We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint and tranquil with breathtaking views” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seafield Farmhouse B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Seafield Farmhouse B&B
Ranked #2 of 3 Kilbrittain B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quaint and tranquil with breathtaking views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Seafield Farmhouse is set in an ideal scenery typical to the West coast of Cork. A perfect resting place to explore the coast and the surrounding villages of West Cork. The farmhouse is surrounded by rolling green pastures of cattle, and children friendly animals, chickens, cats and dogs. The location of the farmhouse is easy to find and is well signed on the road, R600. It is about 10 minutes drive to Timoleague (on the west) and to Ballinspittle (on the east). Eileen Fielding, the host is endearing - very warm, friendly, helpful and welcoming. The service is charming. The bedroom is spacious and clean. The bed is comfortable and warm. The shower is fantastic. Definitely recommend this guesthouse.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnieYHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    14
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
29
58
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
coomba park
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

True, it took us a long time to find the farmhouse but this was not an unusual event during our ten days in Ireland. With the help of a Little old Lady running small store and a subsequent phone call we finally reached our target. And what a reception - Farmer Jonas' wife Eileen Fielding, very friendly and for us wonderfully Irish, frisky young golden retriever Paddy (and stick), Irish music, and homemade scones. A very comfortable farmhouse, surprisingly cosy and warm for my German Partner who had been warned that Irish houses were very cold, and bedroom showing exactly the same view as in the Internet advertisement, completed our enjoyment. Perfect except that Eileen didn´t think she could get the help from her husband to demonstrate the Irish jig, but maybe we will see that on our next visit. Eileen is a real Irish Pearl, and regaled us with Information about farming in that part of the world and the difficulties with her children´s education - they had to drive to Cork each day. In all a fantastic visit, and thoroughly recommended....From Aussie John

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Sadly, we only had one night at Seafield, we could have easily stayed much longer. Upon arrival (and typically, we were running late) we were met with a friendly welcome and a delicious afternoon tea. We also had dinner booked for us at the Pink Elephant, another treat. The house and our room was spotless and I could have spent days gazing at the views of the bay. We found the location out of town was just perfect, so we could enjoy the beautiful peace of being in the countryside. I have the photo of view from our room on my phone as a constant reminder of very happy stay. Thank you again, Eileen for making our day with you so special.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

after getting lost in the country and finally finding the place (with some amazing views across), we were greeted by ileen (the daughter of the woman who runs the place) ileen was lovely and made us feel at home straight away with even offering us to book a table for us in the nearby restaurant if we had no plans for dinner!! she took great care of us even tho we were just staying there was a night!! there are tea/coffee making facilities in the room and ileen got us milk & some biscuits :)) the place is lovely and a family business!! they have cows, dog, cats and chickens and you can see them around the farmhouse!! the views from the front are just breathtaking and you can easily walk around and get lost in the beauty of the surroundings!! bed was very comfortable and cosy and the toilet was equipped with shower gel, shampoo etc !! the breakfast in the morning was just delicious! i had a omelette with toast which my partner had a full irish breakfast!! we were given a choice between the full irish breakfast, salmon or omlette!! freshly made and nice and hot :)) i would defi recommend anyone who is thinking of staying here to defi go ahead and book it !!! you wouldnt regret it :)

Room Tip: try to get the room facing the sea - so you have the lovely views of the farm and the sea from your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neel s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Just returned from 2 weeks self-drive vacation in Ireland and had two wonderful days at Eileen's beautiful Seafield Farmhouse. The family was extemely friendly and helpful and made us feel welcome as soon as we arrived. The room was very comfortable and clean and the view was simply beautiful. It's a little out of the way, about 10Km from Kinsale, but more than worth the effiort to get there. Our thanks to the Fielding family for a wonderful stay. We hope to return some day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
239 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

First off and with nothing against our host, our booking agent sent us all the way to Cork, then back down to Kilbrittain with absolutely wrong directions. What should have taken us 15 minutes from Kensale, took us 1.5 hours to find. There's absolutely nothing out there that is nearby that we would be interested in seeing. It's not an actual working farm, at least not that we could make out. There were some roosters crowing, some caged hens, cats running about, and a nice view of the small bay inlet that definitely added some personality to this out of the way B&B. Our hostess offered us some tea and scones at night, while I watched a bit of tv to relax. That part was nice as it felt "homey". We slept sell, until the rooster crowed. Oh well, we got a taste of the country for sure, and it wasn't as bad as we expected.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cooffwego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed here twice over a week long period. What an excellent welcome after a long drive - easy to find, quiet location with spectacular views. I was met on both occasions with tea and cakes and suggestions for a nearby restaurant for dinner. Thye B&B is midway between Courtmacsherry and Kinsale and both deserve visits albeit they are quite different places.

Bothg the rooms I had were very good although the one at the front provided spectacular views. Tea/coffee making facilities and a small TV in both rooms, both were able to access the wireless internet. The bed was one of the more comfortable I had on my 10 day visit to Ireland ... a good Irish breakfast finished off the visit.

It's about 20 minutes to Kinsale - small town with shops and gift stores, same time to Courtmacsherrry, "a quiet drinking village with a fishing problem". Both well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have unobstructed views across to Courtmacsherry
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin-Poole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilbrittain
8.9 mi away
Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
7.1 mi away
Actons Hotel
Actons Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kinsale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
9.3 mi away
Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Glebe Country House
Glebe Country House
#1 of 2 in Bandon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bridgeview Farmhouse
Bridgeview Farmhouse
#1 of 3 in Kilbrittain
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Blue Horizon Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seafield Farmhouse B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seafield Farmhouse B&B

Property: Seafield Farmhouse B&B
Address: Harbour View, Glaunavaud, Kilbrittain, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kilbrittain
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Kilbrittain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Seafield Farmhouse B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Seafield Farmhouse B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing