We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best ever place I stay in santorini”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Caldera's Memories

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Caldera's Memories
Certificate of Excellence
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
1 review
“The best ever place I stay in santorini”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

I visit Santorini many times and stay at different hotels, this time I had to find a place with no more then a few steps and it had to be at Imerovigli with the view to the Caldera the reason, my bone cancer. Well it was not easy it took me 3 months but what I find was more at the Caldera's Memories. A parking next to my apt. 4 steps away, a very clean room, privet balcony, a big swimming pool, a breakfast for a King every morning with a panoramic view, I will never forget the hospitality of the owners, they went out of their way to help me. The price was the best I ever pay .I had a panoramic view, the most beautiful sunset from my balcony I wish I had stay longer. No more looking for the best place for me I found my magical place CALDERA'S MEMORIES thank you I will see you again soon and stay longer

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alextsokliloukas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    27
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
233
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Excellent hotel services!!! The bedroom is very organized and clean; the owners of the hotel are very friendly and always available to help; from the bedroom and swingpool you have an amazing view to the Eagean Sea; near from the main turistics points...

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcelorodrisilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in our trip to Santorini. First time that my girlfriend was in Santorini, and we absolutely loved it.

The room was immaculate with an amazing view. The room was very comfortable, contained a living room, a kitchenette, bathroom, and a romantic bedroom on the second floor (duplex-style). The room had a traditional island decoration which was a nice change from modern hotels. Truly gave you the feeling of being on the island.

The view from our balcony was simply breath-taking.

The hostess Koula was extremely hospitable and helpful in providing suggestions for things to do and arranging for our activities. Breakfast was great, and the view from the eating area again simply amazing.

As it relates to location, it is certainly not in the center of Imerovigli, nevertheless a very walkable distance (10 mins). We enjoyed the fact that it was a bit more serene than being in the middle of the village. Santorini certainly offers partying but should not be your destination if that is what you are looking for.

We did rent an ATV for part of our stay while on the island to go around (Koula was again helpful in suggesting a reliable and safe rental agency). However, we also did walk one night to Imerovigli when we did not have our ATV. We walked along the main road (can also take the path on the hill), and it was totally safe. The buses also stop very close to the hotel, although we personally did not use them. Koula also arranged for our transportation from the airport and to the port when we were leaving (for a reasonable extra fee).

Other thoughts: The room did have a small LCD TV and wireless internet (for no extra charge). Did use the internet to check briefly on a few things. I would suggest losing the remote if you are in Santorini, do not waste your time watching TV, however it is there if you want it. I also remember reading a review somewhere about the bathroom/shower being too small. If you read the same review, do not know what this person was talking about, we found the bathroom and shower to be totally comfortable (and we know what small is, living in NY).

Overall if you want an amazing place to stay in Santorini, would definitely recommend Caldera's Memories, and it is absolutely a no-brainer if you are renting a car/scooter/ATV. My girlfriend's parents are visiting Santorini this year, and our first attempt will be to book them at Caldera's Memories.

Finally would also suggest the daily boat-trip that Koula can book you for. Will write another review for that.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrishMaimouditsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

The Hotel is very nice with a very nice views of the caldera. The hotel owner" Koula" is WONDERFUL. she is always smiling and very helpful. she talks and knows everyone in the hotel and taking care of all guests. I recommend this hotel for anyone going to Santorini.
Extremely new experience.

Room Tip: upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tubar294201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maleny, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

After 40 years my wife & I recently returned to Santorini for a visit.
We stayed at Caldera’s Memories near Imerovigli.
Whilst much has changed during that time, I am pleased to say that the famous Greek Hospitality & Friendliness that we received from Koula & Michalis is definitely unchanged.
Located a short distance from the village of Imerovigli, these Apartments are perfect for those who cherish peace & tranquillity. Built in the traditional style, they blend into the landscape. The view overlooking the caldera is spectacular – each day a different masterpiece.
The accommodation is extremely comfortable & serviced to perfection every day.
You could not want more.
The pool is a great size & has plenty of space to lounge around the perimeter.
Do not miss out on the Jacuzzi in the Windmill!
Breakfast is served by Lena, the housekeeper, in the Gazebo overlooking the spectacular crater. Her lovely smile is a great way to start the day.
A rental car is recommended to be able to see the many sights on this island.
Koula was helpful in arranging that for us.
On site Parking, which is a problem in some areas, is abundant here.
There is a great walking track from here to Imerovigli where you can find plenty of good Tavernas, but I recommend a Taxi home!.
Doug & Sandra Steindl -Australia

Room Tip: Upstairs has the perfect view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

My wife and I chose this romantic hotel for our 30th Wedding Anniversary after reading the reports on Trip Advisor. What can we say that has not already been said before.
Caldera's Memories felt like home from the moment we arrived. We were met by Koula ( Owner/Manager ) with a smile and greeting that many reserve for very special friends or family. We were taken up and shown our room that had one of the best views of the Caldera. In the room we had a welcome fruit basket and a bottle of local white wine that we enjoyed whilst watching the sunset.
Koula organized everything without any hiccups or problems, from the pickup at the airport to drop off at the port, a sunset boat cruise, directions to local tavernas etc "
The home cooked breakfast was filling and very nice - It changed daily, the Greek Yogurt with homemade syrup and sultanas had my wife asking for the recipe.
The views of the Caldera are SPECTACULAR!!
We stayed for only five days and now that we are back home we wished we stayed another ten.
Highly Recommend this Hotel to anyone looking for a Romantic Getaway
If we could put Ten Star Ratings on this hotel we would.
Georgios & Pat

Room Tip: Any of the upstairs rooms for best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abeldog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Caldera’s Memories for four nights at the beginning of September. We can only echo all the wonderful praise and comments that previous reviewers have used for this beautiful place and its lovely owner, Koula.

We were arriving on the morning ferry from Heraklion and were so pleased that we had accepted Koula’s offer to have us picked up. It was absolute mayhem down in the little port and 20 Euro seemed a price well worth paying to be whisked away and taken to Caldera’s Memories without any hassle at all.

We had one of the upstairs apartments (in fact, I believe we may have been “upgraded” to the suite) which was lovely, clean, spacious and full of character (we loved the upstairs open-planned “bedroom”). Breakfast down by the pool was lovely and very varied and Koula’s assistant Michelle was an absolute sweetheart. There was one morning where due to the strong wind we even had our breakfast brought up to our room!

The pool is large albeit a bit chilly and the sun terrace amazing – beautiful views and complete privacy (unlike all the overpriced accommodation in Imerovigli itself where people practically walk across each other’s sun-decks!) We even got free use of the jacuzzi which was a thoroughly indulgent experience given the fantastic view towards Oia.

The path from Fira to Oia skirts Caldera’s Memories so you only need to descend a couple of steps and can set off in either direction. You are also only a few steps from the main road to Oia (there’s a taverna less than 3 minutes’ walk away if you want to be lazy and don’t feel like going any further for dinner). We ate at Anogi in Imerovigli's main square (lovely food, no view - Estia next door seemed equally popular), Tasos (the local tavern down the road - so,so) and, on Koula's recommendation, Dimitris down in Ammoudi Bay down the cliff road from Oia - which was outstanding in every respect (fabulous food, amazing sunset views without having to jostle for position with the crowds up in Oia!)

We did hire a car for the day to go to Akrotiri, Red Beach and a few of the inland towns (go to Pyrgos – it’s lovely and to Art Space, an art gallery plus wine cellar in Exo Gounia!). The rental was arranged by Koula in a couple of minutes and the car hire company not only dropped off the car at Caldera’s Memories but even drove us to the airport for free the next day.

Koula also arranged a sunset cruise to the caldera, hot springs (not so hot!) and Oia for us on a beautiful tall ship called the Thalassa, definitely worth doing and again, the company collected us directly from Caldera’s Memories and dropped us back afterwards.

All in all, we enjoyed five beautiful, relaxing days at this accommodation and would highly recommend it to anybody.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NCVienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Imerovigli hotels
0.3 mi away
Afroessa Hotel
Afroessa Hotel
#7 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#15 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.6 mi away
Altana Traditional Houses and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rocabella Santorini Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Santorini Princess
Santorini Princess
#8 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
0.6 mi away
Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caldera's Memories? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caldera's Memories

Property: Caldera's Memories
Address: Imerovigli 84700, Greece (Formerly Caldera Apartments)
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Imerovigli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Caldera's Memories reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caldera`s Memories Hotel Imerovigli
Caldera's Memories Santorini/Imerovigli, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing