We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay while visiting the sites of Portmagee/skellig Islands!!!”
Review of Portmagee Heights

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portmagee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Portmagee Heights
Ranked #2 of 8 Portmagee B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay while visiting the sites of Portmagee/skellig Islands!!!”
Reviewed July 21, 2010

Portmagee Heights was a great place to stay during my birthday weekend. The rooms were well appointed & the breakfasts were delicious.
Monica couldn't be more helpful. She arrange our boat out to skellig island & kept us updated on the weather conditions (evening changing our plans at the last moment to take advantage of better weather). She was always attentative to our requests & needs.
Please note: when visiting Portmagee, bring cash. Most restaurants and stores don't accept credit cards (due to it being a seasonal place to visit)

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobmahoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    21
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
41
109
11
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2010

Stayed here recently with a Wolfhound tour. We were placed in the self catering cottage and it was a very nice room. It appeared most of the rooms were recently updated. The B&B is a short walk from the waterfront but it is a nice evening walk up to the house. Being in the cottage our group gathered in the living room after dinner for talk and music lessons.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank epk_alexVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2010

Stayed here for one night before boat ride out to Skellig Islands. Monica (and her daughter) were most helpful in booking boat trip and giving us information about what else to do. Portmagee is literally a Two pub town, so options are limited. This was a very nice place to spend the night.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjblum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthews nc
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2010

We instantly felt as if Monica, the owner of this wonderful B and B, was sincerely happy to meet us and help us in any way possible. She advised us about incredible walks in the area and booked a Skelligs boat trip for us, handling every detail with pleasure. Breakfast was delicious and the house is absolutely gorgeous. It is so different from many B and Bs in Ireland, having the charming atmosphere found in many places but with a definite modern splash. I will leave it to the other reviews to talk about the details---if they lavish compliments on the hostess and the house---believe them! As an added bonus, we met her beautiful children who were courteous and friendly and respectful. Somehow this lady does it ALL---runs a lovely B and B perfectly and raises a admirable family. Don't miss this experience!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmgMatthewsNc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenmare, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2010

Stayed for the second time at Portmagee Heights B&B (2st time Sept 2009) and it was once again very nice. Had one of the brand new upstairs rooms - beds are heavenly; breakfast is good; the proprietress's children are adorable! A great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madeit2Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Texas USA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2010

We stayed at Portmagee Heights one night as a stop over on our tour of the Ring of Kerry. The hostess, Monica, was friendly and welcoming. The rooms were great with thermostats to control the temperatures in each. The radiant heat coming from the floor was heaven! So nice to get up on and not walk on a cold floor - either in the bedroom or bath areas!

Breakfast was great, with a bit of service provided by Monica's youngest son who seemed very shy and yet precocious at the same time. We would have loved getting to know him a little better - he was just so cute!

The location was wonderful, and we had a great night's sleep! Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
Reviewed January 28, 2010

My fiance and I spent 2 nights at the Portmagee heights last weekend and from the moment we set foot in the beautiful slate home we were treated like royalty. We got engaged on a nearby beach at sunset, so anywhere we stayed would have been pretty special but we felt so lucky to have stumbled on to Monica's place. She was interested, friendly and discrete all at the same time. When she found out about our trip her family bought us a wonderful present as they 'wanted us to remember where our first engagement present had come from.'

The room was gorgeous; extremely comfortable with chic, modern decoration and fantastic views of the harbour. The room had its own ensuite bathroom with huge power shower that was a welcome luxury at the end of a hard days hiking in the surrounding countryside. Plenty of hot water too, especially considering the house was heated geothermally.

Portmagee itself is a quaint and pretty little fishing town, we ate a delicious dinner at the local pub and joined the locals in a traditional Irish music set. We spent a day exploring Valentia Island and will definitely return when the route to the Skellig Islands are open. We were lucky with the weather and were strolling around in jeans and tee-shirts while the rest of the UK seemed to be wrapped up in waterproofs and woollies!

What we enjoyed most at our stay at Portmagee Heights was the friendly service and the luxury accommodation with delicious individually prepared breakfasts at very agreeable rates (only E 40 per person per night). The views were like nowhere on earth and the town was colourful and pretty with services and people to match. We felt privileged to have the area almost to ourselves and there is very little that beats a dramatic sun set into the ocean behind the formidable vista of the Skelligs . Out of season is a must for anyone thinking of visiting the ring of Kerry and Portmagee in particular, no crowds, idyllic views where mountain meets sea, warm hospitality and exquisite sea food, simply perfect!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmAndy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portmagee
4.8 mi away
Royal Valentia Hotel
Royal Valentia Hotel
#1 of 1 in Knightstown
240 reviews
21.9 mi away
Parknasilla Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Moorings Guesthouse
The Moorings Guesthouse
#1 of 8 in Portmagee
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Skellig Ring House Hostel
Skellig Ring House Hostel
#1 of 2 in Portmagee
66 reviews
0.4 mi away
Carraig Liath House
Carraig Liath House
#2 of 9 in Valentia Island
209 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shealane Country House
Shealane Country House
#1 of 9 in Valentia Island
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portmagee Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portmagee Heights

Property: Portmagee Heights
Address: Portmagee Heights New Road, Portmagee, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Portmagee
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Portmagee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing