We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gizis Exclusive
Nearby Hotels
Santorini Princess(Imerovigli)(Great Value!)
$362
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pegasus Suites & Spa(Imerovigli)
$1,119
$1,050
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Rocabella Santorini Hotel & Spa(Imerovigli)(Great Value!)
$502
$439
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$289
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Iliovasilema Suites(Imerovigli)(Great Value!)
$434
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Astra Suites(Imerovigli)(Great Value!)
$964
$906
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Remezzo Villas(Imerovigli)(Great Value!)
$552
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Heliotopos Hotel(Imerovigli)(Great Value!)
$316
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$820
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Chromata Hotel(Imerovigli)
$638
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (149)
Filter reviews
149 results
Traveler rating
80
35
22
6
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
80
35
22
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool accessbus stopbreakfast providedbed and pillowsan outdoor hot tuboia and firapublic busfree breakfasttoilet paperquad bikesjunior suiteperfect settingcomfortable roomsour night stayamazing roomminute walkprivate jacuzzi
Filter
Updating list...
93 - 98 of 149 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2009

Our first time in Santorini at Gizis hotel was absolutely amazing. The views of the caldera were just outside the door & watching the sunset was perfect from the hotel. The location was nice and quiet, away from the tourist areas, there's a bus stop about 15 mins walk from the hotel to get you to other cities, but i would recommend renting a car, scooter or ATV. The breakfast was simple, tea/coffee or juice with a bun & cake served with butter or jam.

Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank mmaglanq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2009

It was our first trip ever to Santorini and booked this hotel because of the location. My wife and I loved it!! The breakfast included in the price was a basic continental style breakfast with rolls, cake, cheeses, coffee, and juices. But it was good enough for us to get going on our day's adventure!! Our room, like all rooms, had a patio area overlooking the Caldera and probably one of the most beautiful views in the world. Mr. Gizis was so friendly and always up for a good conversation!! He was always available and answered any questions we had. When we asked for an ATV to rent for 2 days, within a few minutes Mr. Makis was waiting to take me to get the rental. Whenever we return to Santorini, we will definitely be staying with them again!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank polobear312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for about a week on our honeymoon. We had a wonderful time and were very happy with the accomodations. We felt like we got a true cultural experience and loved the owner who we felt was very friendly. We are also very happy that we chose to stay in Imerovigli, which is much quieter than Oia and Fira, and less of a tourist destination. We had a car for part of the time and a scooter for most of the time which was a good idea because it allowed us to really explore the island and although you can walk into the small town of Imerovigli, its quite a trek on a hot day. We arrived a day late because of a missed flight, and so I don't think we got the room we originally booked, but instead got one of the less expensive apartments below the pool, but found that it suited our needs very well, and saved us some money. It was clean and very simple, not a luxury hotel, (pretty small, I think maybe 8-12 rooms) but very sweet and had absolutely incredible uninterrupted views from the patio out front. We had a small table with umbrella and chairs outside our room looking out over the caldera where we ate a breakfast of tea or coffee and a roll and cake each morning, and brought dinner and wine back to the hotel sometimes to eat on our patio during the sunset. I would say that the location is awesome if you don't mind driving or hiking into town, or to the other surrounding towns, and its great for those who plan on spending most of their time exploring the island, and aren't as interested in spending all day at their hotel. Right out front looking out over the caldera there is a trail that you can walk to get into the center of town (Immerovigli) and also I think we walked it all the way to Fira one day (about a half hour walk.) We spent most of our days enjoying the island and so really just used the hotel as a comfortable place to sleep, and shower and make into our little place to come home to each day. There is a wonderful restaurant called The Blue Note within walking distance (lots of stairs) that we loved and went to many times during our stay. We are vegan and they had lots of good options for us! The hotel is right on the edge of the cliff, and below it is just scenery which is nice in comparison to some of the other hotels in town where all are stacked seemingly one on top of another on the side of the cliff, which to me seems kind of cramped. This hotel felt more open than that. Nearby there is also a really awesome rocky outcropping called Skaros that you can hike to the top of and we were amazed to find that it was covered in castle ruins! (amazing) If you like hiking and lots of physical activity, definitely go to Skaros for the sunset and also take a boat trip out to the volcano for a hike to the top and a swim in the hot springs! Overall, our experience with this hotel was very wonderful, and I would recommend it for its location (for those who prefer a quieter area with less tourism, and a more authentic Greek experience), friendly and helpful owner, peace and quiet, amazing unforgettable views, access to the main trail, small family-owned personal feel, and for those who are comfortable with simple, nice and functional accomodations, and for the price, because we were going to stay at a more expensive hotel nearby and found that they had the exact same view. We didn't use the pool much, but it was very nice and a great place to have breakfast. If you want to know more, or if you want any recommendations of things to do while in santorini, contact me! I love sharing memories from this fantastic trip!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shelovesadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2008

We discovered Iannis and his hotel after some search in Oia and Thira and when we saw it, it was just great! It was our honeymoon and we will surely comeback someday! It is a clean place, close to a nice greek traditioanal "taverna" (good prices!), where you can enjoy your holiday away from the noise and crowdy places! The view is breathless!It was wonderful!

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ghemuletnina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2007

Our group of 6 just returned from a stay at the Hotel Gizis. In a few words, I would not recommend this place to anyone except the absolute no frills low low low budget traveller. I was very disappointed in the location which was stated as in Imerovigli when in fact you absolutely need to rent a vehicle of some sort to get anywhere. The rooms are cramped and dark and claustrophobic, the showers are tiny and hand held and the toilet was leaking water. The beds were the worst I've ever slept on, lumpy and hard as a rock!! I've stayed in nicer hostels than these rooms. The breakfast is ok, not a traditional greek breakfast like I was expecting, they serve coffee/orange juice with a crusty bun and a cake. On the up side, the pool although very tiny was nice and the view was spectacular. You are definitely paying a premium for the caldera view and nothing else.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Somethinred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews