We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always amazing!”

Officina Della Bistecca
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
panzano-in-chianti
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Always amazing!”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

At its best Tuscan cuisine is a time-honored combination of fresh, local ingredients cooked in the traditional way and served with simplicity and gusto. Nowhere is this more true than at Dario Cecchini's famed steak restaurant, where the food and its presentation are almost of equal importance. Diners sit at long, communal tables and by the end of the meal you have made a few new friends and shared a unique, communal dining experience. We always make a point of dining here whenever we visit our vacation home in Panzano and it never ceases to amaze me how this always packed, bustling restaurant succeeds in delivering the ultimate Tuscan steak experience, every time! Because as its name implies, the officina is all about beef, lots and lots of it......beginning with steak tartar and seared beef and ending with huge hunks of perfectly grilled steak. This is a carnivores heaven (although there is a very good vegan/ gluten free vegetarian option in case someone in your party is so inclined. )
Dante, the restaurant manager, aided by grill master Angelo, is the consummate professional, making sure that everything is always exactly as it should be - the wine flowing, the meat courses perfectly presented and if a diner has a personal preference - such as medium- well or very well done - catering to that too. The steaks - ribeye, t-bone and Dario Cecchini׳s panzanese - are always in a class of their own. This is Tuscan cuisine at its finest .....and at 50 euros pp including wine, dessert, coffee and digestifs....a real bargain too!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shelleydipanzano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    616
    193
    84
    34
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Regina
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Death by Meat”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

They put on a great show during the evening family style meal. But come with an appetite and love beef.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Greg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great gastonomic experience”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Having frequented a couple of Italian steak restaurants in my home city of Hong Kong, which specialise in the Fiorentina bistecca, I decided that this place was a must visit during our trip to Tuscany. From walking into the butcher's shop fronting the restaurant, to walking through a hidden door at the back of the shop, it was quite intriguing. Unexpectedly we were seated on one of 4 long tables in the garden and, slowly, as more people arrived, the atmosphere got better and better.
Once the food started flowing and Dario started preaching to the diners, the evening was becoming a truly memorable experience. The food was amazing, and the waiters were charming and friendly, and very knowledgeable about the meat, since they helped butcher it that morning. All this was washed down with a nice bottle of Chianti. All this for 50 Euros, was exceptional value too. I would have to pay 3 times that in HK.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NickBux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Don't fall for it !”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Dear me, if ever there is a restaurant based on PR and Marketing rather than genuine customer experience this is it. Judging by the number of groups, baseball hats (and tuscan hamburger gimmicks) it's clear the target market is N. America for Dario's Youtube and review promotions. The 'formulaic approach' goes like this (1) you are offered a small glass of wine and encouraged to nibble on some free offerings of bread, lard and cut up salami..(which cost very little) hence you are now feeling obligated (2) the disingenuous shouts of 'viva la bistecca' from Dario only raise a 'red flag' (3) a young 'front man' keeps on hustling you to take a table behind (4) the menus are all 'set menus' with no room for much manoeuvre (a lot of it no doubt prepared before hand); the over explained and glorified menu descriptions serve only justify his high prices (5) and then you arrive to join 70 of your best mates crammed together with a nice view of the car park! (6) and the ensuing service was slow and very poor.
All in all...you felt like you were on a factory production line...and worse, you felt conned. If you want to eat in Tuscany go to one of the many small trattorias where you can eat what you want, receive better prepared food at better prices and you don't have to put up with all the insincere promotion. Friends in Florence told me that Dario had actually had problems with the various authorities about the claims he has made about the origin of his meats. I am pretty sure he is not supplying his trade to locals... only to hapless overseas victims impressed by his celebrity status.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A party for all”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

After reading "Heat" by Bill Buford, my husband and I decided to swing through Panzano on the way back to Siena from Florence. It was a beautiful drive to an adorable town. We went with the whole family, 7 people total, and I think having a group is a good way to go, although you end up part of the whole-restaurant party either way. It begins with a cocktail hour outside Dario's butcher shop with lots of wine and appetizers. It continues at the table with meat, meat, and more meat, as well as more wine, vegetables, and bread. Dario comes out occasionally to put on a show with big hunks of meat and lots of Italian. He is awesome. His staff is fun and all part of the party atmosphere. We ate, we drank, and we ate some more and all had a blast. All of the food, drink, and dessert including after-dinner drinks and coffee was 50Euro a head. An amazing deal and an outrageous evening. I would highly recommend it if you're in the area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JLarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Officina Della Bistecca also viewed

Panzano in Chianti, Greve in Chianti
Panzano in Chianti, Greve in Chianti
 
Greve in Chianti, Province of Florence
Greve in Chianti, Province of Florence
 
Panzano in Chianti, Greve in Chianti
Greve in Chianti, Province of Florence
 

Been to Officina Della Bistecca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing