We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STAY HERE.”
Review of Gorteen Farmhouse

Gorteen Farmhouse
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gorteen Farmhouse
Ranked #3 of 3 Tulla B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 10, 2009

You will not find a more gracious hostess or a better Irish breakfast in all of Ireland. Our room was clean and bright , hardwood floors and a private bathroom with a power shower! The Gorteen Farmhouse was the perfect home-base for us to tour County Clare from.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa-N-Matt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
There are newer reviews for Gorteen Farmhouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 23 of 23 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2008

My wife, my daughter and me stayed in Gorteen Farmhouse for a week on August 2008.The house is new, very nice, tidy and clean. The room, the bed and the bathroom are spacious and comfortable. The breakfast is excellent, specially the apple bread. The atmosphere is of peace and relax. Our hostess Mary is a very friendly, kind and hardworking person. Gorteen is very well situated to visit the west of Ireland. We were very lucky to choose this B&B and we enjoyed a very good holidays in this
charming country.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
Thank Taull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2008

My husband and I stayed at this charming, clean farmhouse for 2 nights. We arrived in the evening and were welcomed by Mary, our hostess. She made us feel very welcome and showed us to our room. There was an electric blanket on the bed, which she had turned on for us. This kind gesture was repeated the next night as well.

Breakfast was enjoyable, with the choice of cereals, yoghurts, fresh fruit, juice and porridge - two choices here, either plain or with added whisky! There was fresh bread, toast and home made scones to die for! Then of course there was the "full Irish" breakfast. No chance of leaving that table hungry!

There was no tv in the room, but this didn't pose a problem to us.
The breakfast room doubled as a lounge and there was tv available there, if you were desparate!

The bedroom was large and airy, with 2 windows. The bathroom was a really good size and had a bigger than average shower cubicle, with a power shower. Everything was spotlessly clean. If you need a hairdryer you will have to ask for one as they are not left in the rooms.

Don't visit if you want night life, or hustle and bustle because you'll be disappointed. But, if you want peace and quiet, lovely surroundings and walks, together with a friendly welcome in a homely environment, then this is the place to go. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DevonBarbydoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2007

My boyfriend and me wanted to unwind after a hetic period. While wanting to be in a good location and not too far removed, but at the same time in a quiet counrty area, we found ourselves picking a beautiful guesthouse in the country.
20 minutes from Bunratty Castle, half an hour from Shannon Airport 15 minutes from the lovely shopping town "almost city" Ennis, the guesthouse offered us everything that we could wish for and more. Homegrown organic produces available for breakfast and dinners, beautiful country walks around Killane Lake. The guesthouse itsself was warm, comfortable and of a high standard. No shortage of restaurants around the locality.

Stayed: July 2006
2  Thank sunshine2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tulla
5.1 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
1,217 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hillview House Bed & Breakfast Clare
5.4 mi away
Clondanagh Cottage
Clondanagh Cottage
#2 of 3 in Tulla
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gorteen Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gorteen Farmhouse

Address: Dangan, Tulla, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Tulla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Tulla
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Gorteen Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gorteen Farmhouse Ireland/Tulla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing