We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice cave & rip off joint!”

Ristorante Grotta Palazzese
Price range: $107 - $161
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice cave & rip off joint!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

The cave and decor of this restaurant / lounge does live up to the hype, too bad they attempt to rob you blind in the process of enjoying the place. Indeed, you have to be prepared to spend at least 20 euros (minimum and compulsory at the lounge) for a badly mixed drink and lousy snacks. Also do note you are forbidden to enter the restaurant from the lounge unless you are prepared to pay for dinner.

We did visit this establishment with the idea of having dinner, but after the poor quality for top dollar at the lounge, we decided to leave. Do note that if you go for dinner, there is a minimum charge of 60 euros per person (if you go a la carte and not choose the 75 or 100 euros set menu, it is compulsory to order two courses...).

Sorry, but as much as the decor is nice, such bad attitude and poor service should be punished by word of mouth...

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
10 Thank DevWorker2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,877 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    671
    436
    325
    198
    247
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“amazing views and ambience. Fire the chef!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

The view never disappoints - candle light and the waves are breaking right in front of you, as you are watching a beautiful sunset. The place is expensive but the setting justifies it.

The food is bad. really bad. even the cappucinos. they should fire the chef, close the kitchen, and arrange for takeouts from one of the great restaurants nearby.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank imodlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Amazing Location and Wonderful Experience BUT Expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

We heard of this restaurant via our masseria and they said it was expensive but given the idea of its location ie in a grotto deep in the cliffs above the sea. The waves were crashing below us as we ate wonderful food and had a great bottle of wine. We had the tasting menu at 75€ each and it was worth it! Wonderfully lit and a wild location....must be seen to be believed.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank davidnhornby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasil
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“ONLY THE SETTING”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

This is a really unique and surprising place to be. If you are lucky enough to be there during the full moon, the view is spectacular. Nowadays, that's it's only good point, because the food is just average and they charge exorbitant prices. I used to go there years ago, when the head waiter Mimo greeted us very kindly, the food was amazing, and their portions were much more generous. This time, I was really disappointed with how low the service has fallen.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank BrasilNina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Spectacular experience with acceptable food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

Eating in the Grotto was an unforgettable experience that I would gladly pay for. It's not cheap (at least 70 euro per person before wine with the a la carte or 75 euro for the tasting menu), and the food is not the best I've ever had, but it was good. The experience totally made it worthwhile because the sound of the water crashing all around you combined with the view and the candles shimmering on the grotto makes it so unique. I only wish we had better weather so we could have drawn out our dinner longer.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 532rome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Grotta Palazzese also viewed

Polignano a Mare, Province of Bari
Polignano a Mare, Province of Bari
 
Polignano a Mare, Province of Bari
Polignano a Mare, Province of Bari
 

Been to Ristorante Grotta Palazzese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing