We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portmagee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Calafont Portmagee Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 8 Portmagee B&B and Inns
Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We had a fantastic stay in big, comfortable, beautiful and clean rooms with a wonderful breakfast! Thank you for your hospitality!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    17
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
36
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

We stayed here for two nights in September and had a lovely large, warm, comfortable upstairs room. Many people choose this location to visit the Skelligs, which is what we intended to do. However we changed our minds after discovering there are 600 steep steps up and it was not the right time of year to see puffins. Still had a fab time visiting the local area. The Bridge Bar pub in the village is very welcoming.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bermuda1Cheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Lovely woman who made us feel warm and welcomed. Nice to chat with and great to hear food recommendations that have a lower price point in mind! Clearly someone with vacation cost in mind as our comfortable, clean stay was great value for two!"

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nnander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2011

I stayed here with 4 of my friends (2 girls and 3 boys in the group). Mary put us in the rooms upstairs, the girls' room and the boys' room. This was great, as it was almost as if we had the top part of the house to ourselves.

We informed Mary in advance of arriving that we had a coeliac, and she did make sure she looked up the ingriedients for the breakfast.
Unfortunately no gluten free bread was offered, but actually my friend could eat almost everything that the others got in the full irish breakfast so it was great!

She also booked us onto Casey's boats for the trip to Skellig Michael, which we all voted at the end of the trip (up along the west coast) as being one of the best things we did during the holiday!

The rooms were spacious and very clean, the bathrooms looked like they had been renovated fairly recently and again very clean.

For the price we paid, this is an excellent choice.
Location wise it was a little further away from the pier than we originally anticipated, but definitely walking distance from the pub!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emimurata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Calafont is a spotless B&B run by the welcoming Mary Cartin, who is very solicitous to make sure her guests get the most from their stay. The short walk down to the village is a delight, passing a rich display of wild roadside flowers, and with views out to sea.
We asked if she knew anywhere in Kenmare to stay the next night - she made a call straight away and came back truly horrified to say they wanted 100 Euro a night for a single room. Mary's price was just 35 single. Whatever about graspers in Kenmare, the value and reputation of Irish B&B is in good hands at Calafont.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank duisdeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

I had great weather for my time in Portmagee and trip to the Skelligs. You get a great view of the sea and the boats from the window of the B&B whilst eating a lovely, substantial breakfast. The rooms were clean and fresh. I stayed downstairs but the rooms upstairs also looked really nice and ideal for families. Mary, the owner, was a genuine, warm and welcoming host. Nothing was too much trouble - she even kept my beer in the fridge for when I got back from the pub (she'll know who I am from that last comment)!! Anyhow, you honestly can't go wrong with this place and I'll be back one day with the rest of the clan. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gjlse546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2011

Mary, you are a gem! The room was perfect but the ceili chat was even better. Wonderful hosting, magnificent setting and great advice. What more could one ask for. It takes approx. 18 minutes to get DOWN to the village and 20 minutes return. Great fun in the dark.

Room Tip: The best room? Where Mary puts you, they are all
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank amadeus46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portmagee
0.0 mi away
The Moorings Guesthouse
The Moorings Guesthouse
#1 of 8 in Portmagee
339 reviews
0.0 mi away
Carraig Liath House
Carraig Liath House
#2 of 9 in Valentia Island
214 reviews
0.0 mi away
Skellig Ring House Hostel
Skellig Ring House Hostel
#1 of 2 in Portmagee
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Waterfront Bed & Breakfast
0.0 mi away
The Ferry Boat Guesthouse
The Ferry Boat Guesthouse
#5 of 8 in Portmagee
18 reviews
0.0 mi away
Portmagee Seaside Cottages
Portmagee Seaside Cottages
#2 of 2 in Portmagee
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calafont Portmagee Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calafont Portmagee Bed & Breakfast

Property: Calafont Portmagee Bed & Breakfast
Address: Skellig Ring Road | Portmagee, Portmagee, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Portmagee
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Portmagee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mary & Paddy Cartin invite you to stay at their modern and stylish fully equipped home overlooking Valentia Island just off the Ring of Kerry. Dramatic views from all guest rooms are guaranteed. Breakfasts from Mary's famous Full Kerry breakfast to Continental are offered. An ideal base for 3 - 4 day stays. We recommend a trip to The Skelligs Rock - spectacular scenery, birdlife and an incredible 6th century monastic settlement - a trip we can arrange and all who go say they will never forget. Also within a 10 minute walk is Reencaheragh Strand - sheltered and safe for swimming - benefiting from the Gulf Stream the water here is remarkably mild (by our standards!) ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing