We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, restful”
Review of Portmagee Heights

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portmagee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Portmagee Heights
Ranked #2 of 8 Portmagee B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cedar Park, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location, restful”
Reviewed August 28, 2011

We stayed 2 nights at Portmagee Heights and had a great time. The bed was comfortable and the room was nicely decorated. Breakfast was delicious. They arranged our Skellig Michael boat trip when we booked the room and were very thankful for that.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BethMWC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    21
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
39
106
11
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mendota Heights, Minnesota
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We are a family of four, children aged 10 &13. In late June of 2012 we returned to Ireland to spend a few weeks seeing the country. The first few days we spent in Dublin, and then on to southern Ireland where we had an unfortunate night at a poor quality B&B, but Monica came to our rescue.

We had originally booked the guest cottage with Monica at Portmagee heights B&B for 4 nights, but ended up calling her and at the last minute and getting in 2 nights early. And boy are we ever glad we did!

We stayed at the 3 bedroom, 3 bath, cottage just across the street from the B&B but we took all our breakfasts in the main house. The cottage itself, an old Irish home, is gorgeous, and has been completely remodeled inside. There is even a laundry facility! Monica was very kind and attentive to all our needs and prepared wonderful breakfasts for us every morning. She made reservations for our boat excursion out to Skellig Michael (amazing and a must see).
She was just a real joy to talk to and gave us many wonderful suggestions on places to go and things to see on the Ring of Kerry. She absolutely epitomizes Irish hospitality. Even the beds in the cottage were made up and the towels changed while we were out during the day. She will give you honest information about the local restaurants as well. We simply loved our stay, and can't imagine a better place to explore the Ring from. With Valentia Island right across the bridge it's a wonderful spot.

Thank you Monica!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Prior_Image
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

We are a family of four and we stayed for three days in the housekeeping cottage. A fresh, attractive thoughtful breakfast was included each morning directly across the street in the main location. Monica cheerfully made arrangements for us to visit the Skelligs. The facilities included laundry, full kitchen and three full baths. This place was the highlight of a trip that was GREAT! Perfect for families or couples that want a little more room.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank WITravels1512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trieste, Italy
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

This boutique B and B has a wonderful location , totally peaceful with cows grazing in the adjacent field. The rooms are modern and bright some with gorgeous views over the sea. Monica could not be nicer and really looks after you. A perfect place to visit the Skelligs from which is a fantastic trip. The only thing that would improve this hotel for me would be a guest computer for accessing the internet

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Piccolowalks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Host could not be more gracious and helpful. Irish breakfast was all that it should
be and the pancakes breakfast was much appreciated by my vegetarian wife.

Nice setting overlooking the harbour

Again, wonderful host which makes all the difference

Tom and Charlotte

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Irlander1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antrim, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in June and were really impressed.

The house is beautiful and has great views over the bay in Portmagee. Our room was upstairs, was nicely furnished and super clean. We also found it to be very quiet and private despite there being several groups of guests staying at the same time. Breakfast was lovely too.

Our intention had been to visit Skellig Michael but the boat trips were cancelled due to very bad weather. We hope to return later in the Summer. The owner has helpfully suggested that we call her before we come back and she will check the weather forecast with the coastguard.

All in all, it's a great place to stay with great service. We couldn't fault a thing.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank roscoeroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2011

We had no reservations but stopped here one afternoon and luckily there was a room available in this lovely, modern home. Unfortunately we had a room at the front of the house so did not get the water view but we still really liked it here. I can only imagine that the back and upstairs rooms have spectacular views. From the moment Monica opened the front door we felt very welcome. She had several suggestions on how to spend the afternoon and where to eat later. We followed all her advice and were very happy we did. We had a most memorable time exploring Valentia Island. Later we had a wonderful sleep in the comfy bed, the room was modern yet felt quite luxurious too. Breakfast though was best treat in store for us yet! Hubby ordered the traditional and I was having pancakes and organic fruit. When Monica brought mine out it was beautiful! It should have been in a gourmet magazine. As a matter of fact another guest came over to look at it and then asked if he could take the plate back to his table to show his brother what he was missing out on by ordering the traditional! When he brought it back to me he asked if he could take a picture. It was that pretty and tasted divine! Yum! One of our favourite places and hosts on our Ireland trip.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank juanita58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portmagee
4.8 mi away
Royal Valentia Hotel
Royal Valentia Hotel
#1 of 1 in Knightstown
231 reviews
21.9 mi away
Parknasilla Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Moorings Guesthouse
The Moorings Guesthouse
#1 of 8 in Portmagee
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Skellig Ring House Hostel
Skellig Ring House Hostel
#1 of 2 in Portmagee
66 reviews
0.4 mi away
Carraig Liath House
Carraig Liath House
#2 of 8 in Valentia Island
208 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shealane Country House
Shealane Country House
#1 of 8 in Valentia Island
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portmagee Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portmagee Heights

Property: Portmagee Heights
Address: Portmagee Heights New Road, Portmagee, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Portmagee
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Portmagee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing