We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villa Le Barone
Nearby Hotels
$156
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Rosa di Boscorotondo(Panzano in Chianti)
$110
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Sangiovese(Panzano in Chianti)
$133
$129
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
albergo Casa al Sole(Greve in Chianti)(Great Value!)
$95
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa(Radda in Chianti)
$198
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Bordoni(Greve in Chianti)
$465
Villa Bordoni
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$133
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
GRANDETERRA(Greve in Chianti)
Reviews (507)
Filter reviews
507 results
Traveler rating
425
60
12
8
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
425
60
12
8
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonesty barhonor barmain buildingantipastiinfinity poolother guestseach eveningmagical placecooking classbeautiful groundschianti regionmanor housefood is excellentthe entire staffbreakfast and dinnerold worldrose garden
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
415 - 420 of 507 reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2006

The location is fantastic, the pool is lovely, the staff are extremely anxious to please.

However, some of the rooms are awaiting updating and the air conditioning in our room sounded like a bomb going off every two or three minutes. We switched it off at night so we could sleep which made our room very stuffy. The staff were extremely apologetic, but they do need to get on with the promised refurbishment.

Breakfast out on the terrace is a real pleasure, and the restaurant's antipasto is spectacular.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank janeyscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2006

We spent six night s in this old and beautifully kept residence. The grounds are immaculate and the staff accomodating and kind.
Our room (5 in the main house) was nicely appointed but had a small bathroom (shower only). We experienced problems with the air conditioner for four nights (It was around 100 degrees during the day and 80 at night ! - my advice - go to Italy in September !). Although several staff members came and looked at it, noone seemed able to solve the problem. Finally they offered us another room - which we accepted - for our last two nights. The room (17?) was larger and had a perfectly working air conditioner. We were much happier there. A very pretty pool and deck area although access to the pool is by a somewhat shaky metal ladder only. Still we enjoyed it. Breakfast was wonderful with homemade pastries and breads and all manner of other breakfast foods - lovely ! The promised wireless internet never worked while we were there but there is a very nice hot spot and interent cafe in Panzano at the Pizza place (on SR222). Overall, a bit pricey but a really nice, civilized place to relax after a day of broiling, sweaty touristing.
PS... Great food and views at the little Oltre il Giardino in Panzano.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank CarmelaFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
orsay /FRANCE
16
Reviewed June 23, 2006

My wife and I had a fabulous stay in may in la Villa Baronne in Panzano in the middle of the Chianti.
Tle location is gorgeous, the views from the room (we had the room 17)and the swimming pools are very nice.
the countryside is peaceful,.perfect place for walking and visiting the wineyards and to be reenergized.
the food is excellent- every evening the diner menu is different- tuscany traditionnal -
the meat comes from the family owned farm ;
Service and housekeeping were perfect.
You feel at home.
This is definitively a recommendated place to stay for discovering Toscana and chianti.

In addition Panzano is a small town at walking distance from the hotel between Sienna and Firenze.. and there is something that we enjoyed..After one day visiting the beautul toscana cities.. It was so nice and relaxing to be back Home at la Villla le barone;

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2006

My husband and I stayed at Villa Le Barone for three nights at the end of April. We had an incredible stay and truly enjoyed soaking up the Tuscan life. Everyone at the Villa was extremely helpful and friendly and the food was delicious. We loved the breakfasts with the homemade breads, jams, and yogurt and the light lunch and dinner were superb as well. We did not do half board in order to be able to explore local restaurants on our own, but we enjoyed the one dinner we did have in the restaurant. The antipasto buffet was to-die-for.

We stayed in one of the smaller rooms in the main villa and we loved it. It was clean and comfortable and had a nice view of Panzano from the windows. The grounds of the hotel are immaculately kept and we enjoyed taking walks and hikes around the area. A few other things we enjoyed were the winery tour at Castellina de Veranzanno that the hotel set up for us, going to the market in Greve on Sunday, taking a hike to the Cennatoio vineyard, and taking long drives through the country. Our favorite town was Castellina.

The hotel is a bit pricey, but it is definitely worth it if you want to relax in a gorgeous part of Chianti.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kbowden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2006

We spent three nights here in May and were impressed with the setting and service. Arriving early around midday, our rooms were not quite ready, but we were made to feel welcome and offered a light lunch on the terrace while we waited. The food was soon served, together with a glass or two of Chianti Classico and we settled into the quiet, laid back atmosphere of the Villa.

Our room was not in the main villa, but in one of the many small adjoining rustic buildings. The room and bathroom were clean and spacious, (though some rooms were somewhat smaller) We had a small patio in front of the room surrounded by beautiful roses and colourful flowers.

Breakfast was served on the terrace, though there was a small breakfast room in the villa if required. Dinner was excellent and good value as part of the half board package. Excellent wine list with many local vineyards included. Nice pool area and good tennis court.

The Villa is not a budget destination, but the setting, service, food and staff make it good value for the money. Our only criticism is that it may be a little too quiet for some.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Macchiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews