We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Trip”
Review of Borgo Finocchieto

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buonconvento
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Borgo Finocchieto
Reviewed October 21, 2013

It was my frist trip to Italy and the Borgo Finocchieto made the trip absolutely amazing. Service was fantasitc -- the food was very fresh. The atmosphere was superb as you could wake up and watch the fog roll in while the sun rises. Sleep quarters were excellent. I will never forget this trip.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mohonk_mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (12)
There are newer reviews for Borgo Finocchieto
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 12 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2013

Attention to detail would be the best way to describe this property. Marco and his wife Carolyn with there staff make this a very enjoyable experience. The evenings were most memorable with the aperitifs and amazing 5 star meals prepared by there chef. The beautiful surroundings and relaxed atmosphere made this a hard place to leave. Will always be a great memory.

Room Tip: If you want solitude from the other villas on the property we stayed in the Filippi house. Small tw...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beemerjockey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2009

Borgo Finocchieto is an outstanding property. The rooms are authentic and elegant with wonderful private bathrooms. The public rooms are outstanding gathering places and the gym is first rate. Although I was there for leisure, as a former Corporate trainer, I think the Borgo would be a perfect place for a company retreat. On my trips, I found the Borgo perfectly located for day trips to Florence, Siena and the wonderful hills towns of Tuscany. The best part of each day was returning to the Borgo for a candlelit dinner on the terrace with wonderful companions watching evening settle across the beautiful Tuscan countryside. This is the memory I most cherish and yearn to return to.

  • Stayed: April 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HappyWandererNc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2009

You will not be dissapointed by the Borgo.

Borgo Finocchieto is literally a small village, restored to Renaissance elegance. It sits atop a small mountain overlooking Tuscany and Montalcino. The guest quarters are immaculate. I'm not sure of the capacity of the entire compound, but from the look of it it can easily accomadate parties requiring 20-30 bedroms. The ammentities include bocce, and a full gym. The view of Tuscany from the pool deck is probably worth the trip alone. It is also worth taking some of the house bikes for a ride on the country roads.

A mile away is the famous TNT pizza, where we had beers with the locals. Further down the hill is Buonconvento. It is a quaint medieval town with a few nice restaurants. Within an hour by train or car are Sienna and Florence.

The Borgo can hold its own against some of the world's most unique accomadations. If you get the opportunity to stay at the Borgo, do it.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AccidentalTouristNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2009

I visited the Borgo while it was still a work in progress, but was extremely impressed by the setting, amenities, decor and general ambiance of the villas.

The villas were extremely comfortable, with phenomenal linens (absolutely heavenly high-thread count Frette), extremely well equipped kitchens ideal for cooking goods from the daily local market, and furnishings that give modern conveniences but stay true to the architecture and feel of the area. Even more importantly the villas allowed privacy for a group or friends traveling together with lots of great nooks for reading a book or catching up on email (the villa has great convenience amenities including internet connection), which I've found key when traveling with others.

The Borgo makes the most of its setting, with absolutely beautiful and well-maintained grounds. The entire property is restored to perfection, including many modern luxuries. The gym offers great vistas of the surrounding mountains in addition to state of the art machinery and a fantastic sound system. The pool is situated at the edge of the mountain providing an amazing view of the surrounding area, including local vineyards. The area offers great roads/ trails for walking or running/ general exploration.

The entire Borgo is well situated, under an hour to Montalcino or Siena, and just up the mountain from a charming and thriving Tuscan village with great local wares and restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2006, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank dctraveler226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2009

This lovingly restored, 800-year-old little "village" is comprised of a manor house and four separate small homes. While I was there alone, it is a perfect place for an extended family to find privacy in luxurious style. There are accommodations for 44 guests, but apparently they reserve the whole property for your private use if your family or group numbers 18 or more! If you have fewer, you can rent individual houses with 2 bedrooms or 4-5 bedrooms. What a way to see the most beautiful, most serene countryside, and the area is loaded with relatively quiet but charming small villages. This is a newly opened property and you would never know it -- there is such a high level of professionalism, efficiency and warmth in the service. To top it off, there's an amazing pool with an equally amazing view, and the most complete fitness center I have ever seen at a small property.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CTtraveler06840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank draghetto86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buonconvento
4.3 mi away
Villa Armena Luxury Relais
Villa Armena Luxury Relais
#1 of 4 in Buonconvento
333 reviews
3.1 mi away
Rosewood Castiglion Del Bosco
3.3 mi away
Fattoria Pieve a Salti
Fattoria Pieve a Salti
#2 of 4 in Buonconvento
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
#1 of 17 in Montalcino
426 reviews
6.1 mi away
Borgo Antico
Borgo Antico
#1 of 6 in Monteroni d'Arbia
385 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casali di Bibbiano
Casali di Bibbiano
#1 of 1 in Bibbiano
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgo Finocchieto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo Finocchieto

Address: Loc. Bibbiano, 53022, Buonconvento, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Buonconvento
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Buonconvento
Price Range: $479 - $862 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Borgo Finocchieto, unique among Tuscan properties, is a beautifully and elegantly restored 800-year-old village with stunning views and world-class facilities. Available for groups and individuals, our community is divided into an elegant manor house with nine ample suites and four village houses, each with its own kitchen, living area, and private terrace. Our location is amid the greatest sights in Tuscany, but with our incomparable view and outstanding spa, one may choose not to leave. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Borgo Finocchieto Buonconvento, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing