We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”
Review of Podere Salicotto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Podere Salicotto
Ranked #1 of 6 Buonconvento B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2013

This was our second stay in 2 years and I hope it won't be our last! Everything about this place is wonderful - the rooms, the sunsets, the wine cellar, the breakfasts, the pool, the views and of course Silvia and Paolo!
The breakfasts are probably the best in Italy...it was always a lovely surprise to see what delights Silvia had made and their olive oil is well worth buying to take home. We arranged for some wine and oil to be sent home after the very interesting wine tasting in the cellar. This was well worth doing as we learnt a lot and spent the rest of the holiday talking about the colour, smell and taste of all the wonderful regional wines we sampled in Tuscany!
The other great part for us were the interesting guests from all over the world that you get to meet in the mornings at breakfast and in the garden or guest lounge in the evening. Silvia always makes sure everyone gets to know one another and the atmosphere is very friendly.
This is an amazing place and you won't regret a visit here!

Room Tip: Celeste has a double aspect and is a lovely light and airy room with great views.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (227)
There are newer reviews for Podere Salicotto
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 227 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013

We have been travelling quite extensively both professionnally and for pleasure but we rarely stayed in such a nice place. Podere Salicotto is one of the most enchanting place. The 360 view on the south Tuscany region, the comfort of the rooms, the swimming pool, the cellar, the kitchen and bbq place for the guest, the delicous breakfast.. everything was perfect.
We can only recommend Podere Salicotto! Grazie Silvia & Paolo for your warm welcome, attention to details and help recommending the best places to visit/eat!
4 days at Podere Salicotto was worth 2 weeks holidays!

Room Tip: all rooms are quiet and beautiful with an excellent view. some have a small garden!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MagaliDenis2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I can only add to the high recommendations that others have given Silvia & Paolo at Podere Salicotto. Not to be redundant, but the cozy rooms in the beautifully restored farmhouse are peaceful; the hosts are warm and very attentive to their guests; the breakfasts on the veranda are sublime (loved the classical music playing in the background - very nice touch!); the saltwater pool was heavenly; and the setting - nothing short of stunning. The other reviewers provide more depth of information, and we can certainly attest to the great location, grounds, food, and hospitality. Thank you, Silvia and Paolo! We'll be back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SchatziGirl007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silBuonconvento, Owner at Podere Salicotto, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Grazie a voi!!

We look forward to welcoming you back,
a presto

Silvia e Paolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Our four nights at Podere Salicotto was far and away the highlight of our two weeks in Italy. Silvia and Paolo run a beautiful establishment in an astounding setting. The rooms are spacious, air conditioned and tastefully decorated with an excellent bathroom. The 14m salt water pool was a revelation and an excellent spot for relaxation and refreshment. Breakfast / brunch had new homemade delights everyday with Silvia helping all guests individually with their plans for the day, a fountain of knowledge on the local area. There is also an extensive wine cellar were local wine can be bought and we also had a very insightful wine tasting there one night. I have never gone back to the same place but am sorely tempted with Salicotto, and for longer next time!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BillyLWard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

My husband & I didn't think a return trip to Itay (and Podere Salicotto) could get any better than the last time we visited (3 years ago), but it did! Silvia & Paolo are amazing hosts! This time we came during the first part of July, so we were able to experience and enjoy their gorgeous pool and barbecue! Once again we were treated like royalty. We used Podere Salicotto as our "home base" and Silvia organized some delightful wine tours, an amazing cooking/dining experience with chef Nicola (best birthday present ever!), and made reservations for us at restaurants in the local areas. We met with 3 other couples from Canada and had the pleasure of meeting a delightful family from Norway. We spent our final evening barbecuing at Podere Salicotto with both our Canadian and new found Norwegian friends while watching a gorgeous sunset over the Tuscan Hills. Life doesn't get any better than this. We consider ourselves so fortunate to have found a treasure like Podere Salicotto, and we definitely recommend it to all our friends & family. We have agreed that this little slice of heaven is 5 star all the way!!! *****

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nomar12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Podere Salicotto for a week, using it as a base to explore Tuscany south of Siena, which we had visited only briefly before. This restored farmhouse complex is at the brim of a hill overlooking the Sienese Crete, with breathtaking views in all directions. Silvia and Paolo are two of the most helpful and generous hosts we have encountered, offering touring ideas and practical information to every guest at the start of each day. Still, it was hard to leave in the morning, because the breakfasts were scrumptious, much of the food made by Silvia herself. We were too busy taking in the sights to enjoy the pool, but many of the other guests spent a lot of time there, since it was pretty hot. And while the B&B was surrounded by farmland, it was only a 10-minute drive to decent restaurants in Buonconvento, and more than decent restaurants only a half hour away. All in all, one of the best B&B's we have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CSGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silBuonconvento, Owner at Podere Salicotto, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Dear Guests,
Thank you so much! We take this opportunity to thank you and all our other guests for your great kindness,

a presto!
Silvia e Paolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed for one week with friends at Podere Salicotto. Our hosts, Sylvia and Paolo are simply wonderful. They organized wine tours and tastings for us as well as a cooking lesson with Chef Nicola. They were always available to answer questions and provide information. Our room was lovely; spacious, beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. The view from our windows was gorgeous. The morning brunch served on the terrace was delicious each and every day. We had an amazing time and highly recommend Podere Salicotto! Thank you Slyvia and Paolo for making our stay so wonderful! See you again in 2015! Ciao

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rozmitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buonconvento
1.6 mi away
Villa Armena Luxury Relais
Villa Armena Luxury Relais
#1 of 4 in Buonconvento
333 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fattoria Pieve a Salti
Fattoria Pieve a Salti
#2 of 4 in Buonconvento
290 reviews
5.5 mi away
Rosewood Castiglion Del Bosco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
#1 of 17 in Montalcino
425 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel dei Capitani
Hotel dei Capitani
#6 of 17 in Montalcino
461 reviews
6.9 mi away
Le Ragnaie
Le Ragnaie
#9 of 17 in Montalcino
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Podere Salicotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Podere Salicotto

Address: Podere Salicotti 73, 53022, Buonconvento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Buonconvento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Buonconvento
Price Range: $192 - $857 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amazing silence, breathtaking views of Tuscan hills in all directions, magnificent sunrises and sunsets, a glittering canopy of stars at night...If you are looking for an inviting, comfortable, spacious accommodation with unforgettable views of the classic Tuscan landscape, a stylish environment where everything is finished to the highest standard, caring hospitality and attention to detail by your hosts, Podere Salicotto is the choice for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Podere Salicotto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Podere Salicotto Buonconvento, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing