by the central atrium. Our room was huge, with valued ceiling, a small fridge, and modern bathroom. Breakfast selection was good, with everything nice and fresh. The staff were friendly and helpful. We could have stayed longer.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Setubal, Portugal
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

We accomodated our week-end trip with a part of business and a part of leisure, and the hotel suited just fine!
This is a new hotel, just over 1 year old. It used to be the old bakery/ bread factory that served the town and surrounding, now converted into hotel. Which means space!!
The rooms have a considerate size, the bed, comfy eneugh. Spare pillows and blanket, but unecessary, due to the a.c.

Furniture basic, toillet basic too, with toilleteries, towels changed everyday, and toilleteries added as well. The shower head is super potent, so beware!

Free wi-fi in the rooms, a good veriety on tv channels and pay per view sports channel on the common areas, for the sports fans!
Free parking within the property, but there is also plenty of space in the streets.

Great breakfast, suplied until 10am. On the busiest mornings, it's a bit confusing to have tables changed, but nothing else to remark! You get: coffee (expresso or americano), milk, tea, jiuce (not fruit juice...) yogurt; bread (dont skip on the Alentejo bread!!!!) , padinhas (local delicay, small and round sweet bread), croisants, cake, fruit, cold meats and cheese, butter, jam, marmelade... very nice!

we rcomend: when you leave the hotel, 50 meters on the right, go inside the bakery and get some padinhas and Reguengo's bread to take home! be sure to do it on the mornings from monday to saturday, or afternoons on week days.

Room Tip: Ask for your prefference when you book. We got a ground floor room, pool side view, but if we had as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlos_e_sofia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vila Nova de Milfontes
Level Contributor
97 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

My wife and I spent 4 nights at the "Solar" and ejoyed every minute. it is very modern and yey cosy and charming. The staff could not be more helpful, the rooms are spacious. The breakfast buffet provides more than enough tasty and fresh food. the region is spectaular and Reguengos is only a few miles away from outstanding Monsaraz. All good reasons to make this hotel your base for enjoying this beautiful "Lake District"!

Room Tip: All rooms are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caprontee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Reguengos de Monsaraz
8.2 mi away
Horta da Moura - Hotel Rural
8.7 mi away
Vila Planicie Hotel Rural
22.5 mi away
Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Hotel de Moura
Hotel de Moura
#1 of 2 in Moura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
22.5 mi away
Moov Hotel Evora
Moov Hotel Evora
#6 of 24 in Evora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
0.8 mi away
Outeiro do Barro
Outeiro do Barro
#1 of 5 in Reguengos de Monsaraz
5.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Solar de Alqueva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Solar de Alqueva

Property: Hotel Solar de Alqueva
Address: Rua Marcos do Campo 22-A, Reguengos de Monsaraz 7200-377, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Reguengos de Monsaraz
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Reguengos de Monsaraz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Solar de Alqueva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing