We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Regina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Regina
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Gravedona
Certificate of Excellence
Reading
Level Contributor
305 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

Excellent Hotel but needs air con! We had a 2 night stay at this hotel and loved it. I believe it is family run, and the staff were very helpful and service good. Room was spotlessly clean as was the whole hotel, gardens, pool area etc. Possibly the cleanest hotel I've ever stayed in.
We were on the 3rd Floor with absolutely stunning views down Lake Como. The room was fairly compact as was the bathroom but the views from the balcony more than compensated. There was a small fridge which was useful. The pool was lovely with decent sun loungers. It was chilly but refreshing! The breakfast was ok. The Free Wi Fi we liked. The main negatives was the room was very warm at night and if you left a window open (as we did one night) we were infested with flying insects. (although the cleaner came straight away and sorted them out!) Air con really would make this a 4 star hotel.
the other slight negative was the lack of a restaurant. I'm surprised at this as the hotel has a superb dining room with panoramic views. It would have been nice to perhaps have the odd meal here. However there are a few restaurants within a 10 minute walk. I would certainly recommend this hotel and hope to return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larnerdarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    84
    14
    5
    0
See reviews for
43
147
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NOWRA
Level Contributor
88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed a nice stay in this well run hotel. Everything is as it should be with courteous staff,clean well maintained rooms and an excellent location with fantastic views and good facilities throughout the hotel.there is no restaurant as such ,but a gentle 5 min walk gives you many options and the opportunity to enjoy the scenery by the lake.
When we arrived we were given the option of 2 different rooms and upon being shown the first one we said that it would do as we were happy with it,and the young man that was showing us the room suggested that we should view the other option which turned out to be the better option for us.We found this young mans professionalism very refreshing as most establishments would take the easy way out and just get you in to take your money.As we enjoyed our stay and looked around this hotel it became obvious that they have VERRY HIGH standards and take pride in providing an enjoyable experience for their guests.
BRAVO from two well travelled Australians who will be recommending this fine Hotel to our many friends as it represents excellent value in clean comfortable surroundings.
The owners and staff are to be commended!!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barrsalona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

Just back from our 4th trip to Gravedona and the Hotel Regina. This spot is a real gem and a great find. As usual our stay was so so relaxing and the staff cannot do enough for you. We stayed in a room with views over the lake from our balcony and our bathroom window. Days were spent lazing on sun lougers by the pool or in the garden and evenings were spent having dinner in some of the many scrumptious restaurants in the area. Da Lui in nearby Domaso was delicious, serving authentic Italian cuisine and if it's pizza your after, Garbatona in Gravedona is a must (most delicious pizza ever!). If you are planning a trip to this area, don't hesitate in booking the Hotel Regina as in my experience it is hard to find somewhere as special this!

Room Tip: It goes without saying that you must absolutely book a room with a lake view ... simply stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbug247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

This hotel is everything we hoped it would be. We chose it for the fact that it had balconies overlooking the lake. We were hoping for incredible views and we were not disappointed. The room we had was on the top floor and a bit larger than the others. It was clear, comfortable and modern. Even the bathroom had a fantastic view over the lake to the white capped mountains beyond. The staff were very friendly, although the hotel could have done with more than more person doing everything - we thought it must be triplets as the guy seemed to be everywhere at once. The breakfast was lovely with both hot and cold buffet on offer. It was a shame that they could not offer an evening meal though as it was quite a walk into the town to find a restaurant.

Room Tip: Choose the top floor for the best views or the superior rooms on the 2nd floor if you want a large b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindafire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

Gravedonna is a small resort focused town at the top of Lake Como and within an hour of the Swiss border. The Regina Hotel is a small hotel located just off the main road with lakeside frontage and swimming pool. Despite having the pool, which undoubtedly gets you extra star ratings, this is a three star hotel.

Rooms and bathrooms are a good size and clean with standard furniture in good repair. Pay the extra and have the lake view, as on a sunny day it is very beautiful. Third floor, lake side rooms have a small balcony, and second floor rooms have their own sun terrace.

Lawn area with sun loungers overlooking lake and small pool. Steps to lake shore, but outflow of nearby mountain stream perhaps makes lake swimming cold and dangerous with strong currents.

Staff spoke multiple languages and were always very helpful.

Breakfast was standard Italian hotel fare, with hot and cold options, fruit, brioche, and cereals. Complimentary International papers, only previous day old, a nice addition.

No restaurant within hotel, but numerous dining establishments within a 10-15 minute walk or 5 minute drive. Perfect in the summer, but many close during the winter months restricting availability, especially on a Monday evening.

Hotel access and parking is steeply inclined (as down to the lake) but adequate.

If you want to spend two hours getting here from Milan, winding your way through all the lakeside towns and villages, then follow the signs and go up the left side of the lake. If you just want to get there in half the time, use the faster dual carriageway on the right side of the lake, heading for Colico, then it’s only a 15 minute run around the top of the lake. Not as pretty, but faster and perhaps less stressful if you don’t drive in Italy frequently.

Apparently the neighbouring village of Dongo is where Mussolini was apprehended in 1943 trying to escape into Switzerland.

Would definitely stay here again, hopefully for longer than one night

Room Tip: Pay the extra to have a lake side room as views are stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PEM67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint James, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

This was out second trip to the area. Gravedona and the hotel are fantastic! Everyone was super friendly and helpful. The views from the balcony were unbelievable.

Room Tip: Get a room with a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
204 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2011

Views from the Lake View rooms are to die for, older style hotel with basic facilities and older style furniture, tiny shower recess, no air-conditioning and if you open the French doors at night bugs come in so the room gets stuffy. Small balcony on top floors bigger on lower floors. Breakfast good with great views from the dining room. Pool and lake side terrace with lounges. Staff not particularly friendly. TV with some English channels.

All the basic things pale into insignificance once you sit on your balcony and look at the views.

Room Tip: Definitely stay in a Lake View Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gravedona
12.1 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
22.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
12.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Aurora
Hotel Villa Aurora
#1 of 2 in Lezzeno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
11.7 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
3.6 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#1 of 1 in Sorico
5.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Regina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regina

Property: Hotel Regina
Address: Via Regina Levante 18, 22015, Gravedona, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Gravedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Gravedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Regina 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Far away from the hustle and bustle and from daily worries, Hotel Regina is the perfect location for a relaxing holiday in an exclusive though cozy and homely environment, where our priority is your complete satisfaction. Ideally located on the lake side and immersed in the peace and beauty of an incomparable landscape, the recently renewed Hotel Regina gives a unique opportunity to those who wish to discover the wonders of Lake Como. Being a family-owned and run hotel, we offer unpretentious service making you feel relaxed, unhurried and a little pampered. The hotel is directly on the lake and it has a private beach, a brand new panoramic heated swimming pool right on the lake and a sun terrace with free sun beds and parasols. You can relax on your room balcony, gazing across the lake, unwind on our panoramic sun terrace, sunbathe or go for a swim. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Regina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regina Hotel Gravedona
Hotel Regina Gravedona, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing