We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel but it depends on what you're looking for...”
Review of San Tommaso

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
San Tommaso
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel but it depends on what you're looking for...”
Reviewed August 15, 2009

Stayed for a week here with boyfriend. The room we had was excellent with air conditioning and a lovely large terrace with a sea view. However the main business of the hotel is weddings. Every night. So if you're looking for ideas for your own wedding in Italy you can see a different one every night. None (or very few) of the wedding guests stay at the hotel just the bride and groom and it felt as if it was only us and the current bride and groom staying in the hotel. Lucky the weddings that took place during our visit were all Italian weddings so the guests were off the premises by 10.30/11pm. If it had been an Irish wedding good luck you'd have been listening to a singsong at 4am!
The staff were lovely, breakfast buffet was nice and the hotel itself is beautiful but it's well out of Polignano and you need a car to get down to the waterfront and to the town. This wasn't a problem for us but if you want to be in the centre of everything then this isn't the place for you.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Celibru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    97
    16
    12
    4
See reviews for
102
286
4
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2007

The hotel is beutiful with good access to the highway. It's main business, however are weddings and not the rent of the rooms. As a result, there are weddings at this hotel EVERY NIGHT of the week except Sundays. If your room has doors or windows facing the Terrace, you will have no privacy. The wedding cake cutting ceremony takes place on the Terrace. The prep work for it starts in early afternoon and the party will be there soon after 8:30pm until about 10:00pm with music and fireworks. Also, the restaurant picture that you see in the websites with views of a town is a sister property, it is not located at the San Tommaso Hotel.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Caper20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2006

Stayed here for just one night on our honeymoon in September 2006, just before flying back from nearby Bari. The hotel is set in pleasant gardens about 1km inland from Polignano itself, which is an attractive small town on the rocky coast popular with Italians but not really tourists from elsewhere. Room was enormous with a balcony and view over the Adriatic. Staff were very friendly and helpful. We received a large bottle of complimentary sparkling wine and drinks, and also a large bowl of fruit - partly because it was our honeymoon but also we suspect because there was a large end-of-summer party going on at the hotel that night and the staff were concerned we might not get much sleep. They gave us free tickets to the party though and we enjoyed it. There were also at least 2 wedding receptions going on at the hotel while we were there, but this wasn't a problem. If they put a swimming pool in the garden the place would be even better. We were glad of the car to get to Polignano, but dind't bother with nearby beaches as the entry fee and facilities seemed expensive.
Booked through booking.com.

  • Liked — Enormous room with a view
  • Disliked — Slightly out of town
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank MisterHoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Polignano a Mare
2.7 mi away
Pietrablu Resort & Spa CDSHotels
Pietrablu Resort & Spa CDSHotels
#2 of 8 in Polignano a Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,984 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Covo dei Saraceni
Hotel Covo dei Saraceni
#3 of 8 in Polignano a Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
2.3 mi away
Borgobianco Resort & Spa
Borgobianco Resort & Spa
#4 of 8 in Polignano a Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
L'Abbate Hotel
L'Abbate Hotel
#5 of 8 in Polignano a Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
6.5 mi away
Don Ferrante Dimore di charme
2.0 mi away
Castellinaria Hotel
Castellinaria Hotel
#7 of 8 in Polignano a Mare
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Tommaso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Tommaso

Property: San Tommaso
Address: Contrada Bagiolare SNC | Str.Prov.le Polignano-Conversano Km.1,5, 70044 Polignano a Mare, Italy
Location: Italy > Puglia > Province of Bari > Polignano a Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Polignano a Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Tommaso 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your San Tommaso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing