We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“One of a kind” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Armena Relais

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Armena Relais
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Buonconvento
Certificate of Excellence
usa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of a kind”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Amazing energy, spectacular nature, interesting rooms and furniture with particular details, nice people, hospitable atmosphere, relaxing surroundings, one of a kind place. But above all we loved the food, the experience. Wish we stayed more than two nights.
The only down side is that my partner wanted to get a massage, during a very hot and humid day that we were there, and they gently recommended some where close. We didn't feel like going since we didn't have a car. A nice in house beauty place will add more unique stay to this wonderful place.
Tuscany is amazing, and the villa makes it more unforgettable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edo7819, Proprietario at Villa Armena Relais, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Wow George, what a great review, and almost 1 year after your visit!
We are delighted you have such good memories of Villa Armena after so long. If you will ever come back to Tuscany please do come to say hello, we'd be very happy to see you again.

Ciao

Edoardo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    24
    10
    6
    2
See reviews for
37
189
4
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We felt very spoiled and tended to at this lovely 10-room hotel. The owners along with the mother and cook were so attentive to our needs. We enjoyed a cooking school, and we have a gorgeous room with a view of the Tuscany hillside. Very newly rennovated and quite well done. We want to go back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edo7819, Proprietario at Villa Armena Relais, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Hello dear Gail!
Thank you so much for your kind review, we all have very fond memories of you guys.The best one has got to be Alvie making Tiramisù :-)
We sincerely hope to see you soon.

Ciao

Edoardo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

My husband Pat & I just returned from a trip to Italy, which included 5 nights at Villa Armena in Buonconvento.

We highly recommend Villa Armena to anyone looking to spend time in southern Tuscany. We rented one of the junior suites, which overlooked the garden & pool area, as well as a view of the Tuscan hills. The inn is 2 km up an unpaved hill outside of the small town of Buonconvento. Wonderful views, peaceful, quiet, relaxing - everything we were looking for. This made it a perfect spot to relax & unwind after each day of exploring the locals towns & sites.

Eduardo, Elena, Laura, and the rest of the staff treated us wonderfully & were great hosts. Top level service, without ever being overbearing or "in your face".

Although it was not our original plan, we ended up eating in the restaurant each evening. And we're glad we did! The food & service was amazing, and we were excited to try something new from the menu each night. Laura was also a joy to talk to about wine, and we were able to try some new wines during the trip.

The only downside was that we only got to see Franco once!

Thanks again for a wonderful experience

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 144JenniferW144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edo7819, Proprietario at Villa Armena Relais, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Hello dear Jennifer and thank you so much for your wonderful review of Villa Armena.
I've already shared your kind words with everyone here, you have made a lot of people very happy indeed!
It was a pleasure meeting you guys and we sincerely hope to be able to welcome you again very soon.

Thanks again

Edoardo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We just returned from three weeks in Italy, and would have to rank our stay at Villa Armena as one of the highlights. The property is gorgeous inside and out, striking just the right balance between luxury and authenticity. The owners, Elena and Eduardo, as well as the rest of the staff, all made us feel like we were friends visiting their beautiful tuscan villa rather than guests in a hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hollygewandter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edo7819, Proprietario at Villa Armena Relais, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Hello dear hollygewandter!
Thank you so much for your kind review.
It's been a pleasure welcoming you to Villa Armena.
We are extremely proud of the fact that you consider our hotel as one of the highlights of your holiday.
A big thank you from the entire crew here, we hope to see you again very soon.

Ciao!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Having followed Eduardo's ambitious project from the start, I was very much looking forward to visiting the villa over Easter. What I found was a beautifully rebuilt property with lots of character surrounded by great views over the Tuscan hills. Eduardo, Elena and Laura were super friendly and made me feel at home. I enjoyed chatting with them about their experience of creating this amazing project over some excellent Brunello wine! The setting is rural which lends itself to enjoying the outdoors around the villa including some nice running tracks up and down the hills to create some room for the fantastic food by a creative and enthusiastic chef Eduardo recruited recently. I'm look forward to coming back in the summer!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edo7819, Proprietario at Villa Armena Relais, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Steven,

thank you very much for your kind review. We have all enjoyed your company during your stay and we are all extremely happy that you enjoyed your experience at Villa Armena. We are really looking forward to welcoming you back this summer.

Ciao

Edoardo Giacone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed at the villa back in October 2012. The farmhouse has been beautifully renovated. Our room was very pleasant with a modern bathroom. We used the common area just outside our room and felt like we were staying at a friend's place rather than a hotel. The restaurant offered a very nice menu too with great service from the owner's Mum.
The only problem we encountered was the unsealed road to get to the villa which was quite difficult to navigate after the rain.

Would definitely recommend the hotel for a romantic getaway nonetheless.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margouille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edo7819, Proprietario at Villa Armena Relais, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Hello dear Margouille!
Thank you so much for your kind review and for your kind words. We're truly delighted you have good memories of our property and of our family and indeed we are extremely proud you travelled all the way from Australia to come and visit us.
We sincerely hope to be able to welcome you again soon.
Ciao!

Edoardo Giacone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I booked this hotel as a special treat for my husband, having read wonderful reviews on trip adviser. To say that we were both extremely disappointed is an understatement ! The stunning views consisted of the view of the next door neighbours garden & clothes line. The Villa was very cold , devoid of atmosphere and not particularly friendly . Unlike other guests who have written reviews, we were not made to feel particularly welcome . The worst part of the experience was the truly awful meal we had in the highly commended restaurant . Not only was it the worst , & most over priced meal, we encountered on our 10 days in Italy , it was one of the worst meals I have ever been served anywhere . The main corse , described as as slow roasted pork with honey, was a greasy mess , very little pork ,with 3/4 of the meat consisting of revolting fat . This was accompanied by 3 small scoops of cold ( straight out of the fridge ) mash potato . We did try to voice our concerns to the waitress who simply dismissed our comments on the basis we must have been too full. Given that I had a small & tasteless starter & my husband a small but edible pasta (at 22 euros !) this was clearly unlikely . When leaving I again voiced my dissatisfaction only to be given that old "we are trying a new chef " excuse , without apology . While the rooms were tastefully furnished , at the cost of a nights stay I do not think it was acceptable to have one partially / 3/4 used shower gel in the bathroom .There was nothing I would recommend about this hotel and was left wondering what audience they where appealing too . Unlike the advertised facilities the was no spa .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brigid A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edo7819, Proprietario at Villa Armena Relais, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Brigid A,

thank you for your review and for your visit. We did enjoy your company - even though it was only for one night - and indeed we are very sorry you did not enjoy your experience at Villa Armena. What I can tell you is that we have greeted you and welcomed you exactly in the same way we do with all our Guests, I guess this was not enough for you and we'd have appreciated perhaps some feedback from you when you left and when I personally asked you if everything went fine with your 1 night stay at the Villa. Instead, if you remember, the only thing you commented on was the pork you had for dinner which you defined as "greasy". Just for you to know that's been the best selling dish this winter and what you define as "revolting fat" was the actual skin of the pork in which the pig is cooked in the oven to give a special flavour to the meat. Never mind, I guess we all have different tastes :-). The waitress you refer to his our sommelier, and also my mother - Laura, and I'm afraid I struggle to believe she told you that "you were just to full" as she always describes the dish to the guests first and then ask for some feedback when she comes back to take the dish away from the table. Also as far as the shower gel is concerned the one you had was brand new not already used.....we change them every time.....Last but not least if you check our website there is no mention of a spa as this has not been completed yet.
All in all: we are extremely sorry that in just one night we managed to disappoint you so much, we do hope to be able to welcome you again in the future to have the chance to make you change your mind.

Edoardo Giacone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buonconvento
7.3 mi away
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclu...
#2 of 4 in San Quirico d'Orcia
4.5 of 5 stars 1,067 reviews
22.3 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
5.0 of 5 stars 579 reviews
13.4 mi away
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
#1 of 14 in Montalcino
5.0 of 5 stars 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Hotel Osteria Dell'Orcia
Hotel Osteria Dell'Orcia
#1 of 3 in Castiglione D'Orcia
4.5 of 5 stars 215 reviews
11.6 mi away
Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery
Castello di Velona Resort, Therm...
#1 of 1 in Castelnuovo dell'Abate
4.5 of 5 stars 519 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fattoria Pieve a Salti
Fattoria Pieve a Salti
#2 of 4 in Buonconvento
4.0 of 5 stars 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Armena Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Armena Relais

Property: Villa Armena Relais
Address: Localita San Domenico Armena SNC, 53022 Buonconvento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Buonconvento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Buonconvento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Armena Relais 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the romantic heart of Tuscany, only 20 minutes from Siena, only a stone’s throw from Montalcino and Val d’Orcia, in a fairytale world exuding magic and beauty, Villa Armena is a late Renaissance structure. Built of red brick, with original oak beams and roof, and having terracotta floors and a beautiful Italianate garden, Villa Armena today is an exclusive establishment with just 10 rooms, each one unique, where service, attention to detail and exclusivity are the cornerstones of our offering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Villa Armena Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Armena Relais Buonconvento, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing