We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romance on the lake”
Review of Hotel Regina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Regina
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Gravedona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stayed here for a week when the weather was blistering hot and made full use of the gardens and pool to enjoy 'dolce far niente' which literally means "sweet doing nothing" or "Delicious idleness". Sheer indulgent relaxation and blissful laziness, being deliciously idle.
We booked a superior room on the second floor so had a large terrace to sit on late at night drinking G&T. Nearby there is a small hydro-electric generating station - what that does is create an outflow of water to provide a glorious soft sound of rushing water. The week we stayed also had a full moon which glistened off the water at night. Magical.
Gravedona itself is a little bit of a sleepy lakeside town but enough restaurants and bars to keep you entertained. You do feel though that the hotel supports the town as most of the customers you see in the bars and restaurants stay at the hotel.
Each morning we ate breakfast on the garden terrace in the sunshine. The fish swim by in the lake and the odd duck swims past, all very peaceful.
For me it was the best holiday week ever! Helped by the weather and the moon, but also helped by the excellent hotel that is Hotel Regina. Highly recommended for romantic couples.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (277)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 277 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2014

Perfect location (5 min walk from the city center) with an amazing view on the lake. When you swim in the pool, you have the impression you are in the lake!
The staff is very kind and takes great care of its clients. Their advice is spot-on (restaurants, activities, shops, ...) and always given with a smile. The rooms are simple but very tidy and clean. We spent 5 nights and HIGHLY recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We recommend the rooms with the view on the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christophe N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

My Fiance and I stayed here on a post graduate school adventure. We stayed here given the reasonable prices and loved every minute of it. It was clean, beautiful and the staff was nice. The only downside, is that it is a bit far from the train station, and it is far from Belagio and Tremezzo, which were two areas we wanted to see. That being said, we would stay here again if we wanted to get away and not be bothered by anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

The two of us stayed in Hotel Regina for 3 nights over Easter weekend. We found the hotel to be just a five minute walk from the ferry stop (and only a 2 minute walk from the bus stop) up on a hill in a gorgeous setting.

Upon arrival, it became immediately clear how lovely and helpful the staff were. Nothing was too much trouble, they were friendly and incredibly helpful (including printing out a bus timetable for us, highlighting the relevant times and showing us where the stop was). It was my birthday on the Sunday, and the hotel kindly arranged champagne to be brought to our room, with a cake and chocolates as a gift from the hotel. Just lovely!

When we were showed to our room, the views proved to be absolutely incredible. Definitely book a lakeside room - it's essential!!! You can see the snow-topped mountains, the lovely town of Gravedona and the beautiful lake all in one view. It's amazing! Down below is the hotel's terrace area, private beach and pool, which is just gorgeous.

The town of Gravedona is absolutely lovely, and by far our favourite of all the towns we visited on the lake. The restaurants and gelaterias are fantastic! It's a gorgeous, sheltered little town, with all the connections (whether by ferry or by bus).

All in all, a fantastic holiday at Hotel Regina in Gravedona - we would go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: A lake view room is a must!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BGR90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Hotel itself is simple but functional and very clean. Room was a very good size and included one queen bed a single bed. We also had a door to a balcony overlooking Lake Como. The view of the lake from the balcony was absolutely perfect and we were able to leave the window open at night, keeping the room nice and cool. The sound of the waves crashing to the beach during the night was wonderful and quite soothing.

Reception staff was welcoming, and spoke good English. There was sufficient free parking for the car. WiFi was free and had decent signal in our room. Although at times it was a little slow. Breakfast was adequate, a mix of American and European foods. It was on par with other hotel breakfasts we have had in Italy.

The hotel was a in a good location for us to explore the area around Lake Como. Driving here is not for the faint of heart, which is true for most of Italy.

Room Tip: If possible request a lake view room, you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CO719_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

If you want a true lakeside view of Lake Como this hotel has one of the best locations to achieve this. We had a room on the second floor which have their own verandas, table, parasol and reclining chairs. The rooms are very clean with FreeSat TV (although very limited English Channels), kettle, safe, small fridge and en suite. The hotel offers a varied breakfast choice in a very well presented room with excellent views of Lake Como and the choice of tables outside on the terrace area. There are bar meals available, salads, throughout the day if you wish to take advantage of the pool and sun loungers. A 5 min walk into Gravedona offers a number of bars and restaurants serving traditional dishes. There is also a small super market to top up snacks and drinks as the hotel does not have an evening meal service. Gravedona also allows easy access to the boat service which traverses Lake Como. This hotel offers great value for money and that is how I have reflected the review. The staff are very friendly and welcoming. There is also a very well equipped gym which again looks out over Lake Como. Again great value for money and from what I have seen offers unrivalled views that more expensive hotels can not match.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor have the large verandas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wayne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at the Regina, the highlight of the stay was the amazing view from the room, it is beautiful.
The hotel has been renovated and all the rooms are clean and tidy.
The pool and pool ares are excellent with more than enough sunloungers.
Unfortunately we found the hotel noisy at night when you are trying to sleep, the tiled floors dont help when people are moving furniture in the room above.
We would recommend the hotel when staying in Gravedona but perhaps take ear plugs !

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank bethoSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gravedona
22.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
826 reviews
12.1 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
850 reviews
12.3 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
12.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,119 reviews
17.1 mi away
Albergo Ristorante La Torre
Albergo Ristorante La Torre
#2 of 2 in Castiglione d'Intelvi
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Regina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regina

Address: Via Regina Levante 18, 22015, Gravedona, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Gravedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Gravedona
Price Range: $109 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Regina 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Far away from the hustle and bustle and from daily worries, Hotel Regina is the perfect location for a relaxing holiday in an exclusive though cozy and homely environment, where our priority is your complete satisfaction. Ideally located on the lake side and immersed in the peace and beauty of an incomparable landscape, the recently renewed Hotel Regina gives a unique opportunity to those who wish to discover the wonders of Lake Como. Being a family-owned and run hotel, we offer unpretentious service making you feel relaxed, unhurried and a little pampered. The hotel is directly on the lake and it has a private beach, a brand new panoramic heated swimming pool right on the lake and a sun terrace with free sun beds and parasols. You can relax on your room balcony, gazing across the lake, unwind on our panoramic sun terrace, sunbathe or go for a swim. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Regina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regina Hotel Gravedona
Hotel Regina Gravedona, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing