We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Immerse yourself in the countryside of Chianti at this georgous villa”
Review of Villa Le Barone

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Le Barone
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 15, 2011

This is the second time we have stayed at Villa Le Barone and can't wait to return. We brought our daughter on a trip to Italy as her graduation gift from university and she fell in love with this villa, just as we have. It's such a charming place and the owners are so gracious that you feel as though it is your own home. The rooms are all different and lovely and the restaurant is wonderful. The breakfast table is laden with wonderful breads, cheeses, fruits and freshly baked croissant every morning and the dinner hour brings scrumptous goodness from the kitchen. The antipasto table is huge and you can make a meal from that alone, but then there are three more courses after that! Food is regional and wonderful. There is a lovely pool, tennis courts and gardens. And you can take a nice walking into the little village of Panzano which is a delight. This is a perfect place to stay when visiting other towns and a great place to be. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1lilcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (501)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

331 - 337 of 501 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2011

Referred to Villa le Barone by friends, we had the most spectacular stay in every way during our four nights there.

Some highlights:
- Location, views and amenities are perfect ... from the pool to the various places to relax, read a book or the paper, etc.
- The owners are incredibly kind, warm and hospitable - as are the entire staff.
- The room was the single most quiet - as in good for sleeping - room I've ever stayed in (and I travel a lot).
- The food (both breakfast and dinner) was excellent. One of the dinners was the highlight of our two week stay in Italy - that's saying a lot. We planned to have dinner on-site for the first night only ... then ended up eating there all four nights. (You can trust their wine suggestions too!)
- Set your tour book aside when you check in: the owners and staff helped us prepare a personal itinerary each day which included lots of stops off the beaten path. (The owner even wrote out detailed driving instructions for us.) The room also comes with a folder full of detailed itineraries and routes.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EagleBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

We spent a few wonderful days at the Villa Le Barone. The Villa and the surrounding grounds are charming and beautiful. The Villa is an ancestral home and the feeling of family and history are everywhere. The service was outstanding. We really enjoyed eating breakfast on the terrace overlooking the vineyards. We ate dinner at the Villa and enjoyed it very much. The location is good as it is central to many of the other things that we wanted to do in this region.

My only complaint is that we had a room in the front of the Villa just a above the reception area and, it could be loud at night as other guest talked late into the night sitting right outside our room. Also, I was surprised that there were so many children at this caliber of hotel. Lastly, in our room you had to walk up several steps to get to the bathroom and this wasn't easy to use late at night.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoyRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAloisideLarderel, Owner at Villa Le Barone, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2011

Dear Ilisa R, many thanks for your kind review on Villa Le Barone and for having chosen us. We are very happy you enjoyed the setting with the views on our beautiful Chianti hills, that you liked our breakfasta and dinners on the terrace and that you were happy with our service. Sorry that you were incommodated by the conversations other Guests had in the evening on the terrace in front of the Villa and under your first floor room ... on midsummer evenings, Guests tend to enjoy the quiet and cool of the garden for a little while before turning in for the night. Next time, please phone Reception so that we can ask them to seat thmselves at at table farther away fron the room, it's an easy thing to do and people understand. As for children, July and August are months when families travel and as long as children are well behaved we are happy to have them ... up to an acceptable level. We look forward to having you again at Villa Ler Barone and to choose with you a room that fits your desires. Thank you again, Corso Aloisi de Larderel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

My husband and I spent 3 nights at Villa Le Barone. Our room was luxurious and comfortable. The property is set in a beautiful area surrounded by vineyards. The staff was extremely helpful and accommodating, and helped us plan what to do each day. It is a great place to relax and enjoy the amazing scenery in Chianti. We really loved everything about it! I will definitely recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brooke C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAloisideLarderel, Owner at Villa Le Barone, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2011

Dear Way2travel22,

many thanks for your very nice review; we are very happy you had a good stay with us. For those who read this review I would like to say that at Villa Le Barone we put a folder in each room with rides, hikes, excursions instructions for you to better discover our wonderful Tuscan territory. We can also advise you on restaurants during your visits, museums, ... Dear Way2travel22 we hope to see you soon back in Tuscany. Corso Aloisi de Larderel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed at Villa Le Barone for four days at the beginning of our honeymoon and it really was the perfect place to start.
Stunning building, beautiful grounds and a really lovely welcome from the staff in reception. There were vases of fresh roses everywhere which smelt beautiful, and we were treated to a lovely bottle of Prosecco on arrival as we'd let them know that we were on our honeymoon.
When booking it months before, I'd emailed directly and the staff had been really helpful in recommending our room for us.
Our room - the garden room - was secluded and rustic. Very clean, although a little dark, but when you flung open the french windows you were treated to a gorgeous view over the garden and to the nearby church tower.
The pool area was clean and quiet with plenty of fresh towels, sun loungers and seating available if you wanted to stay there. We spent a lovely afternoon relaxing in the sunshine.
The restaurant was fabulous. Amazing staff, stunning menu and food, and really lovely wine choices. It was warm enough to sit out on the terrace, although a couple of evenings were cooler so it's worth taking a cardigan/wrap/light jacket.
You really do need a car if you're staying here. We went out each day and saw some amazing Tuscan scenery, but it was lovely to drive up the gravel driveway of Villa Le Barone each evening.
A truly Italian hotel in a really beautiful part of Italy. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OwlyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAloisideLarderel, Owner at Villa Le Barone, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2011

Dear OwlyB. We are very happy that your honeymoon at Villa Le Barone was pleasant. We try hard and are happy when we succeed. Yes, at Villa Le Barone we always put freshly cut flowers in the rooms; Mira takes good care of making the flowers bouquets; most of the time flowers come from the rose garden or from the garden that my wife and I tend to ... we are sometimes unhappy when heat and drought roast our garden flowers and we have to replace our local supply of flowers with purchased ones. Thank you for your comments, not forgetting the flowers and come back to Le Barone for an anniversary!, Corso Aloisi de Larderel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Villa le Barone is an oasis of charm in a stunning Tuscan landscape. The food and wines are superb, while the gardens and facilities provide for a wonderfully relaxing experience. Above all, the staff are most welcoming, helpful, unobtrusive - they made our stay that extra bit special.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnMScotlandUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

From the setting in the Tuscan hills to the gracious owners, individually decorated rooms, multi-course breakfast and gourmet dinners, Villa le Barone was remarkable. We were there for my birthday and when the staff discovered that, I was presented with a candle lit torte. No singing wait staff in funny hats, ala Red Robin and various other American chain restaurants, thank heavens!

Room Tip: Ask lots of questions about the rooms because each one is different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindahagenmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAloisideLarderel, Owner at Villa Le Barone, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2011

Dear lindahagenmiller,

thank you very much for your nice comments on Villa Le Barone. Fernanda, Edi and the kitchen staff say thank you for your appreciation on gourmet dinners. For those who read: at Villa Le Barone, food is not made with fancy recipes, just local Tuscan tasty dishes made with locally sourced fresh products. Olive oil comes from Le Barone's olive trees and meat comes from our own free range farm in the Maremma. Freshness and of our course our cooks make for tasty dinners. Next time, take a cooking lesson from Fernanda ... fun guaranteed! All the best, Corso Aloisi de Larderel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Panzano in Chianti
3.8 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
584 reviews
5.4 mi away
Castello Vicchiomaggio
Castello Vicchiomaggio
#3 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
458 reviews
1.0 mi away
Relais Fattoria Valle in Panzano
Relais Fattoria Valle in Panzano
#2 of 5 in Panzano in Chianti
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
706 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
560 reviews
6.9 mi away
Locanda Le Piazze
Locanda Le Piazze
#1 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Le Barone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Le Barone

Address: Via San Leolino 19, 50022 Panzano in Chianti, Greve in Chianti, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Greve in Chianti > Panzano in Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Panzano in Chianti
Price Range: $228 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Le Barone 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amongst the timeless landscape of Chianti, in a protected environment, Villa Le Barone has been in the famous Della Robbia family since the 16th century. The old manor house has been renovated becoming an inviting and intimate home, maintaining the character of a private house with its cheerful bedrooms and sitting rooms, furniture, paintings, books and romantic objects of the family past. The heated infinity swimming pool filled with salt water, tennis court, fitness center,fitness trail and terraces are set amongst large rose gardens, with views on the surrounding countryside, olive groves and the vineyards of Chianti Classico. The restaurant serves typical Tuscan food and famous local Chianti wines. Villa Le Barone is ideal for those who love peace and relaxation as well as sight seeing in the Chianti region. Free parking lot, in-room Internet access, Wi-Fi, Fitness Center, Fitness Trail, bicycles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Le Barone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Le Barone Hotel Panzano
Hotel Le Barone
Le Barone Hotel
Villa Le Barone Panzano In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing