We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of our Holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bella Aurora & Thalassa

Bella Aurora & Thalassa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Come! Sail away with us on a memorable voyage.You will board our authentic Brigantine Thalassa at the picturesque old port of Fira.We will set sail for the small port of the volcano. When we arrive your guide will lead you up to the rim of the volcanic crater where smoke rises up and the stones are hot to the touch. Remember to bring good walking shoes and a hat to protect you from the sun.Leaving the volcano, our ship heads for the “hot springs”. There you can bathe in the warm waters (don’t forget your bathing suite and towel) . During the remainder of our voyage, we pass by Thirassia, where you have the chance to swim again in the blue crystal cleal waters while the captain and his crew prepare plenty of traditional Greek meze (appetizers) and you’ll have the chance to taste the renowned wine from Santorini. Next we come to the northern tip of Santorini and the town of Ia with its two small seaports Ammoudi and Armeni. From our sailing boat we have a unique vantage point for viewing the lovely traditional settlement of Ia. Here you can relax and enjoy the beautiful scenery.Then we will set the sails and head back to Fira enjoying the wine and live saxophone music as the sun magically sets into the sea.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Maleny, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Highlight of our Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

We had such a wonderful relaxing time on this cruise.
The information about the Geology & Landscape of Santorini was very enlightening.
The Crater has to be seen to be believed.
The crew were so friendly & hospitable. The food delicious, & the music set the tone.
The sunset seen from this beautiful sailing vessel was unforgetable.
An experience not to be missed

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Doug S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    542
    72
    10
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
2 reviews
“exceptional trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

From start to finish, this tour was unique and such a pleasant experience! The guide was really knowledgeable, spoke perfect english and shared some really amazing insights about the island and history of the volcano. The boat itself is a beautiful ship with large sails and a fun crew, as well. There were several places to jump out and swim near the hot springs and Thirassia - such beautiful water.

The sunset really was amazing, accompanied by wine, food and saxophone!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank alexandra t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing adventure exploring Santorini”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

This was really awesome! Definetly above & beyond my expectations. We walked up the volcano, swam in the hot (luke warm) springs, had an awesome dinner & watched the sunset with the saxaphone playing in the back ground. Very well executed tour! We had a ball! Never will forget this :)

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Briffr85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fun & Adventure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Its like a pirate boat, with all the sails and even a cannon ;-) Its exciting to get even onto the boat. We took the Sailing and Sunset tour. Our program was:
- Visit of the Volcano (1h)
- Swimming in Hot Springs or Thirassia Island (regarding weather forecast), Greek mezzes / food and Santorini white wine on board.
- Sailing for Oia, Armeni and Amoudi ports
- Hoistings sails (if the wind is not too strong) and sunset on board, saxophonist on board.
- Back at Fira after the sunset
All this takes about 4 hours or so. And its fun. When they open the sails at sun set - the boat looks just magnificent. Loved it !! Sunset from the boat looks stunning. And you get to see other boats sailing and the saxophone playing along -- wow !!

What could they do better: The food they offered was not great. Should have been better for sure esp. if you are charged Euro 50 per person. Also, they serve only white wine, while the popular Vinsanto Red wine would be appreciated more.
We enjoyed it and would recommend it strongly.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ssuri81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rubí, Catalonia, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice excursion in Santorini”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

We did the excursion in September 2012, recommended by the hotel admin. They took us from our hotel in Kamari, and return there after the excursion.

I thinks it's a really great excursion for couples.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Juanjo_Ruiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bella Aurora & Thalassa also viewed

Firostefani, Santorini
Imerovigli, Santorini
 

Been to Bella Aurora & Thalassa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing