We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Ristorante Grotta Palazzese
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We dined at Restorante Grotta Palazzese last Saturday evening and arrived promptly at 7.30 when the restaurant opened, which I would advise you to do so as not to miss the spectacular sunset. I was a little worried prior to arriving as there were many bad reviews about service and food , but, everything was fantastic - food delicious, service attentive and atmosphere superb. Five stars. Thank you for a memorable evening.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
7  Thank Flavia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (464)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

82 - 88 of 464 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2013

Make sure you ask for the one characteristic room otherwise you will be staying in an outdated circa 1960's style room with no elevator. If you choose to dine in the restaurant bring lots of euros to this overpriced restaurant. I loved the location right on the water but felt their website is very misleading with pictures.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
11  Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

this was one of the most spectacular times for us in southwest Italy. We stayed in this hotel high above the ocean with a view of the wide open sea and the high old walls of the ancient city. Dined in their cave restaurant which was absolutely superb. never seen anything like it. Huge drop into the ocean either side of the cave restaurant. Very expensive but exceptionally good cuisine. Even the walk to the bathroom was thru the cave and rocks.

Room Tip: Pay for a room with a view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathymac_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

This was a very poorly run hotel. On arrival the concierge only showed us our room, no mention was made of the solarium or roof terrace. The winter restaurant was closed but the romantic restaurant in the grotto was open. This was superb. Wonderful food, attentive staff and amazing setting. However the rest of the hotel was a let down. The safe didn't work and there was no offer of replacing/mending it, or an alternative option. The heater in the room was broken. The maid walked into the suite without knocking (I was still in bed and my husband was in the bathroom), then she turned up again an hour later and asked if she could make up the room. She did the same the next day. We were overcharged for the room, according to the price list, but were not offered a refund. The breakfast room was awful - 1970's style blue glossy floor tiles and yellow glossy wall tiles, with windows that were too high, so didn't allow guests to appreciate the wonderful view. This place was ridiculously over-priced. We found a lovely B&B down the road which was a much better standard for 59 Euros per night, rather than the 200 Euros we were charged.

Room Tip: The characteristic room was OK, the rest were very poor and not worth the 100 Euros.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Munfsrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

If you are in Puglia in Italy, you MUST come to this little town (Polignano al Mare) and you MUST come to this hotel/restaurant combo... for a drink. The hotel is build right on the cliff to the sea, and the salt water has eroded a large section of the cliff into what is now a "grotta" (cave) restaurant. The views are amazing - the restaurant is built on a large wooden deck (20 + tables) inside the grotta, but above the sea. The tasting menus are pricey and not worth it; out of the five dishes, we had 2 that we would definitely order again (the fish was AMAZING). For 100 euros/person, all five dishes should have been stellar. Ah, well, I certainly don't regret any second spent at the restaurant, regardless of the disappointing food. The views are that amazing. The restaurant (and maybe the hotel, too?) closes for one month Nov - December, so if you are traveling in winter, call ahead.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank itisasmallsmallworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012 via mobile

we ate at the restaurant and or ecperience was superb. the location is breath taking and food fabulous. Service nrillisnt with very attentive staff. meal not cheap at €100pp for degustation.. however for a treat it leaves an impression on both yr taste buds and in yr heart.

simply stunning experience and well worth the expense for the experience.

we went for lunch and had the added bonus of the entire restaurant to ourselves.

enjoy.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cindi m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

The views are absolutely breathtaking and if they renovated the rooms, they could charge 4 times more. Lots of reviews complained about the quality of the rooms, and they are correct. But that's how this place stays affordable, I think. We had a room with a sea view, and it was not one of the ones pictured on their website. It looks like an old Holiday Inn room, but it has a spectacular view. You can decide if it's worth it to you. I think you could enjoy the view from the restaurant and stay somewhere else in town, but it is nice having the view when you wake up. It is truly as memorable as I hoped it would be, even after reading all the bad reviews. And if you can afford it, the restaurant was spectacular--the food was pretty good (at exorbitant prices-- without wine you have to pay at least 70 euro per person for food as 2 courses are required) but the experience of eating in the Grotto was unforgettable.

Room Tip: If you can afford whatever they charge for the 1 renovated room in all the pictures, go for it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 532rome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Polignano a Mare
0.9 mi away
L'Abbate Hotel
L'Abbate Hotel
#5 of 8 in Polignano a Mare
239 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Covo dei Saraceni
Hotel Covo dei Saraceni
#3 of 8 in Polignano a Mare
557 reviews
2.9 mi away
Pietrablu Resort & Spa CDSHotels
Pietrablu Resort & Spa CDSHotels
#2 of 8 in Polignano a Mare
2,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Trulli Holiday - Resort
Trulli Holiday - Resort
#1 of 18 in Alberobello
1,272 reviews
1.7 mi away
San Tommaso
San Tommaso
#1 of 8 in Polignano a Mare
555 reviews
2.8 mi away
Borgobianco Resort & Spa Mgallery By Sofitel
Borgobianco Resort & Spa Mgaller...
#4 of 8 in Polignano a Mare
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ristorante Grotta Palazzese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ristorante Grotta Palazzese

Address: Via Narciso 59, 70044 Polignano a Mare, Italy
Location: Italy > Puglia > Province of Bari > Polignano a Mare
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Polignano a Mare
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ristorante Grotta Palazzese 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Ristorante Grotta Palazzese reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ristorante Grotta Palazzese Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing