We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced hotel with zero service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alexander Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alexander Villas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Overpriced hotel with zero service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2011

My husband and I stayed in Alexander Villas for 1 night. We had originally planned to stay in Meli Meli but due to a booking error, they "upgraded" us to a junior suite in a different hotel. We were excited about the upgrade until we saw the room. Don't be fooled by the pictures on their website or on Booking.com. The pool is ridiculously small; the pictures of the pool on their website are distorted to make it appear larger. Our room was on the small side for a junior suite and the bedroom seemed sticky and a little dirty. I will say, however, that the bathroom was very large and disproportionally nicer than the bedroom itself. We were told that we had Wi-Fi at check-in but learned that the connection didn't work at all.

In terms of service, management is pretty bad. First, Alexander Villas doesn't have a front desk. You have to check-in at the front-desk of one of their other properties. I have no idea how you would learn this information on your own. Additionally, no one ever offered to help us with our bags even when they saw us struggling with them. Even when we booked transportation to the port the next day, they never asked us if we would need help with our luggage.

On the positive side, the view of the caldera from our room was beautiful and breakfast is top notch. You get to choose your menu from a list of items (I recommend the Greek Omelet-it was super tasty) and have the option to eat in your room or on the terrace of one of their other properties. All in all, if we had actually spent 280euros on the room ourselves, we would have been extremely disappointed.

One last thing, if at all possible, I would skip this whole town altogether. Maybe I'm biased because we had just come from Oia which is lively and vibrant, but we found the town completely void of any personality. It was eerily quiet and there wasn't a lot to do
In summary, look elsewhere-this place is not worth the money.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kfabbri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    24
    11
    8
    15
See reviews for
8
71
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2011

Inaccessible by taxi, we were left standing in the hot sun over half an hour waiting for help with our bags. The reception is located in another hotel and staff are not keen for you to know the location. Service was non-existant. For example, the hairdryer in our room was broken and although I requested one 3 times by phone as well as going up to the reception where they said one was on its way, it didn't arrive in the 1 1/2 hours they had to deliver it before we went out. Similarly, I requested a taxi airport transfer be ordered for us 3 times with no confirmation and on the day we ended up having to take a mini bus.
The rooms are adequate but the mezzanine level bed makes it very hot for sleeping as the air conditioning doesn't reach it. Breakfast is poor.
The view is lovely and pool area reasonably nice but there is plenty of competition in this area. I would definately stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank highstandards82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Imerovigli hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2010

I went to Santorini in Octorber and stay in Alexander Villas ( 2 nights) and Kalisto Hotel (5 nights) in Imerovigli.

1. Best area for couple is Imerovigli ( I checked most of area in Santorini.)
( Reason : 1.The best view of Santorini. I like it more than oia 2. Quite and very relaxing)
2. Traditional style of interior ( something new)
3.Reasonable price compare the other hotels.
4.Nice service
5.As we stay in Alexander villa we could have also our breakfast in outside seating area of Kalisto Hotel with great view.
6 Pictures of Alexander villas's homepage shows the swimming pool biger than reality but room was similar.
7.Pictures of Kalisto hotel's homepage has nice sightseeing from balcony and the reality is better than the picture becuase you can not really catch the view with camera.
8.We had no problem to park our car near by bus station.
9.Restaurant Anesti was very good ....You should try there Biftagi? ( Burger with cheese) Very tasty and it costs only 8.50 Euro.
10.All restaurants in Santorine charge you between 50 cent to 1 Euro for breads and they bring it to you without asking. You should tell them if you do not want it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PANDA0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inca, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2010

I went to this hotel with my partner for our honeymoon. The ubication is excellent as Immerovigli is the most beautiful village in Santorini. You can enjoy the abundant breakfast on your own veranda with breathtaking views. The village has a small living with a sofa, a table with 2 chairs and a wardrobe. The bathroom is a bit small but renovated and the shower works very well. To go to the bedroom you have to go up with a ladder which I would not recommend to old people or children. The bed is king size and very confortable. The room is fresh. Wardrobe is ok. The decoration is typical from the islands. The swimming pool is not very big but is very nice and is not crowded. You can also use the swimming pool of hotel Kallisto, 50 mts far. The service and staff are very friendly.
As negative point I would say that the access to this villa as to the most in Immerovigli is a path with many steps so it is not reccommended to go with children. At least this villa is on the top so you don't have to go down a lot.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CristinaM8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Tx
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2009

This place is incredible- just like the pictures. Nestled in amongst the cliffs overlooking the bay, the view is incredible. More incredible was Antiglione, our hostess. She met us, brought breakfast to the terrace, helped with arrangements, and even drew up romantic adventures for us (complete with hand-drawn map), The balconies are NOT private, as we'd thought. Food was lovely and the room really did feel like someone had plunked a resort room into a cave. Wear sensible shoes and prepare to be lost, though, as you must go up and down around other accomodations to get anywhere in town. We will return.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dwardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shanghai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2008

We booked one double room three weeks ago. And ensured booking by several e-mails. When we reached the hotel on July24, they cheated us with no rooms, and led us to another hotel. Finally we had to accept a worst room in that hotel. We are terribly disappointed the credit of this "Alexander Villa".

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
6 Thank shouxf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly S Wales
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2008

Hi one and all my wife and I have just returned from Santorini and although the island is glorious we wish to pass on a few tips on our accomodation.We stayed at Alexander Villas and the view was stunning,not so the accomodation.If we'd been 30ish no problem,being 60ish big problem as besides limited room the bed was a glorified bunk arrangement which although the bed was large
was accessed by steep steps with limited head room once in bed.
When querying this with the manager I was told it was my fault for being 6ft plus as they were designed for people her size (about 5ft 2)She promised to try and source more suitable rooms but nothing came of it,I think she hid from us for a few days.
Our response,go to Santorini stay in Imerovigli for the view but stay if you can at The Phenix hotel directly below us where for the same price,probably cheaper on the net you will have good rooms plus a pool,and a great manager named Simos who will look after you well
and is charming and thoroughly professional.

  • Liked — The position and view
  • Disliked — awful bedroom
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jane&Pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Imerovigli hotels
1.0 mi away
Xenones Filotera
Xenones Filotera
#26 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kallisto
Hotel Kallisto
#45 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
1.7 mi away
San Antonio Suites
San Antonio Suites
#10 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Nefeli Homes
Nefeli Homes
#39 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.2 mi away
Above Blue Suites
Above Blue Suites
#2 of 29 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aqua Luxury Suites
Aqua Luxury Suites
#7 of 29 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Villas

Property: Alexander Villas
Address: Imerovigli 84701, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexander Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Alexander Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Villas Hotel Imerovigli
Alexander Villas Santorini/Imerovigli, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing