We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”
Review of Villa Le Barone

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Le Barone
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 26, 2007

Excellent hotel. We throughly enjoyed our stay at this top notch hotel. The staff was very accommodating. The restaurant was excellent. I cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank dudenaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (501)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

405 - 411 of 501 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2007

We spent 4 nights here recently and had a wonderful experience. Chianti was beautiful and much less crowded with tourists than southern Tuscany.
The location of the villa was ideal- very easy to get in and out yet secluded and removed from traffic and towns.

The village of Panzano is just a mile or two up the road and was adorable- one of our favorites in Tuscany. Again, only a few tourists compared to S Tuscany. Florence is about an hr N by car.

The setting of the villa was sublime. We had a fabulous lunch at Restaurant Lamole up in the hills above Barone which people flock to because of the food and views but our views at Villa Barone were just as good. It took almost 45 mins from the Villa to reach Lamole although the distance was only around 5 miles. Allow lots of time because distances are deceptive on the curvy rural roads and lunch is a drawn out affair in Italy often lasting 3 hrs.

We would love to return here because of the beauty and relaxation of the setting. Each day we would go out and do one small day trip and then come back and relax/nap by the pool.

We stayed in the main villa and had an attractive room with three windows and good cross ventilation. Even in early October it was quite warm and we initially thought that we'd need a/c. The a/c was not working and it took about 24 hrs for a technician to arrive and repair it. Meanwhile, a fan was brought to our room and on a high setting with the windows open, became almost too chilly at night. Daytime temperatures were around 80F. One drawback to Chianti were mosquitoes which we did not experience in S Tuscany. My husband was not bothered but if you attract them like I do, you definitely will need a strong chemical repellant at the pool side.

The room itself was a little dark and because of the historic age of the property, the floors were uneven. Fortunately, there were screens on the window which kept out the mosquitoes. Screens are unusual anywhere in Italy so this was a real plus.
The shower stall was tiny but as a historic property, there is nothing that can be done about this. The charm of the main villa made up for any inconveniences.

We looked at a room in a nearby building which had a bigger bathroom and was attractive but I did not care for it because it only had one window.

Our room (#3) is featured on the villa's website and appears to be one bed but when the top spread is removed reveals two small beds which we were aware of at the time of the booking. The beds were springier than the firm, foam mattresses that we experienced at our other hotels and did not cause any back aches but it is time for a replacement. I also agree with the previous reviewer that some of the furnishings are looking a little shabby and need to be replaced.

We had a fresh rose bouquet in our room on arrival and beautiful, fragrant floral arrangements were all over the public areas from the villa's own beautiful gardens.

Breakfast was excellent and we ate outside every morning. Egg dishes are available for an additional charge.

One of the main attractions to Villa Barone we felt were the fabulous dinners available every night for a mere 15E per person! Our room for two without half board was 260E and with dinner only 290. The food was absolutely delicious. There was an amazing appetizer spread every night and then a choice of entrees and courses. The vegetarian options were also excellent. It was kind of like being on a cruise... many options, if you didn't care for something then order something else... we were absolutely stuffed night after night. Too much good food actually. Dining on the property was a huge plus for us because we got very tired at our previous destinations of researching restaurants, then driving or walking to them. If you research villas in Tuscany as I did, I think you will discover there are very few in a tranquil, rural setting that offer dinner. There is a new place in nearby Greve that offers dinners on site but their half board plan is very expensive in comparison to Villa Barone.

There are so many wonderful nearby spots for daytrips and lunches, you really will have no urge at all to go out for dinner.
Also, after all that driving on rural roads, it is nice to stay in at night.

Service was excellent and understated. Very sweet and warm local women staff the front desk. We met the owners, a count and countess who were also very personable and friendly.

Overall, a wonderful experience and we hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2007

Very good hotel ) superb view, nice staff, very professional and efficient, clean pool and around, very good food. We like it a lot. I went there 10 years ago and nothing has changed, only improved. The only negative points are: air-conditioning should be renewed and caefully choose your room in advance. We had a large room, but with only small windows too high to look thourgh them... the decoration of the room is nice although a bit poor/rough/rustic. They could do better than that, but some people probably like decoration from the 1950's...

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank albertoecco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2007

We had a wonderful experience at Villa Le Barone in Panzano in Chianti, Tuscany. The villa is exceptional, situated among vineyards with a beautiful view of the Tuscan landscape. Amenities include a pool, tennis court, table tennis, library, internet access, self-serve bar as well as special cooking classes. The room accomodations were very comfortable, furnished with beautiful antiques. Our reservations included both breakfast and dinner, which were spectacular. Each morning a buffet was offered which included freshly baked croissants, wonderful cheeses, and fresh fruit. In the evening, we dined on the terrace and were treated to a four-course meal featuring classic Tuscan recipes. which were delicious! The service was impeccable and the staff and owners very friendly. We would definitely love to come back to this paradise in Panzano and stay longer. It is an ideal location situated in the middle of the Chianti Classico region.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank LeeRoseburgOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the villa le Barone for just i night. We had left a hotel in Gaiole in Chianti earlier than planned because we did not like our room there, and phoned le barone for a last minute booking. We have stayed there many times before over the last 15 years and always find it to be a hotel offering the highest level of customer service along with a spectacularly beautiful and peaceful setting.
Our return visit did not disappoint, in fact we had one day of absolute pleasure and perfection. We stayed in room 6 in the main house, a beautiful and large room with nice fabrics, very comfortable large bed, beautiful antiques and with a new sparkling white bathroom. With fly screens on the windows we slept with two windows wide open listening to the dawn chorus and watching sunrise over the chianti hills. Our room had a new air conditioning unit, but we wanted to fall asleep listening to the night sounds and feeling a cool breeze through the open windows.
-The outstanding features at Le Barone are many, but here are some of them.
-The pool and gardens, are in a very gorgeous setting, complete with an honesty bar for cold drinks and snacks.
-The breakfast taken on the new terrace is fantastic, the best we had this holiday by some distance. It is a buffet with a wide variety of fresh and tasty breakfast items, cheeses, cold meats, home made cakes and jams, local honey and yogurt etc.etc.
-Dinner on the terrace with excellent service and delicious Italian specialties and a fantastic antipasto selection.
-After dinner drinks on the atmospheric and very romantic terrace in front of the house, help yourself to drinks and cocktails from a full and comprehensively stocked honesty bar or order drinks from the staff. I had a fabulous Italian style hot chocolate as a night cap which was great to sip in the candlelight.
-The lounges are many and all are very beautiful and comfortable, filled with fresh flower displays and antiques.
-The staff are all outstanding. They are all very friendly and helpful, and work in the background constantly maintaining the very high and exacting standards set by the late Duchess for Le Barone
To summarize, you will not do better anywhere in Tuscany than this hotel, its just the best. It feels like being a very privileged house guest in a very special country retreat.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cocoBramhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2007

We'd planned our tour ourselves. Our first stop was Florence. Then we would spend a week in the heart of Tuscany. Using a book about Tuscany by Karen Brown we came upon the Villa Le Barone. It was an hour's drive south of Florence so access was easy enough off of SR 222. The stay would include a room with a terrace, a Garden and mountain view and gourmet dinners.

Everything and everyone at the Hotel, guests included was fantastic. Breakfast-delicious. Dinners-superb. Wines-delightful. Our stay lasted 5 wonderful days and the location allowed us easy access both back to Florence for a visit to the Uffizzi, a wonderful drive west to San Gimmy... for white wine, a twenty minute drive to San Castilina for dinner at La Torre in the shadow of the Castle there; south to Radda for a great sandwich on the overlook and over to Gaioli for a taste of Siena style. We ran out of time to visit Siena, about an hours drive south. At any price, in our opinion, you can't do better than Villa Le Barone.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank mbelgeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2007

This hotel is a gem, well situated, beautifully kept. We loved the antiques, the historical feel to it.
Food and wines are great. We were told we could have cooking lessons but did not have time.
It is actually the best place to go wine tasting around Chianti. We are actually already planning to come back in october for a whole week.
One more thing : half way exactly between Florence and Siena, it was great to be able to visit both.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank VictorToettcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Panzano in Chianti
3.8 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
583 reviews
5.4 mi away
Castello Vicchiomaggio
Castello Vicchiomaggio
#3 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
457 reviews
1.0 mi away
Relais Fattoria Valle in Panzano
Relais Fattoria Valle in Panzano
#2 of 5 in Panzano in Chianti
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
706 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
560 reviews
3.3 mi away
Albergo del Chianti
Albergo del Chianti
#6 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Le Barone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Le Barone

Address: Via San Leolino 19, 50022 Panzano in Chianti, Greve in Chianti, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Greve in Chianti > Panzano in Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Panzano in Chianti
Price Range: $229 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Le Barone 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amongst the timeless landscape of Chianti, in a protected environment, Villa Le Barone has been in the famous Della Robbia family since the 16th century. The old manor house has been renovated becoming an inviting and intimate home, maintaining the character of a private house with its cheerful bedrooms and sitting rooms, furniture, paintings, books and romantic objects of the family past. The heated infinity swimming pool filled with salt water, tennis court, fitness center,fitness trail and terraces are set amongst large rose gardens, with views on the surrounding countryside, olive groves and the vineyards of Chianti Classico. The restaurant serves typical Tuscan food and famous local Chianti wines. Villa Le Barone is ideal for those who love peace and relaxation as well as sight seeing in the Chianti region. Free parking lot, in-room Internet access, Wi-Fi, Fitness Center, Fitness Trail, bicycles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Le Barone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Le Barone Hotel Panzano
Hotel Le Barone
Le Barone Hotel
Villa Le Barone Panzano In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing