We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort”
Review of Tholos Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tholos Resort
Ranked #31 of 50 Hotels in Imerovigli
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 8, 2012

This resort in Santorini, Greece was amazing. The accomodations were very nice- breakfast was served on the terrace of our room (overlooking the beautiful Agean) every morning. We were served what we requested the night before. The room was very clean and comfortable. The luggage handlers were very nice as well as the receptionist. We asked for clean towels and an iron and they were brought immediately. We truely enjoyed this resort. The view was absolutely amazing!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Elizabeth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TholosResort, Manager at Tholos Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2012

Dear Elizabeth,

Thank you for your review. It was a real pleasure to have guests like you in our property. We hope to see you again in one of your future trips!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (389)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 389 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

WISIWYG! What you see [in the photos] is what you get. All the rooms will give you the fantastic view of Caldera and the glorious sunset every day.  You are paying for the view when you come to Imerovigli, believe me it's worth it!

The staff are all friendly and very helpful and there is someone on the end of a phone 24*7. With just 12 rooms it is a quiet and intimate establishment and completely restful by the pool. If what you want is to chill then you can do it here. 

The rooms are clean, with fridge, you get TV (local), and Wifi. Bed is comfortable. 

Anna on the Desk and Christos on the bar seem to be around all the time, they make the stay very homely - nothing is too much trouble. 

The restaurants nearby are of a very good standard so if you didn't want to wonder around the Island you are very well served for food here. 

HOWEVER, if you do want to go further a field then the place to go is 1500BC in Fira.!  By far and away the best restaurant on the island; you get what you pay for... It's not cheap!

The walk into Fira along the coast path is fun although a 'hot work out' in the heat of the day!

A return visit to Santorini and Tholos is on the cards!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ARWTAReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TholosResort, Manager at Tholos Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2012

Dear guests,

A great thank you from all of us for choosing our property for your vacations and for taking the time to leave a review for Tholos Resort. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the place, the food, the hotel and our service. We are looking forward to see you again in Imerovigli soon...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Magnificent view , friendly people , romantic room, very good service , excellent food.
We were in the hotel facilities (pool,bar, balcony, room) most of the time of our vacations in Santorini, as we felt unhappy the few times we decided to leave it for sightseeing.
We are looking for the next opportunity to stay at Tholos resort.
We had the best of our holidays. !

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KostaskaiTea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TholosResort, Manager at Tholos Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing Tholos Resort for your vacations and for leaving a review for us. We are glad to hear that you are looking the next opportunity to stay in our place. The opportunity is posted in this page. Check our offers and announcements here in TripAdvisor and take pat in our big draw to win 5 Days / 4 Nights in Tholos! We are looking forward to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Tholos Resort was an oasis from the crowds of Fira and Oia. The staff at this 12-room resort is friendly and helpful and the location beautiful. The stay couldn't have been more relaxing.
As with much of this island, you will need to be able to climb a lot of stairs, without hand rails, in order to get around.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RthrB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TholosResort, Manager at Tholos Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review for Tholos and your kind words about our hotel and our staff. We hope to see you again in a future trip to Santorini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Tholos comprises a small group of hillside rooms and the pool/ bar area. It is so alfresco that there is no indoor area (and you really don't need one), apart from bedrooms obviously, which makes you feel like you are a bird living in a tree! I could feast my eyes on this view for hours on end, it is transfixing, hypnotic and healing. The most photogenic place I have ever stayed. You feel like a Greek god indeed, surveying the entire cauldron that is the curved Santirini archepelago. I have never aspired to have a holiday home, much preferring new places to visit and stay, but this is the only place I have stayed that I dreamt of having one! Except that having one would mean being deprived of the superb hospitality of the Tholos team.

Room Tip: Some balconies you have to walk through to get to your room, so if you want an extra private room, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmaPearce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TholosResort, Manager at Tholos Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2012

Thank you for writing a review for Tholos Resort. Indeed, Imerovigli is the most photogenic place we've ever been as well. People should definitely bring a camera when they visit Santorini.
We hope to see you again in Tholos!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

**Location**

The hotel is located in a town called Imerovigili. The town mainly consists of 4-5* hotels but also houses a few restaurants. It is a very quiet peaceful area and a great place to relax and feel like you are away from it all. We visited all other towns on the island and none were quite like Imerovigli…yes it may not have everything there on your doorstep (bars, shops, restaurants) but it was so relaxing.

The hotel is roughly a 15 minute taxi journey from the airport. Upon booking we were asked if we would require a taxi transfer to be booked via the hotel for €20 each way. I compared this to prices on HolidayTaxis and found it to be a very good price so asked the hotel to book this for us. Imerovigili is a 30 minute walk from capital city Fira where you will find plenty of shops, bars, restaurants. Therefore you are not too far away from everything. The walk is on a popular path along the cliffs and there are several bars and restaurants along the way.

The buildings are literally built into the cliffs which looks amazing and means the hotels have an amazing view. Beneath the buildings is a sheer cliff drop which is quite nerve-wracking but also amazing and so different from anywhere I have ever been before. Due to the way the buildings are built there are many steep slopes and steps which must be used to get around. Tholos itself is built on a few different levels and you have to walk down steep steps to get down to the rooms from the reception. We are both young and healthy therefore this didn’t pose a problem to use, however anyone who struggles on their feet would find this part of the island difficult if not impossible. There are no lifts and not many slopes for wheelchairs therefore its really only for the able bodied. Despite this the hotel staff do all they can to help and insist on carrying your suitcases up and down from your rooms etc.

**The Rooms**

You enter the rooms via the balcony as because they are built into the cliffs there is no other way in. The balcony was very large and offered a picture perfect unobstructed view towards the sea where we could see Crete in the distance and watch the sunset at night. I have never seen such an amazing view, never mind had it on my own balcony and found this to be the highlight of my visit. On the balcony there was a table, 2 chairs and a parasol.

The room didn’t disappoint either – I was already aware that the room wouldn’t be quite as modern as our usual choices but I actually really loved it and in the end was glad it wasn’t too modern as that wouldn’t really have suited the place. The room consisted of 2 areas, the lower area near the balcony doors was like a mini lounge / kitchenette. There was a sofa with a large glass table, and nearer the window was a chair with a purple material cover, another small table and a writing desk. The kitchenette included a work surface, sink, full size fridge and basic crockery, glass ware and cutlery. The large fridge offered storage for our own wine and water supplies which proved very useful and a step up from the tiny minibar style fridges that we usually find in hotels.

The second area of the room was slightly raised from the first area differentiating it from the rest. The bed was king size and was one whole bed (not 2 beds pushed together) It wasn’t really comfy but didn’t really bother us, however anyone suffering with back problems may have found it uncomfortable. Opposite the bed was a dressing table with mirror and a wardrobe. I was pleased to see the dressing table as I like to get ready in front of a decent mirror and not in the bathroom. There were also plug sockets located right near the dressing table so I could dry / straighten my hair. The wardrobe was slightly smaller than I would have liked and only had a very small hanging area with few hangers, so most of our clothes were left folded on the shelf.

The bathroom really let the whole room down. To me it looked extremely dated and very old as though nothing had been upgraded for a long time. Everything seemed to have a yellowy tinge even the mirror. Despite this everything worked well in the bathroom, the water was always hot and the shower was powerful. The shower was actually in the bath but the shower head was attached to the wall and there was a shower curtain which was fine.

In terms of freebies there were some mini shower gel and shampoos in the bathroom and in the fridge we were given a complimentary bottle of local white wine and a few large bottles of mineral water. This was such a nice touch, it was lovely and generous to get the wine and we enjoyed it whilst watching the sunset one night. But even better was the water, I always find the first thing you need when you arrive in a hot country is water and of course you can’t drink from the taps in Santorini, so it was brilliant to be able to pour out some cool water when we arrived and have enough to last for the first couple of days. We were also given a while towelling robe and matching slippers each which were great for chilling out in before getting ready in the evening and gave the stay a luxury feel.

There was never any noise in the hotel and our sleep was peaceful and uninterrupted. Despite the bar being open until late no loud music was played.

**Cleanliness**

The whole hotel was kept really clean. The maid visited our room every day and cleaned it well and left fresh towels daily. We saw the maid around the hotel but were never disturbed by her and got the feeling she tried to make sure we were out when she visited which was very thoughtful. The pool and bar area was also kept very clean so we have no complaints about that.

**Hotel Pool**

We don’t usually spend a lot of time by the pool on holiday but this pool area was too good to ignore. It consisted of a small swimming pool which despite not being exactly an infinity pool still gave the same impression of literally spilling into the sea in the distance, several cushioned sun-beds with parasols and small tables, and a manned bar area. The view from the pool was just as amazing as our balcony. The pool itself was more of a size for chilling and taking a dip rather than actually swimming which suited us fine. It was a nice temperature, not too cold but fresh enough to cool you off.

**Hotel Food**

Breakfast was included in our booking and because of the nature of the hotel there is no dining hall which means breakfast is delivered to your balcony every morning. This was a great luxury and meant we could drift out to enjoy breakfast in privacy before getting ready. Breakfast was available any time between 07:00 – 12:00 which was great for lazy days when we didn’t awake until later. To order breakfast you simply called reception to request it and every time it would be brought to the balcony within 10 minutes. This was definitely the best breakfast service I have encountered at a hotel. The breakfast itself was perfect, it consisted of tea or coffee, fresh orange juice, mixed bread rolls, cream cheese, fresh tomatoes, cheese, meats, an omelette, fresh fruit and pastries with chocolate spread. All the food was tasty and there was plenty to keep us going throughout the day. In fact we were so full that on most occasions we simply shared a salad for lunch.

On the first night we arrived late afternoon and decided we would have our evening meal in the hotel. The hotel restaurant is for guests only and consists of an area a stage down from the hotel pool which shares the same fantastic view, and has 3 small tables. The bar staff come down to take your order and carry the food down from the kitchen. We both ordered pasta dishes, I had the Pasta with tomato sauce and my boyfriend had pasta with salmon. We also ordered a caprese salad and some bread. We were both very impressed with the food which was fresh, well cooked and very generous. We were so impressed that we dined at the hotel again on another of our nights but that time ordered the food to our balcony where we enjoyed a meal at sunset. I read mixed reviews on the food in the hotel but cant understand how people couldn’t rate it, we are quite fussy with food and only eat in highly rated restaurants at home therefore would recognise microwave meals when we see them, and there most certainly weren’t. Therefore if you do stay in this restaurant we would highly recommend you give the meals a try.

**Eating out**

On our other evenings mainly dined in local restaurants such as La Maison and Blue Note which were both very good. The local restaurants are expensive but the quality of food is completely worth it. We did venture out closer to Fira on one occasion to try a place we had seen on our walks, but found this to be overpriced and not very good. Therefore in our opinion Imerovigili has the better restaurants and we would recommend staying local.

**Staff**

Usually we don’t get to know the staff to well at a hotel and rarely communicate with them, however with this being a small hotel we felt like we knew the staff and they really gave a personal touch to the service. My boyfriends suitcase went missing and didn’t arrive in Santorini until later in our holiday and the 2 hotel receptionists couldn’t have done enough to help us out. They insisted on calling the airport and helped us call the airports back in the UK to chase the missing luggage. They seemed genuinely concerned for us and we felt really glad we had chosen to stay in a smaller hotel where the receptionists actually remembered who we were and remembered about the missing suitcase. The other hotel staff were also very polite but in a laid-back and friendly way. The gentleman who brought our breakfast to the balcony each day always checked that we were enjoying it and would ask if we wanted anything different next time etc.

We’ve never had any problem with hotel staff in the past but they are often a bit cold and inpersonal, whereas here it was like being part of a family and we felt so comfortable and at ease with the staff, and were never afraid to ask anything. We didn’t have to complain about anything but I got the feeling they would do all they could to solve any problems we may have encountered.

Room Tip: Room 205 has an excellent view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yazoo88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TholosResort, Manager at Tholos Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2012

On behalf of the staff and the managing team, we would like to thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to write such a detailed and informative review. We really hope to see you again in Imerovigli in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

I had to be in Santorini for a wedding on the south of the island and sought to find somewhere to relax and be quiet, away from the maddening crowd so to speak.

Tholos Resort looked to be the place and the reality was just that. A wonderful room with terrace, our own swimming tub/jacuzzi and perfect weather other than the odd cool wind in the early day or so of our stay. The view was expansive, encompassing the volcano and the island of Therasia.

Location was a good half an hour walk outside of Thira, a walk we did maybe two or three times a day for shopping, restaurants and exercise. This could be a problem for the less able as it's nearly all up-hill from Thira to Tholos.

The staff really made the difference for us. The two Anna's in reception couldn't have been more helpful, indeed they were outstanding dealing with all our questions and last minute changed minds! Chris must be the fittest waiter on the island, running up lots of steps with loaded trays to our terrace - breakfast al fresco every day was such an indulgence! Not to forget the room maids who always left it clean and inviting despite our best efforts to make it look untidy. The other star for us was Christos, he carried the bags and made sure everything was working as it should and yet found time to paint and tidy the resort on a daily basis to keep the whole resort looking pristine and whilst no English was spoken and he always had a wonderful smile.

Will we be back? One word - yes and it can't be too soon.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TholosResort, Manager at Tholos Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2012

Dear Paul,
It was a pleasure to accommodate you in Tholos Reosrt. Thank you for all the kind words for the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Imerovigli hotels
0.0 mi away
Iliovasilema Suites
Iliovasilema Suites
#21 of 50 in Imerovigli
467 reviews
0.1 mi away
Abyssanto Suites & Spa
Abyssanto Suites & Spa
#27 of 50 in Imerovigli
185 reviews
0.9 mi away
Xenones Filotera
Xenones Filotera
#22 of 50 in Imerovigli
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kapari Natural Resort
Kapari Natural Resort
#10 of 50 in Imerovigli
498 reviews
0.2 mi away
Honeymoon Petra Villas
Honeymoon Petra Villas
#16 of 50 in Imerovigli
462 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#17 of 50 in Imerovigli
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tholos Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tholos Resort

Address: Main Street, Imerovigli 84700, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Imerovigli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Imerovigli
#26 Luxury Hotel in Imerovigli
#29 Romantic Hotel in Imerovigli
Price Range: $239 - $613 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tholos Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Santorini hotel of your choice in Imerovigli, on the island of Santorini. Much beloved and world-famous, the island of Santorini in Greece is a place of awesome beauty and bewitching atmosphere. Its exceptional character is a blend of blazing volcanic rock, against the backdrop of the deep cobalt-blue sea and the clear Aegean sky. The imposing Caldera is the result of the volcano's biblical eruption, a crescent of cliffs rising steeply hundreds of meters above the water, with white villages nestled upon their tops. One of these picturesque settlements is Imerovigli, a small distance away from the capital of Santorini, Fira, where you can find Tholos Luxury Hotel Resort. Perched on the cliff of the Caldera, the hotel will offer you an accommodation of luxury and hospitality, in a magnificent setting overlooking the volcano. Panoramic vistas to the crater, submerged into the deepest blue waters, sparkling under the bright sunlight, will leave you enchanted in the day, while the spectacular sunsets that turn the landscape into a melange of dreamy pictures will make your memories unforgettable. The whitewashed apartments and studios, all in the traditional Cycladic style, are built on different levels of the cliff, with terraces or balconies facing the superb surroundings. In their discreetly luxurious interiors you'll find comfort and relaxation. At the patio by the outdoor pool on the other hand, you'll enjoy refreshing moments under the sun or romantic time under the stars. The service, day and night, is friendly and impeccable, while the hotel's owners are always at your disposal for your every need while staying here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tholos Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tholos Hotel Imerovigli
Tholos Resort Santorini/Imerovigli, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing