We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A diamond in Panzano, heart of Chianti Country.”
Review of Villa Le Barone

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Le Barone
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 26, 2012

In October of 2011 we used Villa le Barone as our home base and did day driving trips to all the towns in Tuscany each day. We were there a week.
The staff was great and the food excellent.
The Count and Countess were in residence while we were there. They were so charming and friendly.
We booked one of the historic rooms in the main building. Great views and history.
Great old building with ivy growing all over.
You could walk around the countryside.
You could visit the famous butcher in Panzano and have a great feast.
It was like being in someones home.
What a Tuscan experience.

Room Tip: The historic rooms are wonderful.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Choogee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAloisideLarderel, Owner at Villa Le Barone, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Dear Choogee,
Tank you very much for your very nice comments. We are very glad you felt at home in Villa le Barone and could enjoy visiting Tuscany from this convenient “home base” which is close to most of the interesting Tuscan cities. In a week you could not discover everything and we look forward to having you again soon with us .

Sincerely,
Corso Aloisi de Larderel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (494)
There are newer reviews for Villa Le Barone
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

267 - 273 of 494 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2012

The Villa Le Barone is a wonderful place to stay during your visit to Chianti. The Villa is absolutely stunning! The setting & the scenery is beautiful. The grounds are so beautiful & charming. We were here on our honeymoon and we loved everything about our stay. The room was very charming & comfortable. The staff was very nice and accommodating. The dinner at the restaurant was delicious every evening. 6 nights of 4 course dinners with wine can be a little much! But it was included in our rate so we could not resist trying every course! The breakfast was also good, but I was trying to eat healthy for at least my first meal of the day and it was more of the european breakfast of cheese and meats and pastries. They offered yogurt and cereal too so there were options but I am more an eggs in the morning person so I ate hard boiled eggs everyday. The location of the villa was fantastic and since we had rented a car we were able to explore the chianti region very easily from panzano. We had a car with gps so it was very easy to get around. I would not recommend staying here without a car because I thought that was the best part - being able to explore the area on your own and pull into the tons of wineries, restaurants, villages, etc. It would be difficult and possibly dangerous to try and walk anywhere (since the roads and narrow and curvy and italians drive a little crazy!). But I would recommend getting a smaller car just cause roads & parking are more narrow than in the states. The parking spots at Villa Le Barone are very narrow, we actually put a small dent in our car from the poles separating the spots in the car port (make sure the credit card you charge your rental to has a loss damage waiver - or make sure to get the extra coverage - just a suggestion - learn from our mistake!) We had a mid size car but probably should have gone for the smaller one. We didnt know! There is a self service bar at the villa where you just write down what you have had (honor system). It was very cute. They pool area was also really nice with a cute snack room (also honor system) - seriously we could have spent weeks more here just exploring Italy and enjoying the Villa! We had a cooking class with Fernanda (one of the 2 chefs) and although he did not speak english (and we don't speak italian) it was a really fun time! I would definitely recommend staying at the Villa Le Barone!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 26 which was really nice, the views from our window was fantastic!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank faithdownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAloisideLarderel, Owner at Villa Le Barone, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Dear Faithdownunder ,

Thank you very much for your clear points and your sound advice to future travellers to Villa le Barone: yes, you need to have/rent a car ro explore the many sights, villages and wineries around Villa le Barone. Cars – like luggage – are getting larger and larger every year which makes you spend more for gas and makes it unpractical to drive on narrow, curvy roads and find adequate parking space. I hope you asked for the sightseeing itineraries my wife and I have prepared; they are available for everyone and allow you to discover Tuscany off the beaten track. We hope to see you back in Le Barone to celebrate your anniversary!

Sincerely,
Corso Aloisi de Larderel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We recently vacationed in Italy, sampling Rome, the Sorrento area/Amalfi coast and Tuscany, where we were fortunate to spend 5 days at the Villa Le Barone.
The Villa is situated in a delighful setting with views of the Tuscan Hills, the church towers in Panzano and a large villa perched on a distant hill. Our arrival was greeted with a hospitable welcome and a tour of the facilities. The Villa's buildings encased in vines provided a fitting stage for large expansive gardens with olive and fruit trees, a beckoning swimming pool with plush towels allocated to each guest daily, a number of honour system bars, including one near pool-side, amply supplied with reasonably priced offerings. We opted for the Villa's daily dinner plan, a great decision, as it allowed us to return hassle-free to wonderfully prepared Tuscan fare every evening after a busy day of touring. The breakfast table was a delight as well... fresh fruits, vegatables, meats, eggs and a wonderful variety of breads. An outdoor dining area gave you the option to breakfast under the rising Tuscan sun, with an astounding view to boot. The staff was exceedling competitent and helpful. There is no doubt where we will be staying on our next visit to Tuscany.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAloisideLarderel, Owner at Villa Le Barone, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear Thomas G.,
many thanks for having chosen Villa le Barone to spend the Tuscan part of your holidays; we are very happy we contributed to a nice holiday. As you rightly mention, at Villa le Barone we offer our Guests the possibility to have diinner and choosing this half board option is, on our opinion, wise for three reasons:
1- the difference in price between Half board and B&B is only 29€ (38$) per person (without wine) which is a very acceptable price for a four dinner course (large antipasto buffet, three choices of first, three choices of second, cheese buffet, choice of deserts).
2- the quality of the food is excellent (fresh products, meat and olive oil our own production) and cooked with chosen Tuscan recipes by our Tuscan cooks.
3- staying in Chianti and having a nice dinner will make you choose a nice bottle of Chianti wine to go with it and - a few glasses being incompatibl with safe night driving on windy roads- it's better to be a short walk away from one of our sitting rooms or your bedroom rather than having to drive back!
Having said that, we are not jealous at Villa le Barone and have always a restaurant suggestion for Guests who like to go outside for evening dinner.
We very much look forward to seeing you again soon at Villa le Barone,
Corso Aloisi de Larderel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We recently stayed at Villa le Barone for the second time, this time with some friends we were traveling with. It is a beautiful, peaceful and private place to stay. You feel like you are in a different world, from the manicured gardens, to the breathtaking views out over the countryside, to the beautiful stone buildings and interiors. Our rooms were charming and very clean and we enjoyed walking on the manicured grounds and taking pictures of the gardens and magnificent Tuscan scenery. We ate breakfast and dinner under the stars on a patio, and the food was delicious. The owner, Corso, makes you feel like you are a guest in his own home. He eats along with his guests, and walks around greeting old guests and meeting new ones. On our first night there, he found us relaxing after dinner in a lovely bar area, and after serving us complimentary glasses of wine, he sat and talked with us for nearly an hour. The villa is conveniently located in Tuscany, and after a day of sightseeing, it was wonderful to come back to a fabulous dinner and the peace and quiet of Villa le Barone. Thank you Corso and Jacqueline, for another wonderful visit, and we will look forward to coming again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank becky9837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAloisideLarderel, Owner at Villa Le Barone, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Dear Becky9837,
thank you very much for your high marks and, especially, for your comments. When Jacqueline and I are told that "we feel like being at someone's home" we believe we have achieved what we wanted: not being a hotel, but simply opening up our house to friends! In fact, my wife and I live in and love Le Barone and our greatest pleasure is to share what we have and feel with our Guests and Friends. Sharing our life in Le Barone with our Guests, Jacqueline and I see the good ... and the less good(why is this air conditionner noisy, there are weeds in that flower bed, at dinner tonight peposo was not as tasty as usual, has this Guest been offered to have lunch on the terrace?, ... which allows us to take good care of our Visitors. Having said that, we are far from perfect and try to improve- with the help of our faithful staff- year after year. Come back soon to Villa le Barone, Corso and Jacqueline Aloisi de Larderel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Villa Le Barone is my favorite place to stay in my favorite counrty to visit. I can't say enough about it. The food, the atmosphere, location, rooms, and staff, all excellent. this last rrip was our second stay and we will be planning to go back ASAP!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAloisideLarderel, Owner at Villa Le Barone, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2012

Dear j b,
thank you for your high marks on your stay with us. My wife and I hope you will be returning quite often to Villa le Barone. 50% of our Guests keep returning here, some twice a year, many every year and then there are those that we keep seeing again and again every two or three years or at longer periods. Sometimes I feel that my wife and I are are just the keepers of Villa le Barone and that some of our Guests are the real owners who return once in a while to enjoy a week of holidays and check if we are doing a good job! This is a great satisfaction to us. Thank you, Corso Aloisi de Larderel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

The Villa le Barone is a Tuscan paradise. The grounds are beautiful, the accomodations comfortable with old world elegance plus modern conveniences, the food is over the top fabulous, and the ENTIRE staff is excellent. Our hosts, Corso and Jacqueline (Count and Countess and owners of the villa)are delightful and welcoming.
We recently stayed for 5 wonderful nights and I hope one day to return. One of the highlights was a cooking class with Fernanda with Corso as interpreter. It was fun and informative. Our "cooking" was served to us for lunch. Can't wait to try the tiramisu' recipe at home. Our group agreed it was the best we ever tasted. We rented a car in Florence and spent each day seeing different sights and towns. It was amazing. For us it was the trip of a lifetime and the beautiful and relaxing atmosphere of the villa was a perfect spot to return to at the end of each day of exploring. DO NOT MISS this one!!!!

Room Tip: I would request a room with a shower/tub combo.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mkh899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAloisideLarderel, Owner at Villa Le Barone, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2012

Dear mkh899, thank you very much for your compliments on Villa le Barone and your high marks. Most important to us is that you enjoyed your holidays and took pleasure in visiting Chianti and Tuscany. Thank you for your comments on Villa le Barone's staff: we are very lucky to have continuity with our team, with some of them working at Le Barone since our opening 35 years ago; even the younger ones like what they are doing ... and this makes the difference. My wife and I hope to see you back soon with us, Corso Aloisi de Larderel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

If you plan to tour Tuscany, this is the place you want to be and use as your home base. We had a party of 6 people and our stay at the Villa was amazing. The staff was accommodating and helpful as we planned our daily adventures. We spent 5 nights there and our highlight of the trip was the cooking class with Fernanda. Their tiramisu (dessert) is the best you will ever eat. and we had the opportunity to make it as part of our meal. This has to be one of the most beautiful places you will ever see and our entire group is ready to return. Don't miss this opportunity!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tire40424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAloisideLarderel, Owner at Villa Le Barone, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2012

Dear Tire40424,
we are very happy that all your team from Louisiana enjoyed their stay at Villa le Barone. I am also glad that the cooking session was pleasant: the secret of good cooking at Le Barone is that all ingredients are top quality, meaning fresh, local and in season. We hope to see you again in Chianti, Corso Aloisi de Larderel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Panzano in Chianti
3.8 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
571 reviews
7.5 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
691 reviews
5.4 mi away
Castello Vicchiomaggio
Castello Vicchiomaggio
#3 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Relais Fattoria Valle in Panzano
Relais Fattoria Valle in Panzano
#2 of 5 in Panzano in Chianti
132 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
545 reviews
4.5 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Le Barone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Le Barone

Address: Via San Leolino 19, 50022 Panzano in Chianti, Greve in Chianti, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Greve in Chianti > Panzano in Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Panzano in Chianti
Price Range: $234 - $376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Le Barone 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amongst the timeless landscape of Chianti, in a protected environment, Villa Le Barone has been in the famous Della Robbia family since the 16th century. The old manor house has been renovated becoming an inviting and intimate home, maintaining the character of a private house with its cheerful bedrooms and sitting rooms, furniture, paintings, books and romantic objects of the family past. The heated infinity swimming pool filled with salt water, tennis court, fitness center,fitness trail and terraces are set amongst large rose gardens, with views on the surrounding countryside, olive groves and the vineyards of Chianti Classico. The restaurant serves typical Tuscan food and famous local Chianti wines. Villa Le Barone is ideal for those who love peace and relaxation as well as sight seeing in the Chianti region. Free parking lot, in-room Internet access, Wi-Fi, Fitness Center, Fitness Trail, bicycles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Le Barone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Le Barone Hotel Panzano
Hotel Le Barone
Le Barone Hotel
Villa Le Barone Panzano In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing