We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant and relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Borgobianco Resort & Spa Mgallery By Sofitel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 22, 2010

Borgo Bianco is a simply beautiful hotel in the Puglia countryside. The stunning photos barely do it justice. The rooms are tastefully and simply decorated and have large balconies with gorgeous views over the countryside and out to the sea. The hotel's restaurant offers gourmet dinners and a varied breakfast spread. While it was too cold to enjoy the outdoor pool or the beach facilities, we did enjoy the gorgeous indoor pool. The spa was fine too - we didn't have the best massages of our lives there, but they weren't bad either.

We loved the location - while the hotel itself is located way down a country road (read other reviews on getting there by GPS), it's still convenient to the beautiful little town of Polignano a Mare, and we took wonderful daytrips to Alberobello and Matera. We'd happily go back.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bahamasviking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (516)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 516 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2009

My partner and I travelled through Italy in September. We discovered this gorgeous resort by chance after an online search for 5 star hotels in the Puglia region. Although it was slightly difficult to find because it's hidden away up on the hills of the beautiful seaside town Polignano... it was TOTALLY worth the effort once we got there, and if it really is relax that you're looking for, then the position of the hotel is really ideal. As the name suggests, it's an all white structure set in the middle of a really typical Puglia landscape. Once you get inside, you can instantly feel the elegance and charm of the hotel. It's strongest point is its simplicity... a beautiful courtyard simply furnished, relatively spacious rooms, all simply furnished - no clutter to speak of - which again is perfect if you're looking for relax. STUNNING views from the rooms. Most of the rooms have full sea views, you can literally stare out at the Adriatic coastline for hours while just relaxing on your balcony (another really good point - all the rooms have a balcony or garden). And if you turn your head slightly you see a stunning typical Puglia landscape with farming land which looks like something off a postcard! The pool was beautiful and it too looks over the Adriatic coastline. We were offered a welcoming massage at the hotel Spa... which we were very grateful for... the staff invited us to use the indoor pool and spa... (they've got a sauna and gym as well but we didn't use them) the indoor pool was nothing short of divine... and the whole experience left us feeling more relaxed than I think we've ever felt whilst travelling! All the staff were incredible. We'd been warned that the Italians could be difficult to deal with, but at this place they were just so genuinely helpful and made us feel like they were generally interested in the quality of our stay. No problems with English either which is always a bonus. The hotel restaurant is something really special as well. If the weather's right they seat you on a beautiful terrace above the hotel, once again looking out over the Adriatic, 5 star service and absolutely DELICIOUS food... really simple but full of flavour. Prices were reasonable as well.
All in all my partner and I were very impressed, and would definitely come back to stay again if we're in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Myajen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2009

When you receive the instructions for the resort, they warn you that the GPS will send you to a different location. This is correct, it is in the general area but follow their easy directions and you will not become frustrated. Arrive there during the daylight hours. It is far into the country but the ocean can be seen in the distance and this location is very comforting and quiet especially after the excitement of Rome and travelling by car for hours, This is a wonderful place to release and melt. The room is modern, spacious and tastefully done in whites and bieges. The balcony is large and encompasses the entire countryside with the views over the ocean in the distance. There is only farms of herbs, olives, and vegetables. You will see the farmers in the fields toiling, a few cats lazily soaking up the sun, and an occasional dog. Their pool is beckoning and brisk for October even when the temperature was 26C. The spa is delightful to the eye as well as the soul. The spa waters are warm and comforting, the steam room is soothing, however, at the time of our visit the sauna was not turned on. Remember that they have a siesta and everything is closed during this time, check with reception for opening hours. Unfortunately, during our stay they had multiple problems with the TV connection with Sky, we would get it for a while but Sky had to be contacted every day. The internet was wireless and free however, painfully slow. The sheets on our bed were crisp every night, what a treat! The staff spoke and had a good grasp of contextual English, so there were no misunderstandings. The food quality is by far delicious with fresh produce and seafood locally, as well as grown in their own gardens. However, a word of warning as we have never experienced this in any other Italian hotel or resort. We were told after the second time we order room service that we were charged 50% over on each item simply because it was room service. We were never told when we placed the initial order and there are no menus in the room, we were told verbally what was on the menu. The waiter informed us this was their policy. For any other visitors, please make certain you understand their policy on this room service issue before ordering. We ate in the restaurant and the food, especially the vegetables and seafood were tantalizing. Another suggestion to English tourist, please go to this area in the fall, the temperatures are manageable and the towns are deserted. Explore all the Roman ruins in the area. They are virgin areas, they look like Pompeii when I was a child and there is a lot more to see and ingest without the insane crowds. We saw and were greeted by university students at all the archeological digs without mile high fences. Please treat yourself to explore this wonderful countryside in Puglia. I will most definitely regret the endorsement, since it will become unbearable to visit in a few years, but maybe only those that need to experience this place will see this suggestion. We chose Borgo Bianco Resort for quality and it was centrally located to all our adventures in Puglia.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ravn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2009

We were full of optimism about our visit and to be fair all the reservation staff had been extremely helpful. The junior suite was in effect a large room, very bland and depressing. It had a musty, dampness about it. After waiting for 30+ minutes from room service ( although no room service menu- amazing for a 5 star hotel) for a limp sandwich ( all that could be offered) which a 6 year old could have made decided to leave immediately. A great pity as it could have potential.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank HayTravellerwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rfrugis, Direttore at Borgobianco Resort & Spa Mgallery By Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2011

Dear Guest,

first of all I would like to thank you for your review although I am really disappointed to hear your experience wasn't all good.

I understand you were unhappy with the room service and for that I sincerely apologise, however, I believe that 30 minutes are not enough to judge the hotel.

I would like to inform you that since then we have improved our service and facilities, therefore I wish I will have you back between our guests in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2009

Me and my husband spent three nights at Borgobianco (got a 3 for 2 June offer) and found it very relaxing, nicely designed and professionally managed.
Altough this is not an ancient Masseria restored but a brand new building, it was conceived and designed using local ancient building typologies and materials, without falling into a fake-kitsch result. Instead it's elegant and the predominance of all white shades makes it comfortable and relaxing. The staff members are willing to help and nice, altough sometimes you feel they try a bit too hard (probably because the hotel has just opened).
Fantastic pool, with a glimpse at the sea. Superb local simple&fresh food. Overall a very positive feeling.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elghira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2008

We have just returned from 2 weeks in Puglia and found this new hotel by luck. A brand new hotel in an area that has so much to offer. The service, rooms , staff were amazing. We enjoyed it so much we extended our stay there.

The hotel is spacious and in beautiful surroundings. The staff and service were fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble. They had bicylcels to hire and provided us with routes, the hotel has access to a private beach as well as a beautiful pool onsight.

The hotel was a true find, it is in a great area of Puglia and a fatastic base to see the region as well as a relaxing place to nothing but relax.

We will certainly return.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sshroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank romaina323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Polignano a Mare
4.9 mi away
Pietrablu Resort & Spa CDSHotels
Pietrablu Resort & Spa CDSHotels
#2 of 8 in Polignano a Mare
2,291 reviews
2.3 mi away
San Tommaso
San Tommaso
#1 of 8 in Polignano a Mare
554 reviews
2.3 mi away
L'Abbate Hotel
L'Abbate Hotel
#5 of 8 in Polignano a Mare
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Covo dei Saraceni
Hotel Covo dei Saraceni
#4 of 8 in Polignano a Mare
553 reviews
4.2 mi away
Il Melograno
Il Melograno
#5 of 14 in Monopoli
288 reviews
11.4 mi away
Borgo Egnazia
Borgo Egnazia
#2 of 6 in Savelletri
1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgobianco Resort & Spa Mgallery By Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgobianco Resort & Spa Mgallery By Sofitel

Address: Contrada Casello Cavuzzi, 70044 Polignano a Mare, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Puglia > Province of Bari > Polignano a Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Polignano a Mare
Price Range: $158 - $370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Borgobianco Resort & Spa Mgallery By Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Borgobianco Resort & Spa Mgallery By Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borgobianco Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing