We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not sure we'd come back”
Review of The Peligoni Club

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Agios Nikolaos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Peligoni Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Having had a great press from our daughter who worked here last year, we were very much looking forward to our holiday.
There is no doubt the club is very attractive, the management ( Ben Shearer) contrary to other reviews seemed genuinley concerned that we had a good time, and was extremely helpful in a minor emergency ( lost car keys).
However, as in other reviews, the alcohol/teenager mix was a problem for us. Travelling with an 18 and 14 year old we were appalled that older kids had been buying spirits for our younger son, the staff are apparently "blind" to this and it would serve the management well to address this issue.
As for the sunbeds, yes, if you don't get there by 10am you are unlikely to get a spot, despite a pep talk by Ben about not reserving beds, we saw people take over three decks where nobody ever appeared, pretty irritating! Although we never saw staff using them, as others have.
The food at lunchtime was OK and actually we never had a problem with waiting, although the pizzas always came at least 10 minutes before everything else. The party nights are from a gourmet point of view, not worth it, and the wine is average and expensive, remembering we are on a remote island!
Funnily enough our 18 year old whom we fully expected to want to go and work there when he finishes school next year, was quite ambivalent, " maybe" he said. Pretty much sums it up.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
7  Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 97 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2011

The good things about Peligoni 1) great setting 2) fabulous weather 3) tasteful surroundings 4) lovely boat boys 5) good (if repetitive) food. The bad things about Peligoni 1) there are not enough sun beds - too many memberships had been sold this year and time after time my family and I were unable to get a sunbed on the waterfront. Not good enough for this very expensive holiday. Staff use the beds on their days off even when clearly not enough for fee paying guests - this is deeply irritating! 2) Ben, the owner's son, and his girlfriend Bella, are distinctly unfriendly. There is an air of arrogance about them and they do not seem to have empowered any of their staff to take decisions in their absence so nothing gets done on their days off. Ben is the "Managing Director"...and, despite the fact that he is to be seen eating in the restaurant almost every day, I never once saw him circulating and talking to guests or doing any "managing". Bella seems to have had a sense of humour bypass and never smiles. Peligoni is good in lots of ways, despite this pair, not because of them. It should be fantastic and could be with the right management team. 3) the wine is very expensive. End of week bill was enormous and there are no local alternative bars.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank pudibear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peligoniclub, Owner at The Peligoni Club, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2011

Thank you very much for your feedback, we take all feedback both positive, but more importantly negative, very seriously indeed.

With regards to The Club's capacity, we do try our best to accommodate our guests needs and desires in as many areas as possible, in the particular case of the sunbed capacity at The Club we increased capacity by a factor of 20% this year, both at the pool and on the beachfront. We can comfortably accommodate the 240 guests over these two areas, nevertheless in this case i can only apologize if in the week you were here there proved to be insufficient sunbeds by the sea. We will look into this issue for next year to see if there is any scope to increase our capacity in this area.
On the issue of staff use of sunbeds...the staff are under specific instructions not to use the sunbeds by the sea at any point, they are permitted to use the pool area when they are not working provided there is space for them to do so we believe this is part of the charm of Peligoni that the staff are encouraged to mingle with the guests. All the same I will look into this issue with a view to other alternatives in the future.

with regards to the wine, we have found that the in-expensive local wines to be found in Zakynthos are not of a sufficient quality to serve at the Club. As a result we import fantastic wine from France, and Italy, with regards to the pricing of it 23% Vat is a killer, nevertheless, i don't believe you could find wine of a similar quality anywhere on the island for less than you can can at The Club

On the issue of Myself and Bella, we have been running The Club and the UK side of our operation, for three years. We have been a driving force in the development of The Club, its brand and its service, to bring it to the level it is at now.
Both Bella and i spend a lot of our time in Greece chatting and on occasion eating with guests many of whom we have become close friends with. We do like to eat lunch front of house, when we can, not only because we feel the food is exceptional but also it means we can interact with guests and critique the food and service to ensure it is always improving.

I am sure you can appreciate that in a company that bends over backwards for 240 guests at a time and employs 70 staff between the ages of 18 and 25 it can, at times, be hard to smile all the time!! We do do our best and will take this criticism on board in the future.
Thanks again,
Kindest regards
Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

I spent a long time researching hotels and places to stay for a group of 10 friends, young professionals living in London, hoping to spend a week in the sun with lots to do in a beautiful setting....Peligoni does just that. It was the most beautiful place - super chilled and full of friendly faces ready and waiting to look after us. Whether you fancied a chill out time in the spa or more adventurous activities out in the sea Peligoni offers the lot.

This was the best holiday I have ever been on and I am planning on going year after year!!

Thank you so much Ben, Bella and the team who gaves us all a fantastic holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tash H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Its hard to find places where you can switch off from work and genuinely unwind - for me Peligoni is that place. The staff (who become more like friends) are superb, the ambience is beautiful yet homely, the weather never lets you down, my favourite unwind is sunset backgammon with a bottle of rose or a Mythos - then again, also to be tried are the table tennis (amazingly competitive!), tennis (suggest early morning), sailing, windsurfing (definately take the beach boys up on a lesson for this), kayaking to the blue caves first thing (before your morning coffee and toastie (recommend the ham, cheese and onion). I saw someone complained about the partying below - there are some party nights (I think its twice a week) but its pretty chilled and you can join is as much or as little as you want (from what I could see everyone loved them). For me, its the perfect place to unwind (something I find pretty difficult to do) - a million thanks to the team at Peligoni for another cracking holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil_RR173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

A lot of money to spend listening to the staff partying while the guests sit in the bar with the shutters drawn and unable to buy drinks . Yet another one of those holidays where a lot of the time you feel that the staff are more important than the guests.

Beach has been shut most of the week either because of no wind or too much wind

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
10  Thank Kaz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peligoniclub, Owner at The Peligoni Club, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2011

We are very sorry that your stay at The Club did not exceed your expectations.

With regards to the Bar.
The Bar at the Club closes most nights at midnight or later, on one occasion on the 26th of August we closed it at 11 o' clock for a "staff awards ceremony", on that evening we had just one family (of a Staff member) booked in for dinner, who were very happy for us to close the bar early.
I found out, once this review was posted, that another group had come into the bar after it was closed, i can only apologize for this, it was a one-off occasion.

With regards to the weather, we never close the beach unless there is a safety concern. unfortunately in the week in question, the wind direction meant that on two days there was a large "on- shore" swell driven by this rare, on-shore, wind direction. Given the nature of our set- up, and the rocky landscape, we could not guarantee safe entry and exit to the water. As a result the "beach" was closed and the watersports staff put on other land-based activities for the younger guests.
There have been no more than 6 days in 15 weeks this season that the beach was closed. Regrettably, two of the days you were with us the beach could not open and on two further days the beach was forced to open late for the same reasons listed above.

if you have any further feedback please do email me directly and i will be happy to discuss any suggestions you might have regarding The Club.

Kindest regards
Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Stayed in Peligoni mid-July for 2 weeks with a mixture of family and friends.

The aesthetics of the club itself were gorgeous - very rustic but perfect for the Greek setting. Lots of cushioned areas in the shade as well as a decent pool. No beach although that is common of this part of the island. Instead there are several decking areas on the slope down into the sea, with access to the sea granted by a diving board or ladder. The sea was a refreshing temperature and great for a quick dip (necessary with temperatures averaging 33/34'C). Several backgammon boards dotted around the seating areas and a mini library with a small but varied range of books you can borrow in case you forgot yours. A tennis court is available to book but bring trainers and be warned you may melt whilst playing! The food was delicious, although I personally found the normal dinner menu quite rich for the climate. The lunch menu was fantastic - lots of nice light salads, a pizza/pasta menu and kids menu. There were also some slight changes day to day which was good considering how often we ate there. However, everyone else also seemed to enjoy eating there, and the lunch service could be quite slow. It was not unusual to have to wait 20 minutes at lunchtime before menus were even brought to the table, let alone food. If sat behind the corner of the bar, service seemed to be a lot slower than on the main area or horseshoe seating arrangements. The club was at full capacity during the time we stayed there (approx. 240 guests) so more waitresses/waiters ought to have been roped in to make the lunch service more efficient.

If you want to cook for yourself, there is a small supermarket in St. Nicholas' port which has a decent range of basic foodstuffs with a butchers next door offering fresh cuts of meat and fish. For restaurants, I would highly recommend Niko's restaurant in the hamlet of Mikro Nissi - a varied menu which was extremely well-executed. The restaurant recommended to us by the club owners was Sophia's restaurant in Ano Volimes, although I wouldn't make the effort to go back. There's also a typical greek taverna near the emerald deluxe villas called The Windmill which also does a delivery service if you're feeling lazy. Much preferred this one to Sophia's.

The party nights (Wed and Sat) are also popular. Communal tables for the kids, teenagers and adults are set up, although for the 18 to 25s (of whom there were a few) it's harder to know where to sit. A hog roast (wed) and BBQ (sat) is the food on offer. Although these nights start at 8pm, adults shouldn't expect to be sat down and eating before 9.30ish as kids and teenagers are served first. The meal is followed by a disco at which point the bar gets pretty busy and the teens hit the dance floor.

Peligoni has created a niche customer base for itself in the families that come here every year with their teenagers. For those younger children, there is no real kids club, only one young woman organising activities such as waterpolo games in the pool who also seems to double as a waitress. Don't expect the younger ones to be completely taken care off during the day. Older children aged 18 plus will find the atmosphere at the club to be pretty young; although the staff are mostly students, they do have a job to do. Lots of the staff seem to be more interested in having a holiday themselves than ensuring the best customer service for their guests. Case in point: staff who had time off during the day would use the limited sun beds at the club, despite there being paying guests for whom there were no free sun beds.

For those aged 13 to 17 Peligoni is the probably one of the best holidays. Lots of other people your age, watersports activities if you want them, a social nightlife... (first-timers with teenagers ought to know that you're not likely to see much of them during the holiday; they'll want to spend as much time with their friends as possible during the day and night). Teenagers are given free reign and I can understand how appealing that is for them and how nice it is for mum and dad to have some time off.

However, parents be warned: alcohol is available to these teenagers. The club policy of giving red wristbands to those whose parents have allowed to order beer and wine or orange wristbands for everything alcoholic is not strictly enforced. Besides that, it is easy for an older friend to order several drinks and then pass them on to the younger teens. The staff encourage teenagers to go to the nearby bars down the road where they also frequent. For those who are staying in villas this either means staying with a friend who lives closer to the bar or relying on the taxi service of mum and dad. Of course, teenagers + alcohol is always a highly volatile combination. Over indulgence is common and one morning after a party night I had to wait whilst a girl (who can't have been older than 14) threw up into the toilet. Some of the staff are required to do a sweep of the club during party nights to ensure there are no young couples (staff included) are doing inappropriate things on the sunbeds by the pool etc.

Peligoni has an informal feel but it is a more upmarket resort (so don't be too surprised by the bill at the end of your holiday!). For watersports fanatics it's great dependent upon the wind which only flares up mid to late afternoon, as another reviewer mentioned. However, I would only recommend this place to parents with teenagers who don't mind their children experimenting liberally with alcohol. There seemed to be less younger children around and older children will probably come back from the bar complaining how out of place they felt because it was stuffed with underage teens. Peligoni isn't for everyone, but can be a great holiday for the right people.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
15  Thank YoungAdultAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peligoniclub, Owner at The Peligoni Club, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2011

Thank you very much for your thoughtful feedback, you make many valid points that i will certainly look into with a view to improvements and policy changes for next year.

We have already looked into some of the points you have covered, for example waiting times at lunch, which have since fallen with the addition of two or three more waiting staff.

With regards to alcohol, our policy changes for this year have been well supported by the majority of parents. In a country in which anyone of any age can walk into a mini market and buy whatever they want, we feel we find a balance that suits the majority.
I would make the point that we do not under any circumstances allow under 18s to order alcohol without the express permission of their parents, in the form of a red or orange band. and nobody under the age of 16 is allowed to buy or consume any alcohol outside of the immediate company of their parents at dinner for example.
Further, the bar staff are also under strict instruction to use the policy: one band, one drink.
If teens without this band were able to get a hold of alcoholic drinks this is more than likely a case of teens planting drinks outside somewhere around The Club to go back to later. In order to combat this we have two senior staff who patrol The Club on party nights ensuring that nobody tries to get into the sea/pool or is consuming alcoholic drinks of any kind without a band. In the rare case that this does happen those teens are escorted to their parents or back to their accommodation immediately.

I would mention that the vast majority of party nights have no issues of the kind mentioned, and we are constantly liaising with parents on any further suggestions they might have for party nights and for The Club in general. we will take this feedback very seriously and will look at what options we can pursue in the future.
Kindest Regards
Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

We have just returned from a wonderful week with our two teenage children and their friends. Our daughter went to Peligoni with friends last year and others have highly recommended the Club, hence we decided to try it. The Club itself is perfectly set up with excellent watersports - be aware that the sea is very flat until mid-afternoon i.e. perfect for waterskiing, ringos and kayaks but not for sailing. From mid-afternoon the wind picks up and is ideal for sailing and windsufing. It can be busy but there is not often a wait for a boat. The cost of the watersports package is expensive but you can take out equipment or have a lesson at any time - two of us had a windsurf lesson for over an hour and it was very good, with Paul a very patient instructor.

The food at Peligoni is very good - not cheap, but varied. The Peligoni staff are largely University students, and they genuinely seem to have a great time whilst working - there is a young, vibrant atmosphere. We went on the Blue Caves trip - well worth doing. Two party nights are very popular, and around the club are papers to borrow and backgammon sets, plus lots of comfy sofas in the shade.

We stayed in Blue Caves Crystal, which was a fantastic villa with wonderful views out to sea. One thing to note is that some teenagers like to go out drinking until the small hours and our villa was too far away for them to walk back - we acted as the taxi service, which was fine but be prepared.

There is a supermarket by the harbour, which is well stocked (and they are happy to exchange coins for notes). The car hire was organised by the Club and worked well, even if we were struggling up the hills in second! We ate out at Nicko's and a fabulous taverna (can't remember the name but run by Sophie's) - it's in Volimes and we went back a second time - the Peligoni staff will tell you the name.

We all had a great week, with the opportunity to do our own thing when we wanted to - we would very much recommend Peligoni - just don't fret about the prices - it's not cheap!

Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
2  Thank lizzyb28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peligoniclub, Owner at The Peligoni Club, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2011

Thank you very much for your kind and constructive feedback, we look forward to seeing you again soon.
All the best
Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Nikolaos
8.3 mi away
Mabely Grand Hotel
Mabely Grand Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kampi
721 reviews
9 mi away
Lesante Blu Exclusive Beach Resort
6.9 mi away
Clear Horizon
Clear Horizon
#4 of 5 in Ammoudi
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
1,276 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lithies Boutique Hotel
Lithies Boutique Hotel
#1 of 1 in Korithi
135 reviews
19.6 mi away
Alegria Villas
Alegria Villas
#4 of 38 in Vasilikos
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peligoni Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peligoni Club

Address: Agios Nikolaos | Skinari, Agios Nikolaos, Volimes, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Volimes > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Price Range: $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
The Peligoni Club Hotel Agios Nikolaos
Peligoni Hotel Agios Nikolaos
The Peligoni Hotel
The Peligoni Club Zakynthos, Greece - Agios Nikolaos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing