We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Villa Le Barone

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Le Barone
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 30, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights at the Villa Le Barone, and on our trip where we were walking through Chainti from Sienna to Florence in grerat 4 Star Hotels thoughout, this was the best of all. It has a wonderful swimming pool and garden area overlooking the fantastic Tuscan countryside and a 12th Century Churcj close by. An Idyllic view. We spend a day and 1/2 just relaxing after 3 days of strenous walking. We had a lovely room , 28 , no frills but very nice with a small area outside to sit and relax. The stay included Dinner B&B and the food was brilliant, local Tuscan cooking and great Wines from the region, We enjoed the Red from Villa Carfaggio.
The staff were very friendly and helpful it it was another characterful building and grounds with many places you could explore and find a nice place to sit and relax. It is a bit too far out of Panzano for an easy walk in for Dinner if you did noteat at the Hotel but I would advise you to sta and enjoy.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlueBed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAloisideLarderel, Owner at Villa Le Barone, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2011

Dear BlueBed,

many thanks for your kind review on Villa Le Barone. My wife and I are glad you enjoyed your walk through the hills of Chianti and came to rest a bit with us. I noticed that without anybody's help you got to know the Cafaggio Chianti classico wine, good choice ... but there are plenty more you would want to taste: Fontodi, Molino di Grace, Fonterutoli, ... so you need to come back to try them together with some tasty Tuscan dish. By the way, rooms at Villa Le Barone have different sizes, amenities, views ... and prices so please write us beforehand if you want a fancier one (if availability allows it, we'll upgrade you with pleasure).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (506)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

351 - 357 of 506 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2011

This place is truly a gem! The setting is peaceful and comfortable and everything I imagined the Italian countryside to be. We had 2 delicious breakfasts and one extraordinary dinner here. The staff accomodated our group of 20 very well. We stayed at 5-star resorts in Milan and Florence, but the Villa Le Barone surpassed them in charm. It was my absolute favorite!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank endodiva1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAloisideLarderel, Proprietario at Villa Le Barone, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2011

Dear Endodiva1, my wife and I are very happy about your very nice comment on your stay at Villa Le Barone and warmly thank you for it. Even though you say we are extraordinary there is still progress to do and we are going for it! We are only sorry you did not stay a bit longer: our Guests who most enjoy Villa Le Barone are the ones that stay for a period of 4-5 days to get into the ambiance of this old Villa. We look very much forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2011

The Villa Le Barone has everything going for it. The rooms are spacious and well appointed, the staff are friendly, the food is truly amazing and the setting is superb. 4 of us stayed for 7 nights in the main villa in rooms 2 and 3. We used it as a base for exploring the rest of Tuscany: we went to Florence, Siena, Lucca, San Gimiango and other nearby places. One day we hiked to Greve using the walking guides in the room and that was a fabulous day, allowing us to get off the beaten track and see places tourists don't normally see. However the highlight of the trip was the cooking class that we had with the Michelangelo of the Cucina: Fernanda. Although she spoke little English - about as much Italian as we spoke - it was a magical afternoon with lots of laughs, great gesturing, fantastic food and dare I say it, some fabulous Chianti. To all the staff, especially Julia in the dining room and Fernanda in the kitchen, to Corso and Jacqueline, Barbara at the front desk and the lovely lady who came and picked us up when the bus didn't come - thank you for making our visit so special. I will absolutely return and I know that I will be welcomed warmly. It will feel like I am going home.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissMNorthQueensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAloisideLarderel, Proprietario at Villa Le Barone, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2011

Dear MissMNorthQueensland,
at Villa Le Barone we are all very happy about the nice words you wrote on us; but we are even happier to have contributed a little to making your Tuscan holiday a successful experience. Having enthusiastic Guests enjoying a human contact with Fernanda our cook, taking pleasure out of the panorama from a hike to Greve, eating with delight a Tuscan meal repays us for the efforts we are making as a team to improve our hospitality. Yes, you are right, you have ceased to be a welcome Guest to become an additional friend always warmly greeted in Villa Le Barone!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2011

Authenticity, family pride, graciousness, scenic beauty, tranquility, and artistry—Villa le Barone is the sum of all these things. It has been in the same family for hundreds of years and the owners' genuine passion for the estate, the region, and local culture is evident from the moment you pass through the gate. We were lucky enough to be there in the deep off- season and be the only guests. What bliss! Church bells chiming the hour, owls calling at night, and very little other sound. The rooms are filled with art and fresh flowers. Every detail is thoughtful and the owners truly make you feel like a treasured guest. The restaurant was not open when we were there, but a tasty breakfast was provided. We found several good restaurants in the area. Follow the well researched itineraries provided. They will take you on some of the roads less traveled and never disappoint.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcmride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAloisideLarderel, Proprietario at Villa Le Barone, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2011

Dear Mcmride,
many thanks for your very nice and well pointed comments on Villa Le Barone. Thank you for telling that you have read the suggested itineraries we have made for our Guests to discover little known places in Chianti. My wife and I are very happy you had a good time in Tuscany and with us. There is one last thing you need to discover: the taste of the food we serve at our restaurant ... local recipes, locally sourced products, in season, cooked on the spot; for this we hope to see you soon back with us where you will be greeted as an old friend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2011

This was a nostalgic return to a hotel visited several times ten to twenty years ago and it was great to find the much-loved essentials unchanged, while many subtle improvements had nonetheless been made. We used to stay in the Tower Room with its spectacular views but this time opted for a delightful room in the Fattoria. We ahs always thought of it as a base to visit Siena, San Gimignano, etc but this time appreciated the greater emphasis that the current management have placed on local activities such a supebrb walk (there are several) through the vines and olive groves. We liked all sorts of welcoming touches, the homegrown flowers in all the rooms, the "honesty bar". The food is excellent and very good value half board (dinner of well-stocked buffet of antipasti, choice of 3 primi, choice of 3 secondi, then cheese and/or choice of desserts). Only reservation: the fact that the restaurant service was less professional than the cooking, with lengthy waits looking at dirty plates thanks, it seemed, to understaffing.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patrickm123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAloisideLarderel, Owner at Villa Le Barone, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2011

Dear Patrickm123,

many thanks for your review on Villa Le Barone. Many of our Guests have a love story with Villa Le Barone and you are no exception, returning after 10 years! My wife and I are very happy for your comments on two counts: that you found that nothing in the magic atmosphere has changed over time but that nonetheless you noticed the subtle improvements made. Yes, the quality of the food is quite good for several reasons: locally sourced, in season, fresh and for many dishes ... cooked on the spot. Problem is that cooking on order requires some time and we are very sorry you had to wait between two courses As you say we provide a "well stocked antipasto" to give us some time to cook while you are enjoying it. Another reason for small delays in serving is that many Guests that have chosen the B&B option often, on short notice, decide to take advantage of the good value dinner served at Le Barone and exceed our planned capacity. But these are no excuses and we gladly take your point as an improvement challenge! We sincerely hope not to have to wait for ten years your return to Villa Le Barone where you will always be welcome! Sincerely, Corso Aloisi de Larderel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2011

Villa le Barone is the most picturesque place I’ve ever seen – very quiet, beautiful views of the rolling hills and vineyards of Tuscany. We stayed in the barn accommodation which was very nice. I think we took about 20 pictures of the view from our window!

We stayed here when the Villa was “closed” for part of our Italian honeymoon. We had a wonderful time and wished we could have extended our stay! The owners were very nice – they recommended a great restaurant in the evening, and provided a personal breakfast buffet for us even though we were the only ones staying there! We also used the tennis courts – although it was distracting to play with such wonderful scenery to look at! We will definitely make plans to come back and spend more time at Villa le Barone someday.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Its_Adventure_Time
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAloisideLarderel, Owner at Villa Le Barone, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2011

Dear Its_Adventure_time,
our staff and I would like to thank you very much for your kind review. We try our best to make our Guests (many of them become friends!) satisfied with their stay with us. Since the moment you came we have installed a fitness trail on the property which allows one to exercise ... if not distracted by the beautiful surrounding scenery! My wife and I wish you much happiness and hope to see you back for a romantic stay in Le Barone on your anniversary. Corso and Jacqueline Aloisi de Larderel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2011

I first stayed at Villa Le Barone when I was on a cycling tour of Tuscany in 2009. I enjoyed the one night that I spent there so much that my partner and I decided to go back for a week in 2010.

On both trips we stayed in the cottage/barn style accommodation and absolutely loved it. These rooms are on the ground level away from the main villa and provide views of the vineyards and surrounding hills. The rooms were comfortable, well decorated and clean.

Villa Le Barone is in a great location and by car or the local bus you can travel easily to surrounding towns. Villa Le Barone has also put together a list of walks or drives that can be done in the surrounding area. We followed one of the walking maps through the countryside and had an absolutely amazing day exploring.

The atmosphere and staff at Villa Le Barone are amazing! The whole time that we were there they made us feel welcome and at home. If there was anything at all that we needed they would go out of their way to get it.

The food and wine at Villa Le Barone are to die for!! The breakfast & dinners were fantastic. The food was always delicious and fresh.

I had such a great time on both occasions I stayed at Villa Le Barone that I plan to go back again and recommend it to people that I know.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MissMildenhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAloisideLarderel, Owner at Villa Le Barone, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2011

Dear MissMildenhall, many thanks for your kind review. At Villa Le Barone we are more a Tuscan house open to friends than a hotel and my wife and I are always very happy to meet our visitors, make them feel at home and help them discover our bautiful region. Our food is good because it is prepared by Fernanda and Edi, two Tuscan housewives turned cooks using only local grown in season fresh food (by the way, olive oil and beef from our farm so we are 100% sure of the quality) and we are very happy you menjoyed it. We look very much forward to greeting you again in Panzano! Corso and Jacqueline Aloisi de Larderel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Panzano in Chianti
3.8 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
588 reviews
7.5 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
708 reviews
6.9 mi away
Locanda Le Piazze
Locanda Le Piazze
#1 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Castello Vicchiomaggio
Castello Vicchiomaggio
#3 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
460 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
562 reviews
1 mi away
Relais Fattoria Valle in Panzano
Relais Fattoria Valle in Panzano
#2 of 5 in Panzano in Chianti
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Le Barone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Le Barone

Address: Via San Leolino 19, 50022 Panzano in Chianti, Greve in Chianti, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Greve in Chianti > Panzano in Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Panzano in Chianti
Price Range: $244 - $359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Le Barone 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amongst the timeless landscape of Chianti, in a protected environment, Villa Le Barone has been in the famous Della Robbia family since the 16th century. The old manor house has been renovated becoming an inviting and intimate home, maintaining the character of a private house with its cheerful bedrooms and sitting rooms, furniture, paintings, books and romantic objects of the family past. The heated infinity swimming pool filled with salt water, tennis court, fitness center,fitness trail and terraces are set amongst large rose gardens, with views on the surrounding countryside, olive groves and the vineyards of Chianti Classico. The restaurant serves typical Tuscan food and famous local Chianti wines. Villa Le Barone is ideal for those who love peace and relaxation as well as sight seeing in the Chianti region. Free parking lot, in-room Internet access, Wi-Fi, Fitness Center, Fitness Trail, bicycles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Villa Le Barone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Le Barone Hotel Panzano
Hotel Le Barone
Le Barone Hotel
Villa Le Barone Panzano In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing