We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pinch Me..Im in Tuscany!..but feel like I landed in Heaven.”
Review of Podere Salicotto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Podere Salicotto
Ranked #1 of 6 Buonconvento B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Pinch Me..Im in Tuscany!..but feel like I landed in Heaven.”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

PERFECTION!...
From the minute we arrived, to the moment we left,..we felt at home. Silvia greeted us with a warm welcome and handshake at the entrance of their home and then we drove up the driveway, lined on either side with cypress trees. The home is located on a beautiful hill, providing the guests with a 360 view of the Tuscan countryside. A smile appeared on my face and it never left until we did 3 days later. Silvia's husband Paolo greeted us and showed us to our rooms. They were beautiful rooms with wooden shutters,..and real Tuscan feel. He then showed us the grounds, the common areas, the pool, living room and when that wasn't enough,..Paolo took us downstairs to their wine cellar and said "you may on the honor system, help yourself to these wines". Pinch Me!! I was destined to stay!
Silvia and Paolo are true hosts. They spent adequate time with us daily, advised us what to see, where to go and offered arrangements such as dinner, horseback riding, personal guided tour through Siena and more. With the limited time we had, we took the tour of Siena and the dinner at a local close by Castello. We were treated with care EVERYWHERE we went.
Nearby is a little pond as well. It truly came to life at night as several frogs croaked as dusk appeared. We sat and watched these little guys in the early morning hours until the first rays of sun quieted the pond. We enjoyed the breakfasts Silvia offered,..a mixture of meats, bread, local cheese, jelly, tomatoes seasoned with basil and more. Yum!!
We will undoubtedly return and spend more time here. A wonderful location in the heart of Tuscany!

Thanks to the owners, Silvia and Paolo for making us feel welcome, for treating us with care, for advising us on what to see and for sharing this wonderful place. We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwissTravler09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    9
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
28
140
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Do not hesitate to book a room here. It is STUNNING.
From the moment you enter the gates, it is a perfect place to stay. Sylvia and Paolo are brilliant hosts, rooms are big and airy with air conditioning (if you need it). Breakfasts are delicious and generous, with a variety of local produce on offer. In the evening, it is easy to drive to Montalcino for supper but if you really want to spoil yourselves, pop into the local town, Bounconvento, order a takeaway pizza, rush back to Podere Salicotto, pull up a chair, take a bottle of Prosecco from the fridge and watch the sunset over the glorious Tuscan hills.
It is a magical place and an absolute must for anyone visiting this area. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oxon_travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

A friend of mine recommended Podere Salicotto when my family was searching for a place to stay for a week in Tuscany. I checked the reviews on Tripadvisor and found that the country farm with six bedrooms had received top marks...so off we went. So glad we did!

Paolo and Silvia welcomed us with abundant hospitality to their beautiful jewel in the Tuscan hills, Podere Salicotto. How to describe this wonderful place in the hills of Tuscany?...constant birdsong, bees buzzing over the tiny white flowers that cover the grass outside the home, butterflies bouncing over every variety of wildflower as if to music, billows of magnificent clouds with purple underbellies, a silent peace, an old world, the smell of land and life the way it used to be, warm bricks on the outside, cool tile floors on the inside, beams in the ceiling from ancient trees, soothing earth tones painting the walls, green shuttered windows with no screens, frog vibrato in the night, a bed with soft white linens and warm blankets for the cool morning air, the distant town of Montalcino glittering in the dark with the fireflies and stars, rolling hills of wheat, vineyards and sheep, soap that smells like tea, hot showers with lots of water pressure, antique wardrobes to house our clothes with dignity, a reading room with a library full of books, magazines and comfy couches, a kitchen for guests to grab water, soda, beer or wine, a cellar lined with wines of the area, honey and olive oil-just take and write it down, a pool designed in simplicity-water meeting sky-geraniums showing off their vibrant color in Silvia's pots with a breathtaking background as far as the eye can see, and classical music playing softly to soothe guests over breakfast, as they sit outside with the land as their backdrop.

And oh, the breakfasts! Silvia has an excellent touch...homemade breads and jams, cakes of carrot, chocolate or pears, honey from neighboring bees with fresh yogurt to complement, hams, cheeses, olives, tomatoes, and olive oil-all from the land nearby...nothing processed...deeply rich hot chocolate and cappuccino served in a china cup, melons, strawberries and cherries...all displayed with poetic elegance in Silvia's Tuscan kitchen.

Within days, our family felt like special friends of Paolo and Silvia. They laughed with us, shared stories of their lives and shared fun day trip ideas with us. We went horseback riding, took long walks, indulged in both the photography class as well as the cooking class, and to top it all off, we spent our last day with Paolo on his 38 ft. boat.

There is no fitness center. You don't need one!! Walking the hills, biking, or swimming in the pool is perfect! They will even launder your clothes so that you can pack light...a must for traveling in Europe.

Our 16 and 12 year old were as delighted with the place as we were. It was splendid!

Room Tip: If you are traveling as a family, I suggest the upper rooms of Celeste and Rosa. They are the only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FWFamilyof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Our one week stay at Podere Salicotto was our favorite lodging and location during our 6 1/2 weeks in Italy. Everywhere we went was amazing, but our hearts belong to Tuscany and Podere Salicotto. When we first arrived I gasped and almost cried because the setting was so beautiful and it just kept getting better. We loved everything-the hospitality, beautiful accommodations, incredible breakfasts, and the great conversations with Sylvia and Paolo and the other guests. Sylvia and Paolo made helpful recommendations for day trips and restaurants. They made arrangements for a wonderful wine tour to small, family owned vineyards with Giulia, a very friendly and knowledgable sommelier. They also arranged an incredible cooking class with Nicola (a great chef and teacher) and then created a beautiful, romantic setting to enjoy our meal. I was also impressed with Sylvia's honesty. When we arrived she told us our lodging would be less than we agreed to because they had changed the dates of the low season so we didn't owe as much. We hope to return and stay longer not only because of the beautiful accommodations and setting but also to return to enjoy and laugh with our friends Sylvia and Paolo.

Room Tip: I think all of the rooms would be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmccallster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Our biggest regret was that we could not stay longer. Our time at Podere Salicotto was fantastic. We were so welcomed and made to feel so comfortable and relaxed. As for the location- it is stunning. We had friends stay a week after us and didn't let on just how good it was so that they would get to experience it all for themselves. We are already making plans for next year to return with friends

Room Tip: We had two adjoining rooms on the top floor. great for a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank burnley_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silBuonconvento, Owner at Podere Salicotto, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
Dearest Guests!
Paolo and I take this opportunity to let you all know how grateful we are. You all were such charming, kind, enthusiastic and very generous guests. We learnt a lot from you.
Grazie!
till the next time,
big hugs
Silvia & Paolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I just spent five nights at Podere Salicotto, and it was a wonderful experience.  The property is on the top of a hill and has great views of the Tuscan countryside. The owners, Silvia and Paolo, are excellent hosts.  The breakfasts were among the best we have had in 25 years of traveling.  Silvia makes the bread and cakes herself, and the meats and cheeses come from small local producers.  We were in the Belvedere room, which is a large, modern, comfortable studio apartment.  One night Silvia and Paolo arranged a dinner for six of the hotel guests at a local family-owned winery.  We had five wines with the dinner, and Silvia and Paolo, who were not drinking, drove us all to and from the winery.  The dinner was a commercial transaction, but it felt like a banquet at a friend's private country estate.  We will not hesitate to return to Podere Salicotto or recommend it to our friends.  

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Hampshire, UK
1 review
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Four of us stayed at Silvia and Paolo’s charming home for seven days, we were their first guests for this year, March 2012. They are such charming people and excellent hosts, they made our stay VERY special. Their country home is in a beautiful part of Tuscany, the scenery is absolutely stunning with beautiful sunsets. The accommodation was excellent and our rooms had amazing views of the countryside. Every day we had a delicious brunch sat on the patio in the Tuscan sun, enjoying Silvia’s fantastic home cooking and fresh organic local produce. Silvia kindly suggested many places of interest for us to visit, which was a great help. We used the facilities of the kitchen and the BBQ on many evenings and then we would sit around a log fire playing board games. We are looking forward to staying again in the future after our perfect holiday.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 977Janet45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buonconvento
1.6 mi away
Villa Armena Relais
Villa Armena Relais
#1 of 4 in Buonconvento
313 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fattoria Pieve a Salti
Fattoria Pieve a Salti
#2 of 4 in Buonconvento
275 reviews
5.5 mi away
Rosewood Castiglion Del Bosco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
#1 of 17 in Montalcino
399 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclu...
#1 of 4 in San Quirico d'Orcia
1,151 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel dei Capitani
Hotel dei Capitani
#6 of 17 in Montalcino
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Podere Salicotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Podere Salicotto

Property: Podere Salicotto
Address: Podere Salicotti 73, 53022, Buonconvento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Buonconvento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Buonconvento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amazing silence, breathtaking views of Tuscan hills in all directions, magnificent sunrises and sunsets, a glittering canopy of stars at night...If you are looking for an inviting, comfortable, spacious accommodation with unforgettable views of the classic Tuscan landscape, a stylish environment where everything is finished to the highest standard, caring hospitality and attention to detail by your hosts, Podere Salicotto is the choice for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Podere Salicotto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Podere Salicotto Buonconvento, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing