We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”

Casey's Skellig Islands Tours
Quebec City, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

Brendan Casey is THA man. I was staying in Cahersiveen and he gave me a lift to Portmagee. The boat ride was amazing and the waves were huge but I felt totally safe as our captain has been doing this for 25 years and started sailing when he was 6. The visit of the island itselft is very interesting as well. A must do if you are in the area....or not!
50€
45 min boat ride each way
Spend 2h15 on the island

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    13
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Landstuhl, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Highlight of my trip!”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

I have been wanting to go to the Skellig Islands for quite some time . . . I was not dissapointed! The trip was fantastic! The ferry ride out to the Islands was refreshing and the views were amazing! (we even saw some dolphins plaing in the water on the way back). We were given plenty of time on the island to explore . . . A++++

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank nursewyatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Wien, Austria
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Puffins”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We booked the trip via Internet and hoped that it would take place. After five days off, due to bad weather, our trip took place. The passage was very rough, because of high waves and a lot of wind. At Skellig we watched puffins the whole time. In my opinion the way up to the monastery, was too risky to take. Some people already died there. The whole trip was an unique experience!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank PichlerU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The Highlight of our Ireland vacation”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

All I can say is "breathtakingly beautiful"! When we found Skellig Michael on the internet, we hoped the weather would be good enough that the boats would go. We were very fortunate to have superb weather. There is no charge for Skellig itself, but the boat ride is 50 euros.

650 steps (or so) up to the top, and then of course 650 back down, and they were steep. But on the way, we saw literally thousands of puffins up close (within 3 feet sometimes).

The site itself is awesome and there's so much to see. Yes, it's a hard climb to the top and you have to be careful because there are no guard rails down those steep thousand foot or so drops, but it was worth every step of the way. The guide was great also.

As for Brendan, we chose him over several other boat tours because his web site had much more information on Skellig than the others did, and we were not disappointed. We spent a couple of hours on the island and then came back, but before we did, we circled "Little Skellig Island" where there were thousands of seagulls.

If you're in reasonably good shape, you need to make this trip, but I wouldn't take any small children, because it is a dangerous climb.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“You have to do this”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Cannot give this firm enough praise. We were scheduled to go to Skellig Michael but the trip was cancelled due to bad weather. When we asked if we could get on the next day's trip, we were told that unfortunately the boat was full. At breakfast the next morning, one of the hotel personnel informed us that Casey's had called and they got us a spot on the boat. When we got to the dock we learned that the boat owner, feeling sorry for us, had called customers scheduled for that day, asking if they could shift their plans to a day later to open a spot for us. That is above and beyond service.

We were able to take the trip on a beautiful day. It was life changing. If you get the chance, take this tour and by all means "pay it forward" by using this company.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank GooberandRaisinette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casey's Skellig Islands Tours also viewed

County Kerry, Province of Munster
Portmagee, County Kerry
 
Ballinskelligs, County Kerry
 

Been to Casey's Skellig Islands Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing