We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Bed and Breakfast”
Review of Portmagee Heights

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portmagee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Portmagee Heights
Ranked #2 of 8 Portmagee B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Coral Gables, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Bed and Breakfast”
Reviewed April 27, 2011

Stayed one night with my husband and 10 year old daughter. The owner, Monica, could not have been more helpful. Upon arrival she provided us a map of the area and indicated several points of interest in town. She also arranged a Skellig boat trip for us.The accommodations were very clean, spacious and luxuriously decorated. The room consisted of a double bed and a single bed. Breakfast the following morning was the best we had in Ireland. Upon our departure one of Monica's sons gave our daughter a lovely chocolate Easter egg for the Easter Holiday. If I ever return to Portmagee I will definitely stay at the Portmagee Heights again.

Room Tip: Highly recommend the superior harbour view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank travellove32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    21
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
37
105
11
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2011

The single best b&b I have stayed in anywhere. The room would not be out of place in a 4 star hotel. The service is incredibly friendly and the drive along the coast to get here was awe inspiring.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kwazimojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2011

This is a lovely modern house, warm, comfortable, excellent service and a great view of Valentia Harbour. I woudl reccommend this B&B to all.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ballybit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2010

Great location on the Ring of Kerry. Lots of beautiful scenery to enjoy around it. Lovely modern house, clean, comfortable and warm! Very warm and friendly host.. exactly what we needed after a days driving in the rain!! Stayed in a triple room with my husband and Mum and it was spacious and comfortable (just beware the sloped ceilings!!). Nice views from our windows and woke to the cows mooing outside in the paddock... very nice!! Great cooked breakfast in the morning too. Loved it!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SerephanandMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2010

Loved this place -- it looked sparkling new (th owner said she had re-done the place a few years ago) and everything was very very clean and very charmingly decorated. The breakfast was so tasty -- when we ordered pancakes I thought we'd get regular buttermilk pancakes, but when they arrived, they were like mini German pancakes dusted with powdered sugar and (unlike many other b&bs we stayed at) the fruit surrounding the pancakes was clearly all fresh and served in generous portions. The owner is just so friendly -- when we arrived it felt like it took all of a couple minutes for her to have given us a map of the area, directed us to all the worthwhile local sights and to have made it clear that she could make some calls to arrange any of the local sightseeing tours (such as the Skellig island boats). It was on a hill above Portmagee town, so it had nice views over the landscape -- it was helpful to have a car though. Overall, such a nice experience, really liked this place and it was great value (just as a heads-up, when we stayed there, the owner wasn't accepting credit cards as payment for the night, which she made clear in her e-mail confirmation to us so that we could plan ahead to bring enough cash). Highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nicolasa11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
48 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2010

We arrived at Portmagee Heights just after lunch - partly to make sure we could find it! Monica, although in the middle of cleaning, tidying rooms, was incredibly helpful and very accommodating. Despite the madness around her, she made you feel very welcome and that there was no rush.

This is a stylish B&B - modern with luxury combined with stunning scenery. The underfloor heating in the bathroom was glorious, especially for someone with bad circulation - What a pleasure!

It is easy to walk into Portmagee. The Moorings Pub has a great atmosphere and the food is very good. It does get busy so either book or if you don't mind waiting then sitting at the bar is good fun.

Breakfast at the B&B was incredible. It was a lovely sunny morning so we ate in the garden. Monica made wonderful pancakes with organic fruit. The plate was a picture - absolutely amazing, and it tasted fabulous.

We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dutch_Anglo_Couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2010

Portmagee Heights was a great place to stay during my birthday weekend. The rooms were well appointed & the breakfasts were delicious.
Monica couldn't be more helpful. She arrange our boat out to skellig island & kept us updated on the weather conditions (evening changing our plans at the last moment to take advantage of better weather). She was always attentative to our requests & needs.
Please note: when visiting Portmagee, bring cash. Most restaurants and stores don't accept credit cards (due to it being a seasonal place to visit)

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobmahoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portmagee
4.8 mi away
Royal Valentia Hotel
Royal Valentia Hotel
#1 of 1 in Knightstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
21.9 mi away
Parknasilla Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Moorings Guesthouse
The Moorings Guesthouse
#1 of 8 in Portmagee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Carraig Liath House
Carraig Liath House
#3 of 8 in Valentia Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.2 mi away
Skellig Ring House Hostel
Skellig Ring House Hostel
#1 of 2 in Portmagee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Waterfront Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portmagee Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portmagee Heights

Property: Portmagee Heights
Address: Portmagee Heights New Road, Portmagee, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Portmagee
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Portmagee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing