We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LOVED it here- would return!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Alexander Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alexander Villas
Montreal
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“LOVED it here- would return!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

This little gem is great value for the money. We stayed in Villa #5 for most of our stay, but on night 1 they had to accommodate us in another room as #5 was not available. No worries, though, on a scorching day, we got to enjoy the pool at their sister hotel. Hotel staff were impeccable from the moment they picked us up at the port to our last night when the hotel manager personally drove us to the airport at 5 AM when no taxis were to be found. Definitely ask for one of suites by the plunge pool as it does get quite hot and having that little pool was the luxury we loved most. Greece can get quite hot! The breakfast was great, too, always a bowl of yogurt, fresh fruit, bread and cake, hot coffee, and served with a smile. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Villa #5 has the plunge pool in front. However, the room has the bed on a mezzanine level, which can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cat2ou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    24
    11
    8
    15
See reviews for
8
71
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We've just spent our two week honeymoon at Alexander Villa's and were not disappointed.
First off the location, wow absolutely breathtaking! You could't ask for a better view :) We stayed in Villa 5 overlooking the caldera, our semi private terrace situated next to the villa's plunge pool.

The pool is communal however the villa did provide the privacy we required; as it is elevated up away from the public footpath. A must as there is a constant stream of tourists that shuttle through Imerovigli.

The villa itself was romantic, charming, clean & full of character. We had a loft style bed which may not be suitable for everyone. The staff were friendly & helpful with breakfast being served daily to your room.

We were 95% satisfied with our choice. Our only criticisms RE: Alexander Villas; extra storage, brighter lighting, new towels (bit tired). Also it's fair to state facilities at Alexander's sister hotel could do with some attention, broken gym equipment & the bar could be made to feel more welcoming of an evening with candles, music etc

Overall, excellent accommodation & value for money in such a prime location. With a complimentary bottle of champagne upon arrival I would not hesitate in recommending Alexander Villas to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trinketbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

The service and the place was so beautiful.
We got upgraded to another suite too which was an extra bonus.
So romantic for our honeymoon destination! The view is so breathtaking and the place is just relaxing. I was never unhappy with anything. I would definitely go back here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loretta82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed for a week at the beginning of September, having spent weeks dithering over which hotel to book! It was a fantastic holiday and we didn't want to leave.

Imerovigli is an excellent location with gorgeous views over the caldera, volcano and both the north and south of the island.

I believe all of the rooms at Alexander Villas have good views, we stayed in a suite (room 7) which had a large private terrace with its own jacuzzi, sunbeds, parasol, table and chairs and other seating which really gave it the wow factor as the view isn't obstructed by any other rooms. We had a pretty church right next to us on one side which meant we saw a lot of weddings go past! The only thing spoiling the view is a power cable with a pole right in front of the terrace, but I was aware of this from previous reviews here so it wasn't a shock and wasn't a problem. Breakfast was served on the terrace every morning which was lovely.

Worth bearing in mind you don't get the most impressive view of the sunset directly from the room, but if you go to La Maison restaurant (just a couple of minutes along the cliff top path towards Fira) you get a fantastic view, and there is also another great vantage point from an old church literally just round the corner from the villas.

The main pool for the villa can be seen from the terrace, you have to go up and down a few sets of stairs to get to it but its worth it - its not heated though so best saved for cooling down after a walk to Fira! You can also use the pool at the sister hotel Kallisto (where you also check in and check out) which we did, it was a bit larger than the dipping pool at the villas, again unheated but lovely peaceful pool.

The rooms were a little bit tired (couple of loose tiles in the bathroom for example) but still looked fine. The bedroom was large and airy with a huge comfy bed, great views, aircon and plenty of storage for clothes. We had a basic kitchenette in a little cave room which had a very useful proper fridge rather than a minibar, and further little cave rooms for the toilet and shower - basic, but perfectly fine. Santorini is a very expensive place if you are going to go for a caldera view location so having the seen the cost of some of the other places nearby this is actually pretty good value!

The staff were all very attentive and any problems remedied very quickly. We found the wifi was weak in the room but fine out on our terrace.

Overall we had a great time and for our budget were very pleased with the villas, would definitely consider a return visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank keenbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in Alexander Villas in the first week of September for our honeymoon and we generally very much enjoyed our experience.

Positive - Location, location, location. Imerovigli is a charming, calm, safe place. There are great restaurants nearby and you can walk to Fira and even to Oia. It is a great place for exploring the island. The hotel is easy to find and you have amazing views from the rooms and swimming pool. The swimming pool is located at the edge of a perfect small terrace with comfortable furniture. we were able to relax after riding a scooter around the island. It was just perfect. The room we stayed at was quite basic with a very nice balcony where we had breakfast overlooking the caldera... You really cant get much better. Staff was always helpful.

Not so great - we found it a bit expensive... but when comparing it with other hotels next door it was not so bad since prices there can be quite irrational. However for the price we paid we expected a bit more quality and comfort in the room. Even though it was a nice place we had the feeling that everything was a bit cheap in the room and that there was not a lot of attention paid to details - towels were old, the safe felt unsafe since you could walk away with it and there was no minibar - just a small empty fridge - however you could always order anything from the reception. Breakfast was ok but not any better than the one we got in hotels that costed 5 times less.

Even if I found it a bit expensive I would still strongly recommend this place for its location, views and swimming pool. Great for couples.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caetano_Braganca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

CHECK BEFORE YOU STAY HERE!! Even though we had booked and paid for this hotel, upon arrival we were informed there were simply no rooms due to an over booking. The manager even confirmed he was aware of this a month prior to our arrival but failed to notify us??!! Our 5 days stay was split between 2 hotels in a completely different area and hotel rating. It was extremely disappointing and a nuisance moving around. The management were fully obliged to find alternative accommodation of the same calibre but failed to do so and did not seem to care.
I would not risk making a booking here ever again!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dora K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Imerovigli hotels

Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed for one week in room number four (if remembered correctly). This room has a good private terrace right above the pool.

Pros: I am not overstating by saying the location is breathtakingly beautiful and beyond, the terrace facing the Caldera. As mentioned, we got the room with a private terrace (as some other rooms have to share the terrace with other guests). The breakfast was delivered every morning to the terrace, which was a pure joy. The rooms inside the caves are quite cool all day long.

Cons: The rooms are not quite as spectacular as it seems in the website pictures, but they're not bad either. The shower is a bit tricky as there is not good enough ventilation to dry the place up - the steam fills the small room and the bedroom as well, so it is better to shower just before you're leaving the room. The furniture is a bit worn out, but it did not bother me, as did none of the things mentioned before, as for the first priority to this trip I had been looking for a spectacular view from our room balcony, and I definitely got that.

Notes: People with difficulties with walking should know there is lot of stairs to the hotel reception from the parking spot, and to the room from the reception, but that is the case in the whole island. If you cannot walk around, you do not get the real experience. People with small children: If you are considering taking a baby buggy to the island, don't. There is no use, we tried. Take a baby carrier or sling instead.

Room Tip: Ask for the room above the pool, with a private terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AstaSoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Imerovigli hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kallisto
Hotel Kallisto
#44 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nefeli Homes
Nefeli Homes
#40 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
1.0 mi away
Xenones Filotera
Xenones Filotera
#27 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
San Antonio Suites
San Antonio Suites
#10 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tholos Resort
Tholos Resort
#29 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
0.1 mi away
Irida Santorini
Irida Santorini
#10 of 46 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Villas

Property: Alexander Villas
Address: Imerovigli 84701, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexander Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Orbitz, Bookgreece.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alexander Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Villas Hotel Imerovigli
Alexander Villas Santorini/Imerovigli, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing