We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Moorings Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 8 Portmagee B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
cork
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“short stay”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Was just staying overnight this time but had been here before. Very friendly little guesthouse with lovely spacious rooms. Wonderful breakfast with a smile. Made us feel very much at home. will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 234marley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    82
    29
    4
    0
See reviews for
68
165
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Just returned from spending New Years in Portmagee for the first time - December 29th - January 1st.. Had heard much about it but never been here. Well now I know what I have been missing. What a time. We stayed at the Moorings guesthouse. We asked for a delux room with a harbour view. it was brilliant. Spacious, clean, tidy, inviting, bright and well worth the money and journey down from Dublin (240 miles door to door). The bed was at least 6ft wide, if not more. There was a sitting room for watching tv. Really great. The bathroom was grand. The shower was a real power shower which was a great massager. There was a jacussi bath as well - did'nt use it (not a bath person!!!). Then there was the food. Well we knew it was going to be great and it was. No reduction in standards we experienced during the summer break. The service was fast and friendly. The food was tasty and plenty of it.
We did a bit a driving round. The weather was mixed - wild storms, crazy winds, heavy rain and stunning views. The colours we saw were unreal.
Then came the big night. Much work was done to get the place ready. All the locals were involved. This year the whole event was broadcast live on the web. The weather improved for the traditional parade of the 'the old year' as they call it. (This parade has happened every year for over 200 years - French in origin. Check it out on the web.) When he 'dies' the new year jumps around the place. There were men bearing big firey torches with loads of flames and smoke, a pipe band parading up and down the street followed by all who wished to participate. We did. It was crazy but great. A massive crowd was there. At least 2000 people came from far and wide. The music and dancing went on late!!! Nothing rowdy - very family orientated.
So two parts to this report - 1 The Moorings delux rooms/food - A+; 2 The New Years Eve Parade and event - A+ for sheer madness and craic. I defy anyone not to have some bit of fun at this event.

Room Tip: Delux rooms with harbour view well worth the extra cost for the more mature visitor (50+) like mysel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Portmagee has most certainly become my home away from home. This small, friendly, welcoming fishing village is just so beautiful and peaceful. Something that you most certainly will not find any place else. Right in the centre of the village is The Moorings Guesthouse, It is like the heart and soul of the place. Always something happening weather it is in the guesthouse, bar or the gorgeous little gift shop. The accommodation was outstanding, very clean, homely and comfortable. The food was outstanding in both bar & restaurant. The staff here were so friendly, always had time for there customers but would also be sure to get the job done. After many years returning back to this beautiful place, the extremely high standards of work ethic still grabs my attention every time. Can't wait for my next return back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aoife R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We arrived at Portmagee after a long day of driving from Kilkenny to the tip of the Ring of Kerry. It was cold and getting dark outside but the Moorings was warm and welcoming. Our room was large and clean. Great tub in the bathroom. We slept well and had room to spread out a bit. In the morning we took a recommended walk out to Bray Head and then returned for breakfast. Meals in the pub and restaurant were all wonderful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portaferry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

what a great find. we had stayed on valentia island before and eaten at this place but this was our first stay. well worth the 360 mile drive from where we live. lovely views of valentia island and portmagee harbour from our room. pay the extra for a seaview room they are by far more superior more like a 4 star hotel suite, even a Jacuzzi bath. nice warm cosy and quiet room. we had room 2 which is above the gift shop, the best room. the gift shop is really good with lots of locally made things. the bar and restaurant are fabulous, food was good. breakfast was good too. we have booked again for spring break. we couldn't praise this place enough, if you want a nice weekend away from it all there is no better. we had a spectacular thunderstorm on one of the nights which made it even more wonderful. great base for trips to skelligs , which is a must do from april to September, weather permitting. can't wait to return to this magical part of Ireland. don't tell too many people, keep the place special for ourselves!

Room Tip: you can park right outside or across the road in car park. small foodstore 100 meters away otherwise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tralee, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

How I wish I could get away every weekend to this wonderful hostelry where hospitality isn't simply a sales strategy but something that genuinely flows from deep inside the staff and proprietors. Set in one of the most peaceful and beautiful fishing villages you're ever likely to come across, the aptly named Moorings sits just back from the pier so that regardless of your room, you wake up in the morning to the sounds of the cleats and the gulls. The view of Valentia Island across the water and, if the weather permits, Cahersiveen protected by the sloping mountains is always breathtaking.

Our dinner and breakfast were as always superb. Our room - one in which we hadn't stayed previously - had a king-size double and two singles and a jacuzzi. Spotlessly cleam and very comfortable with high end towels and excellent toiletries. Our only regret was that we had to leave very early the next morning.

I don't know of any other guesthouse (really a hotel) more conducive to destressing.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent and spacious and newly furnished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coedoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We were only in the pub for lunch after a wonderful boat trip to the Skelligs with Pat Joe Murphy on board the SHELLUNA. The chowder was nice but nothing special. The desserts and coffee were good and staff plentiful plus helpful. However we could'nt see fully out of the window to savour the natural beauty of the place due to the many local notices stuck all over the glass






.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HUNGRYANGLER2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portmagee
4.3 mi away
Royal Valentia Hotel
Royal Valentia Hotel
#1 of 1 in Knightstown
240 reviews
21.5 mi away
Parknasilla Resort & Spa
17.7 mi away
Dingle Skellig Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Skellig Ring House Hostel
Skellig Ring House Hostel
#1 of 2 in Portmagee
66 reviews
0.0 mi away
Carraig Liath House
Carraig Liath House
#3 of 9 in Valentia Island
209 reviews
7.2 mi away
QC's Townhouse
QC's Townhouse
#1 of 19 in Cahersiveen
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moorings Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moorings Guesthouse

Property: The Moorings Guesthouse
Address: Main Street, Portmagee, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Portmagee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Portmagee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled into the picturesque seafront of Portmagee, the Moorings Guesthouse overlooks the village's busy working harbour. Just a 30 second walk from the pier, where boats leave for the Skelligs every morning, and right at the heart of village life, there's simply nowhere more convenient to base yourself when you stay in Portmagee. Offering 16 rooms in total, the owners have created a calm and surprisingly luxurious ambience through the use of traditional yet contemporary furnishings with crisp, clean lines of soft ivory against vibrant reds. The Moorings strive to deliver personal, attentive service while matching the very best standards in efficiency and attention to detail that you've encountered elsewhere. Room facilities include direct-dial telephone, satellite TV, tea- and coffee-making facilities, iron and ironing board, ensuite marble bathroom with power shower, bath, hairdryer and Gilchrest & Soames toiletries. Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access is available throughout the guesthouse and there is free car parking for guests. There's nothing more endearing than knowing that some of the Hollywood's biggest movie stars like Mark Hamill and Director J.J Abrams have visited the sleepy village of Portmagee, and even sat in the Bridge Bar local pub where Mark Hamill poured a pint of Guinness behind the bar. The Moorings was home to the pre-production team of the Star Wars VII movie and you can visit the room where all the magic took place and listen to the stories told by the staff. The Moorings is open all year round. Great food served all day with traditional music at weekends. Trips to Skellig Michael can be arranged and packages are available from April to September. Cois Cuain gift shop is open from March to January. The Moorings is located in a fishing village with a working harbour, post office, general store, coffee shop, bar, restaurant overlooking Valentia Island. The Moorings received a platinum award for green hospitality in 2013. They have introduced a 'Green' package which offers two nights B&B in The Moorings Guesthouse, a guide to a wildlife shore search and a special '30 mile' menu where all main ingredients are sourced within a 30 mile radius. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Moorings Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Moorings Guesthouse Hotel Portmagee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing