We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Irish hospitality at its best”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Clondanagh Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Clondanagh Cottage
Ranked #2 of 3 Tulla B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Irish hospitality at its best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

This was my second stay at Clondanagh Cottage and again, it was wonderful. We (2 adults and 3 children 10, 7 and 5) travelled from Dublin and had a really enjoyable visit in July 2013. Dorothy and Michael are born hosts who extend a warm, friendly, natural welcome from the moment you arrive. The cottage is charming, the rooms are clean and spacious, the gardens and surrounding countryside is just beautiful (gentle hills, tiny lakes, green hedgerows) and so peaceful. This year we discovered a couple of new additions since our last visit - alpacas in the barn which the kids were intrigued by and a beautiful wooden chalet hidden away in the orchard that houses a hot tub - the perfect end to a day of exploring. Breakfast is so generous you won't need lunch but if you do Dorothy has a fridge in the dinning room that guests can use for keeping their own snacks etc in and the living room is full of useful maps and guides, games and interesting books. But we had no need of this lovely room as our visit coincided with this year's 'heat wave' so my favourite memory from our visit is of sitting outside at 10.30pm in the warm air with the light just fading from the sky supping a cup of tea Dorothy had made for us listening to Michael playing traditional music on the patio. When you leave you really feel like you have just been visiting with your friends and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nessa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
34
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Torch Lake, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Recently my husband and I and another couple that we were traveling with had the opportunity to stay at Clondanagh Cottage and experience Dorothy's hospitality first hand. The accommodations were roomy, clean and comfortable. She made us feel welcome from the time we arrived until we pulled out of the driveway. The whole family was involved and was warm and welcoming. We were even treated to some music by Daniel and Michael. I had never been to Ireland before and would love to go back, if only to stay at Dorothy's.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

We had a wonderful four-night stay at Dorothy’s lovely B and B. Our room was spacious, comfortable and clean. The breakfasts were ample and delicious. To combat those occasional rainy days, there was a little reading nook with rocker outside our room and the delightfully welcoming hot tub. But best of all, and in my opinion the most important thing staying at a B and B, was Dorothy’s great hospitality. She was happy to chat, answer our questions, give us directions for local sights and walks, get my husband kitted up to go fishing and booked reservations for us at the local pub for music night. This is not a touristy part of Ireland, but if you want to experience real Irish hospitality this is the place to come!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmmtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

While planning our month-long summer vacation online from our Toronto home we were intrigued by the video of Clondanagh Cottage. We wanted a farm experience for the kids and were not disappointed upon arriving for our 4-day stay.

Dorothy & Michael are the quintessential hosts with Irish charm & hospitality to spare. Our family of four (children 6 & 4) delighted in the surroundings with donkeys, alpacas ("Thing 1 & Thing 2"), chickens, horses, dogs "Sheila" & "Guinness" & "Steve" the cat.

From early morning walks to gathering fresh eggs from the hen house; from fishing at the lake to feeding the dozen donkeys - it was a textbook country stay - capped off with a live command performance by the extremely talented multi-instrumentally proficient musical family. A treat indeed.

Internet capability allowed me to go online & get some necessary work done. The proximity to town is a relatively short drive to shops & pubs. And it was a great base for our adventures to the caves, the cliffs, the Burren and beyond to the Aran Islands.

Clondanagh provided the most wonderful rural experience that I know the children will remember their whole lives and we will cherish forever. However, in the event my memory starts to fade in the years ahead we are already planning to visit again in future to top-up the memory bank just for safe keeping.

Thanks again, Dorothy & Michael.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rory O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eglish,Tyrone
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Ardóidh Clondanagh Cottage do chroí. (Clondanagh Cottage will uplift your heart.)
Royal treatment was bestowed on us from the moment we trundled up the drive way till our sad departure from Tulla. The highlights - where to start?... Well there was the all-embracing warmth of the family, the beautiful rustic charm of the house which was an architectural delight, the menagerie of animals who were on guard to salute us (dogs, ponies, goats, alpacas). Dorothy is an Irish domestic goddess. Everything is made to appear effortless: the well kept rooms, the sumptuous meals, the maintenance of the virtual nature reserve outside and the treasures inside (not least the heaving shelves of Irish books), and the wonderful jars of chutney and jam made of homegrown berries. She makes all her guests feel special and goes the extra mile (literally) for them. Bringing our 15-month-old daughter here was not only made easy, but turned into a precious memory. Traditional Clare, especially its musical tradition, echoes around the place.
Is seoda náisiúnta an áit seo. (Clondanagh Cottage is a national treasure.)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmcanallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quimper, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

My second visit to Clondanagh Cottage. And for good reason. Situated in a East Clare, close by Tulla, I have only good memories of my two visits here. Where to start? The welcome - why not. Warm, generous, informative, helpful. The rooms - clean, comfortable, spacious. The food - I can only speak for the breakfast (we ate out for the other meals) - copious, fresh, tasty, Irish!

During the day active people like myself have no shortage of things to do. It is of course great walking and cycling country, soft Clare hills in the distance, countryside polka-dotted with small lakes. And if you fancy a bit of pike fishing, well this is definitely the place to go. Take the boat out on the lake and reel them in!

Speaking of reels, Christy Moore once said that if you wanted music, you should go to Clare. Well, he was dead right. The sessions in this part of Clare are second to none. And Michael and friends playing reels and jigs and singing soft ballads in Pepper's Bar was the perfect finish to a wonderful day's fishing. What I really liked in the sessions in the pubs was the way they were organised. Musicians play for a while, then the "fear an ti" calls on people to sing. I can guarantee you that you will be surprised by the talent on display!! And if you fancy joining in, then you are made welcome as the flowers in May.....

I could go on...and on... but I think you have understood. If you are thinking of taking a break in Clare, you should definitely put Clondanagh Cottage on your list of "musts". Dorothy and Michael will make sure that your visit is as unforgettable as mine was.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Ciaran K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kittery Point me
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Clondanagh Cottage is truly a magical place. Finding it was a bit iffy - tiny roads with overgrown vines and an ancient stone ruin and not many signs, but just take Dorothy up on her offer to meet you in Tulla if you're not feeling adventurous.
The lake is peaceful, and the animals are sweet. I didn't meet the donkeys - they're shy - but my husband did.
Food was excellent, house was very interesting architecturally, but the most wonderful parts of spending 3 days there were our free-ranging conversations with Dorothy, and her recommendation to spend an evening at the local pub where people sang from the heart.
We went to several great B&Bs, and this one was THE BEST- no contest!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tulla
3.6 mi away
Hillview House Bed & Breakfast Clare
0.0 mi away
Clareville House B&B
Clareville House B&B
#1 of 1 in Tuamgraney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
5.8 mi away
East Clare Golf Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Gorteen Farmhouse
Gorteen Farmhouse
#3 of 3 in Tulla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Clondanagh Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clondanagh Cottage

Property: Clondanagh Cottage
Address: Clondanagh, Tulla, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Tulla
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Tulla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional cottage accommodation overlooking Clondanagh Lake with Free use of OUTDOOR HOT TUB Spa. Set on 40 acre Donkeyfarm with horses, alpacas, goats, chickens. All rooms ensuite and Free Use of Boats, Kayaks on our lake in front of house. Transport to local restaurants. Perfect location for walkers, anglers and fans of Traditional Music. Shannon Airport and Bunratty Castle only 30minutes. We are 1hour from West Clare coast and Cliffs of Moher, Doolin etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Clondanagh Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clondanagh Cottage Ireland/Tulla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing