We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant dog friendly B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bridgeview Farmhouse
Ranked #2 of 3 Kilbrittain B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant dog friendly B&B”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

BridgeView Farmhouse, now what can I say to praise this B&B for there are no words to praise it highly enough. Last June we happened across this place and if ever the saying that “places find you rather than you finding places” well this is validation of such a place. After the long journey from Dublin what a “Gem” we discovered.
The setting is perfect. Nestling halfway up the side of a mountain about 3 miles from the lovely village of Killbrittain, West Cork on a working dairy farm.
Overlooking the West Cork seafront this is the kind of place you can imagine God went to rest on the seventh day.
If you’re looking for a quite, relaxing and get away from it all break then look no further than the BridgeView Farmhouse B&B.
There were 4 of us (3 adults and a child) and boy did we enjoy ourselves, walking, fishing, swimming, talking (Marion the owner is a brilliant host and tour guide, she’s from the locality ) and a nice few cool beers overlooking the sea on the outdoor Patio/Garden we indulging in the best of homemade wholesome food not to mention the most gigantic “Full Irish” I have eaten did I mention COSMOS our dog was with us and had a “Ball” running around the grounds of the house, yeah it’s a dog friendly B&B, it’s the B&B that just keeps giving !
We took a trip to the local Pub where the locals were more than friendly to chat.
We had the freedom of the house, coming and going and eating as we wished.
The owner is a “mind” of information and in between her busy life style she always has time for a chat and a cuppa, a brilliant and inspiring woman.
Her life story is so inspiring it would make one feel like jumping up and running a Marathon on the spot !
I can not recommend the BRIDGEVIEW FARMHOUSE highly enough, it may be off the beaten path but boy is it worth the effort in finding one of Ireland’s hidden gems.
Thank you Marion,

Mel,Edita,Jonas and Sla and Cosmos, see you next year.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeldDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    12
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
28
58
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in June with our twins who are 1 year old, from the moment we arrived we loved the place,beautiful peaceful house with great views. Marion was amazing, she played with the twins, cooked the most amazing breakfasts, helped us do washing, let us use the bath for the twins, organised baby sitters and drove us to dinner at amazing recommendations which she also booked for us, she was brilliant and it was like staying with family. Marion i want your scone recipe & rhubarb recipe please!
We will be back to visit when the twins are a bit older
Thank you

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leskefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narangba
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

We had a great few days rooms were perfect clean with great views to the lake but most of all we were made feel so welcome and Marion is the hostess with the mostess we mean that as a great compliment nothing was any trouble we will be coming back . And you can't forget to mention Lily the black Labrador beautiful dog and yes she does greet you on your way in rain hail or shine .

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 6, 2013

stayed for two nights with our pet dog,Marion is an excellent host,wonderful breakfast,pet friendly,ideal location tucked away in the hill away from Kinsale/clonakilty road,highly recommended excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redline13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merriam, Kansas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

On our first trip to Ireland, we loved the farmhouse location. Marion was very welcoming and had an awesome breakfast. We were greeted with scones and tea along with Lily the dog. We enjoyed our walk up the hill and back down giving us a beautiful view of the area. The cows were also very welcoming following us up and down the hills. We were given great advise on dinner locations and ideas for our drive when we left the farmhouse. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chehalis, Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Marion was a great hostess, as was her dog, Lilly. The grounds are gorgeous and the views spectacular. It was one of the few sunny days we experienced in 3 weeks touring Ireland. Upon arrival, we shown our rooms and then given scones. Rooms are clean and comfortable and location is good for touring the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Marian was wonderful - she is so accommodating and friendly. Her scones were absolutely delicious! She went out of her way to cater to guests with special dietary needs. Her home is lovely. The rooms are quaint and clean and the view from our room ("Bridge") was gorgeous. Definitely worth staying a little off the beaten path. Dinner at the Pink Elephant down the road was lovely as well!

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sonia511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilbrittain
9.6 mi away
Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
4.3 mi away
Glebe Country House
Glebe Country House
#1 of 2 in Bandon
41 reviews
7.5 mi away
Trident Hotel Kinsale
Trident Hotel Kinsale
#2 of 5 in Kinsale
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Actons Hotel Kinsale
Actons Hotel Kinsale
#1 of 5 in Kinsale
894 reviews
0.6 mi away
Seafield Farmhouse B&B
Seafield Farmhouse B&B
#1 of 3 in Kilbrittain
119 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Blue Horizon Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridgeview Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridgeview Farmhouse

Property: Bridgeview Farmhouse
Address: Harbour View | Kilbrittain, Kilbrittain, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kilbrittain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Kilbrittain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bridgeview Farmhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bridgeview Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast accommodation in Kilbrittain Parish is situated midway between Kinsale and Clonakilty 500 metres off R600 in scenic West Cork Ireland. A real Irish welcome awaits you at Bridgeview Farmhouse. This Irish Tourist Board Approved B&B has beautiful views of Courtmacsherry Bay. Bridgeview B&B is within walking distance of the local Gourmet Restaurants Pink Elephant & Irish traditional Pubs. Bridge Farmhouse is a working farm in a peaceful rural landscape. A warm welcome is assured. Tea/coffee and home baking is served on arrival. Private parking is available to guests. Our delicious full Irish breakfast will set you up for a days touring, we serve freshly cooked breakfasts using the finest local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld and HRS so you can book your Bridgeview Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing